We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chinese Inn Restaurant

Chinese Inn Restaurant
Kippax Fair Hardwick Crescent, Canberra 2615, Australia
(02) 6254 8449
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 809 Restaurants in Canberra
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Been coming here for years and it never fails to disappoint, always get friendly service, takeaway is always quick and great quality.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Great improvement on previous visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had my father-in-law's 87th birthday celebration at this restaurant with the extended family on a Friday evening. Service was prompt for one table however the other table waited longer for their food. All dishes were very good. The Restaurant also brought out a free birthday dessert for my father, complete with candle. A nice thought from the staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Awful experience on Saturday night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had dinner last Saturday in a group of 8 and it really was chaos. We ended up opening our own wine because the staff were so busy with a huge queue of people waiting for takeaways. We waited ages for our meal and one dish we ordered never arrived. While the food was good when it finally arrived we will never return again on a Saturday night. People waiting for takeaway were queued up right behind us making it feel quite claustrophobic. They need to hire more staff on busy nights so that patrons get the service they need.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Consistently tasty Chinese food at great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our family group of 8 people enjoyed everyone of the main courses we ordered, particularly the crispy skin duck. We sat at a round table with a "Lazy Susan" which was kept very busy as the dishes were whizzed around the table and food consumed with gusto. Complimentary after dinner mints and fortune cookies added to the merriment around the table, given that the messages were so apt to each individual. We'll certainly be returning again and again as all the dishes are very reasonably priced and staff cheerful and helpful, despite being run off their feet.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolute take away chaos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The last two times I have ordered take away it has been absolute chaos. Tonight I waited 2.5 hours to get my takeaway meal. When I ordered they told me half an hour. There were probably 30 people waiting inside for their orders and more queuing up outside. A lot of people just left and they refused to give discounts. The wait staff did offer lollies and drinks to the kids which was at least something. The food is delicious but I will definitely never get takeaway from them again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinese Inn Restaurant also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Chinese Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinese Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.