We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed impression” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton Suites on Northbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Clifton Suites on Northbourne to your Saves list
Clifton Suites on Northbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Northbourne Avenue, Canberra 2602, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Canberra
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mixed impression”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit which I could not fault. Very nice! However, the housekeeping left a lot to be desired. One bed was half-made and my nightdress left in a bundle, the first time on the side table and the second time just on the bed. The hand towel on two occasions was not replaced and there was a strong, strange smell in the corridors. Also, we ordered room service and the food was cold when it arrived and had to be reheated in the microwave.
When paying, I was not told about the 2% surcharge on the credit card payment until given the receipt. It should have been explained before debiting my card, otherwise I would have used Eftpos. When I queried it, the male receptionist looked surly. It is a pity that these things detract from the really nice accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    251
    82
    30
    13
See reviews for
244
100
24
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Having just completed a 4 night stay, there were a couple of issues with Clifton Suites on Northbourne that took the shine off our stay!
Firstly after arriving on a late flight into Canberra we got to the Hotel after 11.00pm - a bit tired and not expecting the receptionist to yell through the locked front door "what do you want?" Not exactly a warm welcome especially as I had phoned to confirm the booking and advise of our late check-in - but we pushed on and got our room which was spacious and very well appointed.
The next morning my wife complained of an unusual smell in the room, which we put down to the new carpets, but when returned in the afternoon the smell was stronger and after a few minutes my wife started to feel quite ill and I noticed a burning in my throat and a headache developing. We approached the duty manager who said that he didn't know what the smell was and thought it may come from the pool chemicals, but other guests had complained about it and he moved us to another, larger room! My issue is why the odour had not been sourced and fixed and more importantly why the hell were we put in that room!!!! Goodness knows what another night subject to the odour would do to our health!
Apart from this incident which I considered to be most unprofessional our stay at Clifton Suites was great! It is well located only a 5 minute walk to the city centre and there is also a bus stop about 40 metres from the entrance.
The rooms are large and fully equipped - most comfortable!
TIP: request a back room as those at the front overlook the very busy Northbourne Avenue and are pretty noisy!
I try to be objective and fair in all my reviews but this hotel needs a serious lesson in customer service!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I recently stayed in this apartment with 3 other adults for 3 days. I booked in February and paid in full at the time. I was rather dismayed to then see the apartments advertised on the website for $100 less. I rang the Clifton and they agreed to ' price match' (themselves) and said they would email confirmation. I had to remind them a week later and I finally received the information. On arriving, the staff at the desk provided what could best be described as basic service , however we were impressed by the apartment. Modern spacious and all the facilities we needed close to the centre of Canberra. It was fabulous. We had ongoing issues with the keys not working and no apologies from staff. They never greeted us when we came back to the apartments. On checking out the staff member could not explain the withholding of $ 50 (why? - there is no mini bar) and became mildly annoyed with me saying it would take 6 days to get it back because the bank holds it apparently!!! So it really was a bit disappointing as it would take so little to be really top notch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice and friendly enough at reception, and helpful to my comments/requests.

Room was of a clean and pleasant enough layout/decor, and everything works fine.

No free wifi and even if you pay $10 for access, it's mostly only available in the hall way not the rooms.

I do how ever strongly dislike their policy over "trashing your room" which must be a big problem here.... Maybe from sports supporters.... I don't know !
They want an imprint of your credit card, and then won't return that imprint on your departure and hold it for 6 months !! What the hell for !????
If the room is not trashed, then give back or destroy the imprint on departure.
You can avoid this by giving them a $200 bond in cash, and they will give that back on your departure, so I don't understand their keeping policy.

Otherwise it is old, clean, working, and pleasant staff, so 3 out of 5 stars from me

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is probably one of the better options for extended business stay in Canberra - the fully equipped kitchens are great, washing machine/dryer in the room is fantastic, and the rooms are comfy and spacious.

While the suites have been there for a number of years, they made a good choice with neutral decor so it's not ageing as badly as some other accom options. The rooms are spacious and well equipped. Beds are reasonable and the large room means you don't wake up from people in the hallways/opening doors as they're far away from where you sleep (as opposed to a standard hotel).

The hotel has reasonable facilities as well - the gym is small but servicable and there are plenty of food options on site or close by.

For tourists, probably not the best location - but for business, very convenient.

A few drawbacks were the cleanliness of the room (the shower was a bit scummy and the drain was dark; there was also a mark on the sheets i was using) and the water pressure. The old flick-mixer taps only know 2 pressures - splashing your pants or trickling.

Overall, really solid property and good value. Would be great for extended stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just spent two nights at this very nicely situated Hotel in Canberra.Only a couple of minutes walk from the centre of town it has everything you need for a pleasant stay and at reasonable cost. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, with kitchen and laundry and comfortable furniture. Housekeeping was excellent and staff polite and helpful. This place is just right for those looking for quality accommodation at a reasonable cost. It would seem excellent for families, especially because it is located so close to town.One doesn't have to keep getting the car out for small needs. The hotel has a 24 hour Bar and the Restaurant is nice although the menu is a little restricted. Prices are OK though and the breakfast is up to good hotel standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Reflecting on previous reviews, which I read before choosing this hotel, I have mostly positive things to say. The apartment was modern, spacious, clean and provided everything we needed. The location was good, with a few places to eat and drink within a two block radius. We didn't use much by way of hotel services, but staff seemed friendly enough.

Friday night, however, was like a night at the drag races. The entire block seemed to surrounded by people and hot cars, doing everything they could to make as much noise as possible. Seems this is a regular occurrence. Nothing the hotel can do to fix it I suppose, so best to be prepared. Go out for a late dinner and enjoy the night life!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifton Suites on Northbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Suites on Northbourne

Address: 100 Northbourne Avenue, Canberra 2602, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Canberra
#3 Family Hotel in Canberra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clifton Suites on Northbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clifton Suites on Northbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Clifton On Northbourne Hotel Canberra
Quality Inn Canberra
Quality Hotel Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton Suites on Northbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.