We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   55 Jerrabomberra Avenue | Narrabundah, Canberra 2603, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed there for a work purposes. Staff are great and rooms are clean and spacious and the bed is comfortable. Bathroom is clean and room has all the necessary amenities. Overall a great trip. You do need to drive as the motel is not near walking distance to anything.

The resturant could do with a new menu a bit over priced but the food is nice...I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArionHotels, Sales & Marketing Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for your review of your stay with us here in Canberra. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to hosting your next visit to the ACT.

Our Executive Chef is currently preparing a new menu for the warmer months which we hope to launch in the very near future.

Safe travels
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    197
    70
    17
    4
See reviews for
82
164
24
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The staff super friendly, the rooms spacious ,spotless and great beds, not the usual hard motel commercial editions, rather a soft pillow top bed with comfy pillows, as a previous commenter said and i agree,the loose leaf toilet paper isnt good and the toilet seat,from a male prospective wouldnt stay up. Other than that ,i would be happy to stay there anytime.
The restaurant is mediocre for the prices ,the meals are ok,but not memorable, i think a new chef may help as the menu is ok, I would stay there anytime i am in Canberra,but would probably eat out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArionHotels, Sales & Marketing Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Aldeepat,

Thanks for your review of your stay with us here in Canberra at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel.

It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff friendly and our rooms up to your expectations.

Our Executive Chef will return this week from an adventure around Europe and it is disappointing to see that you did not experience our usual high standards in our Secret Garden Restaurant during his absence.

We value your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to the ACT.

Kind regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A pleasant stay from start to finish, from checking in by friendly, helpful staff to a happy cheerio when we paid the bill. The rooms were spacious, sparkling and clean. Great location in Narrabundah close to the usual attractions in Canberra. We did recommend that they change the flimsy toilet paper loose leaf sheets to proper toilet rolls, rare to see in Best Western hotels. A microwave would have been nice. Happy hour from 5 to 6 was enjoyable at $4 a glass. This was followed by a pleasant, reasonable (but not outstanding) dinner in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArionHotels, Sales & Marketing Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear LeslieFay,

Thank you for your review and it is great to know that you had a good time with us during your stay in the ACT.

Our Happy Hour is very popular - the $4 beer, wine and spirits is great value for pre-dinner drinks at our Secret Garden Bar & Restaurant.

We appreciate your suggestions regarding the bathroom amenities; the current loose leaf system was installed during our most recent refurbishment and given the regular feedback we receive on this, I trust that our hotel owners will take heed during the next planned room update.

Thank you for choosing Best Western; we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We recently stayed for four nights in an executive room overlooking the swimming pool.
The room was clean and the bed very conmfortable. The location is close to Manuka and Kingston where there are good restaurants. We did eat at the restaurant onsite on two occasions for dinner and found the food selection very good and tasty. There is Happpy Hour each night from 530pm to 630pm .
There is plenty of free parking available.
We were most impressed with the service we received from Kenisha in the restaurant and also Nicole on the front desk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArionHotels, Sales & Marketing Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Catherine B,

Thanks for your review of your visit with us here in Canberra at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel.

We appreciate your feedback and are very pleased that our staff took care of you during your stay. Kenisha and Nicole are very valued team members and I will be sure to pass on your comments.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Canberra again soon.

Kind regards
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here for the rugby good location for sporting events a car a must.Hotel has plenty of parking, The room was large and kept clean with good heating ( thank god this is Canberra ),All Staff really good and looked up anything that could help you if they did not know it,restaurant food at the hotel was excellent ,Also next door was a Germany club food also good and beer even better and very short walk back,Enjoyed breakfast with the local kookaburra who came in for a feed the staff look after him which was good to see. got woken by the shower in the next room early which was only a small pain but did wake us.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good and well stocked and kept clean,and quiet, good close parking on site
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArionHotels, Sales & Marketing Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Kenneth M,

Thanks for reviewing your stay here at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our great team of staff went out of their way to look after you during your visit to Canberra.

I'm glad that you had the chance to meet our friendly neighbourhood kookaburra; he has been visiting us daily for a few months now and is very popular with our staff and guests.

We hope to welcome you back to Garden City Hotel on your next visit to Canberra.

Kind regards and safe travels,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We recently stayed for 5 nights and travelled to my daughter at the AIS daily. Really good location with restaurants, shops and banks 5 minutes away by car. Room was large clean and comfortable, overall the hotel is modern and clean. Staff are friendly and helpful.We had breakfast daily really good.We will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear 607Paul,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay of BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel here on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Canberra.

As you mention, our location is very handy the local shopping district of Manuka-Kingston and everything is very easily accessible.

We do have some great specials available on our website, including for stays of three nights and more, such as yours.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back to the ACT again in the future.

Kind regards
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We went on a short trip to Canberra to see the two eldest children. Stayed three nights at Best Western. It ticked all the boxes.
The check in was smooth and easy. The staff were very helpful, relaxed and friendly.
The room, a Deluxe Queen, was clean with plenty of space.
The bed was very comfortable. Excellent and very fast free wi fi. The shower was amazing, very high pressure with loads to hot water.
We had breakfast in our room which was great. So much we didn't really need lunch. Everything you could need was in the room.
The hotel was close to the city and all the tourists sights.
Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear SimmoAdelaide,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us here at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel in Canberra.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back next time you visit the ACT.

Kind regards
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
5.7 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#4 of 53 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 stars 829 reviews
1.7 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 53 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 stars 814 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#8 of 53 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
4.2 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#9 of 53 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 610 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#12 of 53 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel

Address: 55 Jerrabomberra Avenue | Narrabundah, Canberra 2603, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the great value of the 4.5 star BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel, conveniently located in Canberra's vibrant inner-south, just a five minute drive from the popular shopping and restaurant hub of Manuka-Kingston and top national attractions including the National Gallery, National Portrait Gallery, Parliament House and Questacon!All guests enjoy fully refurbished rooms including new high-comfort bedding, iPod/iPhone docks, in-room safes and large flatscreen TVs with FREE Foxtel and FREE movie channels. Convenience is paramount with FREE undercover parking, and FREE access to the onsite gym and swimming pool. Treat your tastebuds at the Secret Garden Bar & Restaurant, open seven days for breakfast and Monday to Saturday for dinner, serving a contemporary range of local and international favourites.Rest assured that the modern, convenient facilities and outstanding service at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel will make for an enjoyable stay in the nation’s capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.