We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton Suites on Northbourne

Save Saved
You added Clifton Suites on Northbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clifton Suites on Northbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Northbourne Avenue, Canberra 2602, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Travelling from Melbourne to Sydney with family after Christmas, including a 92 year old mother and a young person aged 21 years, this 2 bedroom apartment was a great find for 3 days sightseeing . The apartment was very well appointed and tatstefully furnished. The open plan living/dining room provided a great space and the balcony overlooked the well maintained pool. There were two bathrooms - one with a walk in shower which was essential for the grandmother. There were two TVs with cable which enabled the young person to have her space when needed. The kitchen was fully equipped with all the mod cons and we made our own breakfasts and dinner one night. At other times we ate out at great little restaurants in various areas of Canberra. The swimming pool and free undercoverparking were an add bonus in the heat. This holiday could have been a nightmare but everyone agreed that we had a great time thanks to quality and size of this lovely apartment. The location was central and it was easy to access all the sites. The staff were fast, efficient and helpful. I have no hesitation in recommending the Clifton Apartments. I just wish hotels in Australia had free WiFi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    232
    81
    29
    12
See reviews for
219
94
23
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

One bedroom apartment was spacious, modern and comfortable. Fairly convenient to the Canberra CBD (short walk) on the main road into Canberra. Price at the time represented reasonable value. Underground parking available. A couple of nearby cafes/restaurants within a short walk. Bottle shop behind the complex. Kitchen was adequate but disliked the plastic tumblers (no glasses) and only two small wine glasses. Families and kids enjoyed the pool as it was very hot on this trip. Clifton Suites is great for those wanting to self cater or order in. The complex has a cafe and offers breakfast but we didn't use it on this trip. Overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Northbourne Ave are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Googong NSW
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

You could be put off by the entrance to this hotel. There are two sets of sliding doors strangely at right angles to each other, the reception area is cluttered and the front office tiny. But the staff are friendly and helpful and both the rooms we booked were spacious and clean. If you are on the north side of the hotel you will overlook the swimming pool (access on second floor), but the noise from excited bathers disappeared by nine o'clock and didn't really impact on relaxation. Despite the considerable space in the rooms, the vanities are small and there is no place to put cosmetics, shaving gear, toothbrushes etc, nor any tumblers - a strange lack in an otherwise well organised hotel. Food in the groundfloor bar/restaurant is good and the service friendly. We twice walked to the CBD for dinner, an easy stroll, just enough to work up a little appetite. Car parking is on the premises, underground, but as parking is also available to non-guests, it is perhaps a good idea to check in before six or seven in the evening.

Room Tip: You'll probably find that the higher the floor, the quieter your room will be; that said we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom suite on the top floor overlooking a rather dirty and seedy neighbourhood and the pool. The room was comfortable and functional, however we were not too impressed with the housekeeping service.
Housekeeping did not come in for a couple of days during our 10 night stay and when they did come in, they made the beds and unstacked the dishwasher but did not hoover or clean the tiles or bathroom or showers.
Good location central for shops and restaurants, however noisy.

Room Tip: Top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Overnight in a 2 rooms, single bath apartment. Though the apartment is facing main road, the noise was minimal, no issue with noise during our stay ( I reckoned it could be because it was on 26 Dec). The checkin/checkout was hassle free. Free sheltered secured parking. Overall, the whole apartment is clean, neat, spacious. Wifi is chargeable, paid A$8 for 10 hours of usage.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We first stayed in these apartments when we joined the Brumbies Rugby Club. This meant travelling to Canberra from the Snowy every two weeks to watch the games.
The apartments have always been extremely clean and well designed with plenty of space and well equipped.
The two bedroom apartments have two bathrooms which makes sharing with another couple easy and private.
Another bonus is the close vacinity to The Debacle restaurant/bar. The Debacle have a free bus running to and from the Brumbies matches.
We will continue to make this our Canberra accommodation choice.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Northbourne Ave can be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed two nights in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment. The room was clean & tidy with plenty of room. Conveniently located close to they city. We requested a room facing the back of the apartment and I would recommend you do as Northbourne is the busy main road. Power had tripped at one point, but the staff fixed quickly. We had a buffet breakfast at the hotel one morning and it was nice, the other morning I did drive through from a McDonalds nearby. Has a nice outdoor pool that we used. Would definately stay again!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the rear of the apartment complex and on a higher level, due to road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifton Suites on Northbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Suites on Northbourne

Address: 100 Northbourne Avenue, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Canberra
#6 Business Hotel in Canberra
#7 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clifton Suites on Northbourne 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Clifton Suites on Northbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Clifton On Northbourne Hotel Canberra
Quality Inn Canberra
Quality Hotel Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton Suites on Northbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.