We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and comfortable but noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton Suites on Northbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clifton Suites on Northbourne to your Saves list
Clifton Suites on Northbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Northbourne Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off & Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Spacious and comfortable but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed here for four nights in a two bedroom unit on the North side of the building. Central location with easy access to the city centre. Suite was spacious and comfortable. Kitchen was well appointed and functional. Basement car park was convenient. Noticed noise from the traffic on Northbourne Avenue and the construction works next door which started early each morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    322
    93
    35
    20
See reviews for
315
130
30
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I predominately stay here when in ACT, the suits are centrally located and are spacious and clean and well appointed, the bathrooms are large and I love the heated floors.
The basement car parking is free and easy to get into and out of.
The suits are apartment style with well appointed kitchens and en suite and main bathrooms.
The restaurant is ok for dinner but on the occasions I have dined there we have had to wait for a while, I prefer the room service.

Room Tip: There is currently a construction adjacent to the building but staff are active in placing you away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Thanks to other reviewers, I phoned phone to request a room away from Northbourne Avenue, rather than trusting an online best price. Glad we did. I paid more but we were up high, lookingfrom the War Memorial, across the CBD to the ANU campus.
I was travelling with parents, so we wanted two bedrooms and separate bathrooms. Not easy to find it Canberra where two bedrooms are normally for parents and younger children, but this worked well.
The kitchen was well equipped. We brought our own breakfast things and ate on the verandah. Car parking below was easy.
Dined about five mins away in Dickson - where there is a lot of choice.
It wouldn't be my first choice by myself / as a couple - and I've stayed at more than 20 places in Canberra over the years - but for our purposes it worked well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My partner and I stayed at a couple of hotels in Canberra during our visit as we wanted to be able to recommend hotels to guests of our upcoming wedding.

This hotel is nice enough. The reception is compact and the staff are friendly. The room itself was clean. There is one TV in the room and that's in the living area. However, the seating isn't the most comfortable. The bed though was very comfortable and we had a great night's sleep. The bathroom was clean and user-friendly. My only minor complaint is the iron doesn't steam.

This location is also really good. It's about a 10 minute walk to the central bus "station". However, there is ample parking if you have a car, but you don't really need one if you just need access to Civic.

Whilst it's not the flashest hotel, it's a hotel that represents great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was our third visit to this establishment and it will not be the last. It is good value and the service is efficient and friendly. The apartments are well set out and contain all of the requirements you need for a civilised stay. The kitchen was very clean and easily operated. The daily service was discreet and met all requests. The room service was quick and reasonably priced. The in house restaurant was a surprise last visit and a rerun this trip did not disappoint. Good menu food well prepared and presented. Our party of four tried most of the mains on offer and were well pleased. The desserts were a little limited to the usual bought in fare but the place does not pretend to be Michelin. There is a family special menu offered with room service- 4 servings, salads, sweets and soft drink for $48. A great deal and keeps the little tackers out of the restaurant at dinner time!!! Plenty of secure car parking is included in the tarrif.

Room Tip: New building going upon one side!!! Northbourne is busy during peak hours on weekdays. Go high or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We are from Sydney and spent 4 days in Canberra for a break with the kids. This is a good central location and the apartments are clean inside and well maintained. It would be good if the staff could of been a little more helpful with tourism advice and more professional. Otherwise good. We took advice from previous reviewers and got a room away from the construction site next door.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the construction site next door. Great coffee/breakfast around the corner at Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night and really only used the room as a place to sleep but I think I might have found the place we may call our Canberra home when we visit. For a small apartment it felt quite spacious, we stayed in a two bedroom suite that was on the corner of the building. The rooms were spaced out with the living area between them so limited chance of noise spilling out interrupting the other. We didn't use the kitchenette but it looked like it had everything you would need for a self contained night in. The space was neat and tidy with a beautiful little balcony for morning coffee. We had the buffet breakfast and at 19 dollars each it depends on how much you can eat as to how much value you can get. It's not a huge room but more than enough for our little family

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifton Suites on Northbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Suites on Northbourne

Address: 100 Northbourne Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Canberra
#6 Business Hotel in Canberra
#7 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#8 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clifton Suites on Northbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clifton Suites on Northbourne is Canberra's multi award winning apartment hotel, just minutes from the heart of Canberra's premier shopping, dining and entertainment district, perfect for your stay in Canberra. The hotel is in an ideal location for business travelers with a two minute walk to the CBD and a 10-15 minute drive to other government and business hubs, including Belconnen, Woden and Tuggeranong. Clifton Suites on Northbourne is considered one of the Canberra's finest and most innovative accommodation and corporate function venues. We believe the hotel is an exciting alternative for business and leisure visitors alike. The hotel has the most spacious apartments in Canberra, whilst striving to make the hotel "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Clifton Suites on Northbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Clifton On Northbourne Hotel Canberra
Quality Inn Canberra
Quality Hotel Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton Suites on Northbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.