We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Cedars Motel

Red Cedars Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Red Cedars Motel to your Saves list
Red Cedars Motel
Stirling Ave, Canberra 2602, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Canberra
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simple, clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in this motel for one night and found it to be precisely what we needed. It's a small, older style motel, but the room was very tastefully renovated and everything including the carpet and paint looked brand new. It was also absolutely spotless. Having a microwave was wonderful, as was the heating as we were rather cold and damp when we arrived due to the rain. The water pressure and temperature were very good.

I was somewhat surprised that there was no electric blanket considering it was June in Canberra, but we didn't need it anyway as the room was warm enough even without the heater during the night.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
6
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Headed for Canberra for the third time and choose to stay in a different place so decided to stay at Red canards. I have never been to this motel during my previous trips.

Simple looking small motel and newly furnished, parking system is nice. I stayed here for 3 nights enjoyed every moment. The room was clean when I entered it looked really fresh, frankly speaking I was attracted with the price it's so reasonable. The placement of furniture was nice and the air conditioning was ok.

The staffs are really responsive and found their manager really friendly, but I still think they need to work on the food quality it's not like it's bad but not the standard. I came here solo to get out of the busy life but I really missed my family as it looks great family place.

Love to give another try with family members.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a small, clean and comfortable motel about 8km from the city centre. The rooms were pleasantly renovated several years ago. There is a small refrigerator and a microwave. A stop for the 39 bus is close by. A closed cycle system provides heating and cooling. The closest restaurants are in Dickson. There is a Macca's and a Caltex/ Woolworth Express on the main road (Northbourne Avenue) a few minutes walk away, or a minute by car. The rooms are a moderate size. The location is quiet.

Room Tip: The windows in one wing are at the back of the units and overlook a small reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We found this motel by pure luck driving past it. Was recently renovated and some rooms are still being upgraded. Very functional and having a microwave instead of just a kettle was fantastic. Would stay again next time in Canberra

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We usually go to Canberra for one or two nights and stay at Red Cedars. Their rooms are very simple but comfortable and clean. Easy to find, 5 mins drive from the downtown and just across the road from the NFF venue.

Room Tip: If you don't have big luggage, ask for an up-stairs room that can be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed here and were impressed with the room and the price!
We think we had one of the recently renovated rooms.
Great location we were 5-10 minutes from everything.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Cedars Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cedars Motel

Address: Stirling Ave, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Red Cedars Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Cedars Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.