We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the right size for families with small children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Zoo and Aquarium

National Zoo and Aquarium
999 Lady Denman Drive | Weston Creek, Canberra 2611, Australia
+61 2 6287 8400
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The National Zoo & Aquarium is privately owned and Australia's only combined Zoo and Aquarium.That's 2 attractions in one! We are situated on around 7 hectares of land just five minutes from the centre of Canberra. With a wide variety of both native and exotic animals, as well as the largest inland saltwater tank in Australia, there is something for everyone. Wander in and have a casual stroll around the park, or make a day of it with family, friends and make use of our picnic areas and complimentary BBQ facilities. Our Animal Encounters provide visitors with an opportunity to get up close and personal with some of the worlds most amazing creatures!
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just the right size for families with small children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I've been to zoo's in other cities and whilst Canberra zoo is by far the smallest, it's actually quite nice that you don't feel you have to rush around in order to see everything. Especially if you have small children in tow. It also has quite a personal/intimate feel about it. That said, they are currently building new exhibits that will almost double the size of the zoo. We had a lovely picnic in their picnic/bbq area up the back but it would be good if they had one up the front too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatZoo, Public Relations Manager at National Zoo and Aquarium, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Saras2cents, thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your visit. Unlike most major cities Zoos, we are privately owned (not Government run) and we rely on visitors such as yourself. We look forward to your visit when our new expansion opens :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    142
    48
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A compact zoo and an even more compact aquarium”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Got to say I would expect better in our Nation's seat of government. It's fine for what it is and it seemed to have quite a lot laid out for children. The 4 of us enjoyed it but I would not think a second visit is warranted.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatZoo, Public Relations Manager at National Zoo and Aquarium, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi DiverDan, thank you for your feedback. We are a privately owned facility in a city of Government owned and run attractions. We are Australia's fastest growing Zoo, and the only one with an Aquarium. Our Aquarium exhibit has been refurbished and open to the public recently. We have a new extension opening prior to Xmas which will more than double the size of the Zoo. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Safari Birthday Party is a must.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My 9 year old wanted to have her birthday at the zoo. We decided to have a birthday party tour and a BBQ. I was not sure what to expect, I have been to the National Zoo before and thought it was amazing. The tour was a great idea. I was pleased to see the kids learning as well as having fun. The guide was helpful and even brought a snake over for the children to look at after lunch. The BBQ areas are great, they are well maintained and clean, with lots of shade.

All in all, kids had a great time and even the adults got to feed a giraffe! Great value for money, ended up being a hassle-free birthday. I would recommend the birthday party tour to any parent who wants an easy to organise birthday that is guaranteed to be fun.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatZoo, Public Relations Manager at National Zoo and Aquarium, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Jemmina G, thank you for your lovely feedback, and we are thrilled you all enjoyed the Safari Birthday Tour :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A very average zoo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

It was OK but it was difficult to see the animals through the perspex walls of the cages and it is very small. The lions were delightful.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatZoo, Public Relations Manager at National Zoo and Aquarium, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi SueOrange_Australia, thank you for your review.
Whilst not as large as the major city Zoos, we are situated on over 7 hectares of land, and have over 1.5 km of walking track. Only a few enclosures have perspex (and we are slowly replacing that with glass) Most offer unobstructed views over water and are some of the largest enclosures of their kind in any zoo in the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Learned more than we bargained for with a family tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Myself, my husband and daughter took a family tour one sunny afternoon recently.we were expecting to see a few animals and learn a few things, however our guide took us on a whirlwind journey through an amazing park! Not only did we get to feed and hold some animals, but we were treated to excellent background information on all of the animals, even the ones we did not feed. My husband had some questions that I would not expect a guide to know, including many 'which animal would win in a fight..' boy questions! I was very impressed when the patient guide took the time to properly consider all his questions and provide surprisingly well thought out answers!

The park itself was larger than I was expecting, although I had the sense that a lot of this impression came from a very well planned layout. The enclosures were not dusty cages but huge areas absolutely brimming with toys and things for the animals to interact with. The sun bear couple exhibit was a particular standout!
All the animals were out and active except for one monkey species, and the snow leopards. However my guide explained that the enclosure of the 'snowwies', while dense and difficult to show them, had been designed that way to promote a cool microclimate and match the conditions in the wild. It's clear that this zoo has the well being of their animals as a priority!


The highlight for us was feeding the massive giraffe. The guide was actually really excited about the giraffe too, and did a wonderful job building the experience up for our little girl.

I would recommend a visit to this zoo for all visitors to canberra, however for the full experience I recommend taking a tour as the staff really add to the experience! Our guides name was Emily and she was a star!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatZoo, Public Relations Manager at National Zoo and Aquarium, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi raleighy, thank you for your fantastic feedback and we are thrilled you enjoyed meeting and feeding the giraffe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Zoo and Aquarium also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to National Zoo and Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Zoo and Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.