We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat, tidy and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   55 Jerrabomberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 52 hotels in Canberra
Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Neat, tidy and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for on night. Room not huge (for 3 adults] but was quite OK.
Not in the centre of town so you need to drive wherever you want to go.
Close to DFO and Kingston markets.
Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCanberraRegion, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear BazAustralia,

Thanks for your review and for staying with us here in Canberra at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel.

It is great to know that our staff were friendly and made sure that your stay was a pleasurable one. We are just a few minutes drive from the DFO complex (shopping heaven and a place that can be very tough on the credit card!). We also have a bus stop just a couple of minutes walk from our front door with bus services running via the main tourist attractions and into the CBD itself.

Thanks again and we hope to see you back again in the future!

Kind regards
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    96
    48
    16
    4
See reviews for
34
91
15
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Goulburn, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night recently. I had to stay in Canberra after a procedure at the hospital and was not allowed to travel home until the morning. We had booked well in advance, and when we arrived all went smoothly until I went to rest in the bed (Dr's orders). On pulling back the covers, we found a tissue on the sheet and the sheet looked as though it had not been changed. We rang reception and waited about 20 minutes for housekeeping. The bed was then changed, and we thought all was OK. Later that evening we decided to have a cup of tea only to find no tea bags provided. A visit to reception fixed this problem, but for a 4 1/2 star motel, this really is not good enough. We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a quite hotel away from the epi centre of Canberra, yet no more than 15 mins from bars etc.
The staff are totes amaz-friendly,will have a laugh and a giggle.Truly one of the top hotels for making a guest feel welcome.
The housekeeping supervisor is a gem and a true proffessional-nothing is ever an issue.
The restaurant staff are attentive,world class and don't even get me started on the food!.Makes me want to go back and eat again.
Thai Beef Salad a must have!.
John and Mel on front desk make you feel part of the family.
As a family run business the owners should be proud they have done well and should be proud of who they have working for them.
If it is for one night or a week don't look at the rest-book in with the best.And it's affordable too.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCanberraRegion, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear WilsonE12,

Thanks for your review of your stay with us here at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel in Canberra.

It is great to know that our team provided great service and that you enjoyed your stay with us here. Your kind words will be passed on to each department - our staff love to hear feedback and will be thrilled that you have acknowledged their efforts.

We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We can't find really find too much fault for this place, as we are quite independant travellers ourselves. Nothing too spectacular about the breakfast but so handy if you can't be bothered thinking about it; we had an early appointment with the embassy.
All the good stuff: safe in the room, friendly staff, clean room.
Maybe during weekends or public holidays, there would be some shortage of parking, but seemed like this is sorted by parking on the nearby street. No dramas.
If we were to return to Canberra, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCanberraRegion, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear EruditeTravels83,

Thanks for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and are planning to stay with us again on your next visit to Canberra.

We do have plenty of parking for all guests with parking lots on both sides of the hotel. It is great to see that your room was clean and our staff went the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable.

Thanks again, and we look forward to hosting you on your next visit to the Canberra Region.

Kind regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Recently stayed here for one night on the way through to the Snowy Mountains. Found the room very clean and roomy. The guy at the front desk was very imformative and friendly.
Free Movies on the TV was a big bonus for us...seeing as though there is not much else to do in the area.
We ate dinner at the German Club next door which I would highly reccomend.
I would stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCanberraRegion, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Meh79,

Thanks for your review of your stay with us here at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and your time in our beautiful city. It is fantastic to know that your room was clean and our staff friendly. Our great team do their best to make every stay an easy, comfortable and hassle-free time for our guests.

The German Club next door is famous for both its German cuisine and its Chinese Bistro. Of course, we do have a fantastic restaurant here onsite - the Secret Garden Bar & Restaurant - but we are also pleased to assist our guests explore some of the fantastic dining spots in this part of Canberra.

It is great to know that you enjoyed the complimentary movies - lots of hotels charge lots of money for movies - but we choose to provide four movie channels free of charge to our guests looking for a cosy night in.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Quiet location out of the hustle of the city. You will need a car (or taxi) to get around, but that's Canberra! Friendly staff and good value for money when booked on line. Can't fault the room and there was plenty of (uncovered) parking the night I was there, mid-week.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel. I purchased the accommodation on line. It was on of the mystery hotels. Once you have completed your transaction you find out which hotel it is that you have purchased accommodation for.
The hotel has been refurbished and the décor is pleasant and the rooms are very nice. The real selling point to this hotel is the staff. Their customer service was excellent. They were friendly, cheerful, very helpful and chatty (without being intrusive). It was a very pleasurable stay. I would happily recommend it. It's a shame I don't get to Canberra very often but when I do return I will definitely be staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel

Address: 55 Jerrabomberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the great value of the 4.5 star BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel, conveniently located in Canberra's vibrant inner-south, just a five minute drive from the popular shopping and restaurant hub of Manuka-Kingston and top national attractions including the National Gallery, National Portrait Gallery, Parliament House and Questacon!All guests enjoy fully refurbished rooms including new high-comfort bedding, iPod/iPhone docks, in-room safes and large flatscreen TVs with FREE Foxtel and FREE movie channels. Convenience is paramount with FREE undercover parking, and FREE access to the onsite gym and swimming pool. Treat your tastebuds at the Secret Garden Bar & Restaurant, open seven days for breakfast and Monday to Saturday for dinner, serving a contemporary range of local and international favourites.Rest assured that the modern, convenient facilities and outstanding service at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel will make for an enjoyable stay in the nation’s capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.