We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Benchmark Wine Bar

Benchmark Wine Bar
65 Northbourne Avenue, Canberra 2601, Australia
(02) 6262 6522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 809 Restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: French, Australian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Seymour, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Dined here on a tuesday night with two colleagues while on a business trip to Canberra. We had a very limited budget but still wanted a bit of quality and good wine. We ordered 3 of the medium priced entree size meals and a couple of sides to share. Every dish was top notch and we all left feeling very satisfied with the quantities. Each dish was excellent value and well prepared. The wine list unfortunately was a bit pricey for our budget however we still managed to wash it all down with a very nice local riesling.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    7
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Be careful about the up-sell”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Have eaten here a few times and really enjoyed the French style food.

Last visit, we ordered a glass of wine from the menu, which was in the medium price bracket.

We left the second glass up to the manager to decide, since they have a very interesting wine list with many uncommon wines.

We ended up with a $50 surprise because he selected two glasses from the premium end of the list.

I know that I could have easily asked, but naively assumed he'd select something near the same price point as our first selection.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Great degustation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

On moving to Canberra recently we popped into Benchmark Wine Bar for a drink and after reading the wine list and menu decided we needed to come back. Ordered the eight course degustation with matched wines on our next visit. Food was lovely and wines matched perfectly. Would definitely recommend this restaurant for nice service, great wine and food. Surprised its not a 1 chef hat restaurant......

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food & Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Lovely warm greeting. Staff suggested off-menu items for our son. Fresh food. Very well cooked. We were tired from travelling but were perked up by this place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had my birthday dinner there last night (November 2012) and I can't speak highly enough of the service in particular and of course the food, which was delicious. This is definitely a place to return to and definitely not to be missed if you're in Canberra

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benchmark Wine Bar also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Benchmark Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benchmark Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.