We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality.....not this time.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton Suites on Northbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clifton Suites on Northbourne to your Saves list
Clifton Suites on Northbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Northbourne Avenue, Canberra 2602, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
BOOK DIRECT & SAVE 10%
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Gippsland, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quality.....not this time.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel from 23/12/11 and checked out on 27/12/11. This was our fourth stay at the hotel, as in the past we have thoroughly enjoyed it. Even to the point of recommending the hotel to other family members, who have also stayed there before. My parents have stayed there twice on our recommendation.

Our trouble began upon checking in and getting to our room. We had a two bedroom family room on the third floor which looked directly at a large tree blocking most of the light. Inside the room was a rather badly torn seat cushion on the couch and generally tired looking furniture along with a number of stains on the carpet. The room had sliding doors out onto a balcony and the kids found that the glass sliding door would not close or lock which meant that the room could not be secured. My wife contacted reception to let them know that the door could not be locked. Reception told her it could be locked and he would come up and show us. This is where our lack of decent service began.

The above mentioned staff member came and tried to fix the door which he struggled with for several minutes. My wife suggested that perhaps we could move to another room. He was quite abrupt and snapped that he just needed to get the right angle for the door to lock. He was obviously flustered that the door would not lock as he said it would. I requested a new room because I didn't want to have to fiddle with the angle for 5 minutes every time I needed to lock the door and also for the fact that we have young children and the balcony could pose a problem. The staff member snapped, "Fine" and stormed out of the room slamming the door behind him. He said nothing else and we stood there not knowing if we should follow him. I had never experienced such rudeness from staff at this hotel. We gathered our things and went to reception were a new room was allocated with a fair bit of attitude and rudeness. My wife informed the staff member that he was very rude in the way he treated us as guests and that the level of service he had shown was unacceptable. The front desk manager stepped forward and introduced himself and asked if he could call us later to discuss the issues. We agreed that would be a good idea and we are still waiting for the manager to speak to us, more than two weeks later. From this point on that particular staff member completely ignored us whenever we walked past the counter and this continued on check out, when he did not serve us and we had to wait for another person to check us out.

Our new room on the 7th floor was a two bedroom family room. A queen bed in the master bedroom with ensuite and a second bedroom with two single beds. There was a dinning table and two seater couch and armchair to watch the TV. The balcony was a good size and we had a view to Mt Ainslie in the east. Mort Street runs below this side of the hotel, which can be noisy with the odd car drag racing up the street. This wasn’t too much of a problem as we live next to a rural highway. I would say that the south facing rooms overlooking the pool would be the quietest for road noise.

One staff member, Candy, was very polite and friendly at the front desk and always said hello. Other staff were great too, including the chefs, the house keeping staff and one of the restaurant staff members, he made a great café latte and was polite and helpful. Other staff in the restaurant appeared completely disinterested in being there. One particular morning we were greeted by a young man with crossed arms slouching against a bench almost sneering at us. Upon asking for a latte he nodded at us and said “ok pal”. Since our last stay at this hotel, the level of customer service has declined to a point that we will not be staying there again. While I don't expect facilities that 5 star hotels provide, I do expect the same level of friendly and helpful service. Good service costs nothing and gets customers back through the door.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    280
    84
    31
    14
See reviews for
263
112
25
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bega
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I have stayed at the Clifton before and it has been fine........but tonight has been a disaster. When I booked i was told the restaurant was open tonight! On arrival at 8.30 was told it was closing in 10 mins, so asked if i could order room service then and there so we didnt hold them up. I was told that it would be fine to order room service. As soon as I was in the room i went to order and was told they only had pizza and sides!! So ordered bruscetta and pizza even though we were starving and expecting a meal!! Couldnt even eat what arrived!! Have pictures to show management!!!! Last time I stayed we had a beautiful meal sent to our room, so I am not sure what has happened....but obviously gone down hill!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay in a spacious one bedroom apartment close to the centre and Canberra attractions. As well as a well equipped kitchenette the apartment had a separate bedroom and large balcony. Room service and front desk gave good service and the price was very competitive.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Our family of four had two nights at Quality Suites Clifton On Northbourne. Booked via Wotif, the "normal" per night prices reflected there ($895?) suggested that our booking ($205 for night 1 & $250 for night 2) was a bargain indeed.

The rooms were pretty much as pictured, but nothing terribly special. All fairly standard & a little tired around the edges. We had a two bedroom + 1 bathroom apartment.

The kitchen was fairly basic, with the minimum of cooking utensils, crockery etc. All of the crockery & glassware we used had to be washed first - it was all grubby/gritty. Only the absolute minimum of coffee, sugar etc was provided. No cold water in the fridge.

The bathroom was fairly standard. The shower was over the bath & a bit of a step in & out. The water pressure was not great.

The lounge area only had seating for three people, so we needed to use dining chairs also. There was no DVD player & the pay per view movies were $15.95 each.

The bedding was adequate, pillows not great. Clean towels & basic toiletries were provided.

It is worth noting that the rooms were very noisy - a lot of traffic noise & also a lot of noise from the room above ours.

We made some enquiries with the front desk in regard to local events & eateries, but unfortunately they were not very helpful at all.

While none of these gripes are monumental, we were disappointed with our experience of Quality Suite Clifton On Northbourne & would look to other options for our next stay in Canberra.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We booked here at relatively short notice to stay 3 nts., up to nye. We were pleasantly surprised at the spacious, tidy rooms and inclusions. The city centre is a short walk. Access by car is easy. For our quick trip to Canberra, this was excellent accommodation. With so much to see in the ACT, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Have stayed here twice over the past six months in the 2 bedroom suites; the units are very spacious and adequately, if simply, furnished. The large balcony has basic plastic chairs & a table. Generally clean and comfortable with a decent breakfast (that's also a pretty good deal for families in particular).

On a recent stay, however, the cleaning service was less than impressive; on a three-night stay, our room was not cleaned once, despite specifically requesting it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

Drove 7hrs to get here only to be spoken to like a 5 yr old. Check in staff were the rudest i have ever had to deal with. I have stayed at many 5 star hotels and had exceptional service, but this is Not one of those places and front of office staff need to learn about manners and what it means to provide service.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifton Suites on Northbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Suites on Northbourne

Address: 100 Northbourne Avenue, Canberra 2602, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Canberra
#3 Family Hotel in Canberra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#9 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clifton Suites on Northbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clifton Suites on Northbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Clifton On Northbourne Hotel Canberra
Quality Inn Canberra
Quality Hotel Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton Suites on Northbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.