We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big Splash Waterpark

Big Splash Waterpark
1 Catchpole Street, Canberra 2004, Australia
+61 2 6251 1144
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 96 Attractions in Canberra
Type: Water Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Canberra's only Waterpark! We have a slide to suit every age! Come and check us out in 2014 to experience the new Speed Coaster and Twister slides!
ACT
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Overrated!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have to agree with the previous reviewer that it was just too expensive for what was on offer.

Our kids (3 x 7 year olds) loved it. There was enough there to keep them occupied for the day.

But for what it cost in entry fees, we won't be rushing back again! I also felt the grounds were very tired & neglected. The grass in the grassed area was all dead & it was just a mess of dead grass, grass seeds & dirt. Not really suitable if you wanted to lay your towel out on the grass. It was not very nice at all.

Overall, pretty disappointing but the kids still had a good time, though I don't think they will be disappointed that we won't be going back again in a hurry!.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    8
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Tired and expensive but kids love it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Terrible place for parents as it's just too expensive. The cafe food is dreadful. The lawns around the pools are in terrible condition. Kids love it though - for the waterslides. It's also the only outdoor swimming area for Belconnen and Gungahlin residents.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singaporean in Newcastle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unreliable opening hours”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We had been on the road 5 hours enroute to Melbourne on Boxing Day. Our children had been looking forward to an afternoon of water fun. We checked the website and had called a couple of days prior to make sure that the venue would be open. We arrived, only to see a sign at the entrance stating that the place was closed due to bad weather. What bad weather?! It was a sunny 20 deg. I had to deal with 5 disappointed children Would definitely not recommend this place to anyone.
In any case, the slides looked worn and tired from the outside. Maybe it was a blessing in disguise that we could not get in.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Misleading opening hours on website”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I checked the website for opening times in December during the week. Opens at 10am, slides open at 11am. The times are sunject the weather. It's a beautiful day so I arrived with 6 excited children at 10.30 in time for the 11am slide 'opening' to find the place in full swing with all the slides open but closed to the public for a school group until 2.30pm. They had school groups booked for the whole week! l asked why they don't mention this on their website and the attendant just shrugged his shoulders and said it should be. When travelling with children it is not easy to come back in 4 hours. I checked again today and it still isn't mentioned so I am writing this review. I don't mind them closing for school groups but at least mention it on the website. Very disappointing. It looks like fun but I would call first to make sure it is open to the public at the time you want to go.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very tired”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Needs a makeover!!! Old and tired very over priced staff grumpy and toliets are feral.

One good thing there is a lot of shade and sun smart areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Splash Waterpark also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Big Splash Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Splash Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.