We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean apartment!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton Suites on Northbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clifton Suites on Northbourne to your Saves list
Clifton Suites on Northbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Northbourne Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off & Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean apartment!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment. Our room just beside the swimming pool which is great as our son loves the pool. The apartment is very very clean. Complete kitchenette with washing machine plus free washing powder. Everyday the apartment being serviced. Great place!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    322
    93
    35
    20
See reviews for
315
130
30
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nambour, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bed 2 bath apartment for a family wedding at the end of January. The weather was HOT!!! but the room was a lovely place to retreat to. We were pleasantly surprised at just how big the apartment was. The main bedroom was huge with a very comfortable king size bed, heaps of storage and a good sized ensuite. (Only complaint here was that there was virtually no room to put any toiletries, etc except in the cupboard under the vanity sink. The addition of a small wall shelf - the same as is in the main bathroom - would have been welcome.) The second bedroom was also a good size and the main bathroom had a bath with a shower over. We didn't need the bath but it was a good addition. The kitchen was adequate although a pair of tongs would have been helpful. The lounge was big with more than enough room for 3 adults (and 5 on the last night with the addition of a rollaway). Our room was on the 5th floor and overlooked the pool. The construction of the building opposite wasn't a huge problem for us and actually provided my husband with entertainment while the rest of us were enjoying the pool. I would think though that once that new building is complete, it will block out a lot of sun from the pool deck and also be a little off putting from a visual point of view from the room. The credit card charge on check out was a bit disappointing but as we had booked and paid online, we were only stung for the rollaway. All in all though, we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed recently at the Clifton Suites in a 2 Bedder & the room was very large. Very high standard of fixtures & fittings in rooms & throughout apartment (kitchen, bathroom etc). Great to walk out the back of building and straight into Braddon where there is a great slection of cafes, bakeries & other palces to eat. Pool was a very good size & enjoyed plenty of sun. Breakfast was a bit basic. Free parking a bonus this clise to thecity.

Room Tip: Very good charcoal chicken place (ACT Chook Shed) in Mort St &, of course, Cornucopia is a baker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Comfortable hotel that’s 10-15 mins walk from the city centre.
Very quick to check in.
Excellent space in the 2 bedroom suite with good kitchen/laundry facilities & balcony..
Surprised the pool on the east side of the complex, (instead of the sunny west), and was getting cold earlier than sunset.
Included car parking was an advantage.
Question to ask yourself upon check out: would you stay here again….yes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool, not towards the city or main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

These extraordinarily large and comfortable apartments are also extremely well situated - friendly staff and a surprisingly good in-house restaurant make this a solid option for a business or leisure trip to Canberra.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was our 2nd stay and we had no issues on either occasion. We booked and paid on-line and hence avoided the credit card surcharge that other reviewers have mentioned. On our most recent stay, we were in a 2 bedroom and 2 bathroom apartment at the back of the block. The apartment was clean and modern with a king size bed in the main bedroom and a queen bed in the 2nd bedroom. We had a large balcony running the full width of our apartment with outside seating for 4. Surprisingly, the traffic noise during the night was quite loud even though we were not fronting Northbourne Avenue, but this may just have been Saturday night revellers. I think the airconditioning unit would usually drown out the traffic noise but we don't like sleeping with the air conditioning running so we had turned it off. Check-in and check-out were quick and efficient. We only stayed one night on both occasions so did not use the on site breakfast or room service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Overall our family of 4 were very happy with our stay in this apartment. We were on the seventh floor and had a large 2 bedroom unit with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen, large living room and a good sized balcony with a table and seating for 4. It was clean and modern in appearance.
The location is very good and is within easy walking distance to the city centre, shops and restaurants. Undercover parking was free which was a bonus and one of the reasons I selected this property.
We had a full breakfast at the on site restaurant which we enjoyed, the quality and quantity of the food was very good and we also used room service for lunch which was also very good.
Reception was friendly and efficient at both check in and check out.
I was disappointed that WIFI was not free and that a 2% surcharge was added when using a credit card.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifton Suites on Northbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Suites on Northbourne

Address: 100 Northbourne Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Canberra
#6 Business Hotel in Canberra
#7 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#8 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clifton Suites on Northbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clifton Suites on Northbourne is Canberra's multi award winning apartment hotel, just minutes from the heart of Canberra's premier shopping, dining and entertainment district, perfect for your stay in Canberra. The hotel is in an ideal location for business travelers with a two minute walk to the CBD and a 10-15 minute drive to other government and business hubs, including Belconnen, Woden and Tuggeranong. Clifton Suites on Northbourne is considered one of the Canberra's finest and most innovative accommodation and corporate function venues. We believe the hotel is an exciting alternative for business and leisure visitors alike. The hotel has the most spacious apartments in Canberra, whilst striving to make the hotel "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Clifton Suites on Northbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Clifton On Northbourne Hotel Canberra
Quality Inn Canberra
Quality Hotel Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton Suites on Northbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.