We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smokers beware” 3 of 5 stars
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added East Hotel to your Saves list
East Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct - SAVE $10
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Smokers beware”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Nice place but smokers not catered for so beware! Have to leave premises to enjoy a cigarette no ashtrays on site, no smoking on outside balcony either poor effort. One unhappy smoker. Beware if on a budget dining quite expensive

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hello Danu59,

Thank you for your comments.

You're right, the options for smokers exist but are limited, and becoming more so in Canberra.

We do aim to cater to guests with all sorts of needs, including smokers. While we are a 100% non-smoking hotel, I would be happy to discuss the options with you for your next return.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    190
    44
    7
    1
See reviews for
156
250
27
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very impressed when checked in as it is more like an apartment ( separate bedroom ) so first impressions great . In a good position and easy to walk to Kingston or Manaka for great breakfast . Only disappointment was the room was hardly made up the next day . All they did was make the bed - the rest very poor .
Price was good , parking fine ..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hello Peter M,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I wish your first impressions would have carried through to the whole experience - probably not as much as you do. We don't do a 100% full service daily as we tend to conserve resources for towels and bed linen, but nonetheless it sounds like we missed the mark in your room.

Please do contact me the next time you return to Canberra. I would like to finish what we started with the first impressions on your first visit.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Awesome experience with the family room. Well thought out to entertain the kids. Nice brekky and conveniently located close to restaurants and attractions.
Quiet and comfortable beds. Rooms were clean:)

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hello JayHo83 Family!

So glad you got to experience the 2 bedroom kids cubby room - they tend to go very quickly, particularly during school holidays and long weekends. We love them too!

We won't be as "new" on your next stay, but we're always looking for ways to be unique and bring smiles (or smirks!) to our guests faces!

Thank you for the review. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed two nights at this hotel on a recent business trip to Canberra. I have stayed in many different hotels in this city and this one is the best, and that's not even taking into account value for money. The room was spacious, clean and had all the features you would expect. Luxurious toiletries. a Nespresso U machine to make your own coffee were added bonuses. The bed was a very comfortable King size with a range of different pillows to choose your comfort level. Outside of the room there is a really well equipped gym, which I hadn't realised existed on making my reservation (mental note to bring gym gear next time), the bar and restaurant had a real buzz, great atmosphere. The bar tenders were really friendly and helpful in making suggestions about our night cap to end the evening on a perfect note. The decor of the place is very trendy, but not at all pretentious. The service staff from check in to room service were friendly and helpful. Parking was a breeze, under ground with a discounted flat rate for hotel guests. I didn't eat at the restaurant so can't comment on that, but the coffee is good in the morning and as well as an option for an eat in breakfast, they also have a good range of takeaway options for those in a hurry.
Our group also booked a room for a meeting, they have a selection of meeting rooms which appear suspended and are 'glassed in' areas overlooked the reception area of the hotel. There are curtains for privacy, but it was a very reasonable charge and was great to meet outside of our office environment. Finally, the location is just five minutes walk to Manuka shops, which has a huge range of cafes and restaurants as well as an opportunity for retail therapy for those who might need it. If you were in Canberra as a tourist I would equally recommend this hotel, its a great location near the Parliamentary triangle and all the sites, and only 10 minute drive to Civic (city). I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which does not face on to the Kingston hotel, can get a bit of residual crowd noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear AdeleAustralia,

Can you please write our next promotional brochure? ;-)

Only kidding, but you have written a beautiful review of your stay. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough piece of literature of your time with us. I hope it inspires others to travel to Canberra and experience EAST.

Please do contact me the next time you plan a trip to Canberra. We would love to have you back.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 3 days during a business trip. The hotel is well located not far from the lake. The whole atmosphere from the minute you enter to the lobby, is very welcoming and young. The hotel is well designed and it gives you kind of "home feeling". The rooms are specious and everything kept very knit and clean. For me this will be one of my favorite hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hello Hardof J from your home in Canberra!

Thank you for the review. I am glad you had the time during your quick 3 day trip to explore the Inner South of Canberra and appreciate the amenities of East Hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you home on your next trip to Canberra!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My family visited Canberra over the long weekend in October & were pleasantly surprised with our accommodation. Sleek, chic, & modern. Close to the cafes of Manuka & not too far from the city centre. The only suggestion was that the buffet breakfast in the downstairs cafe was a little short on with selection. A designated kids game's room wouldn't go astray either.Other than that, we would stay down here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hello 5Welshys,

Thank you for the review and the constructive comments!

We do love having families with us and are always looking for ways to better up the ante when it comes to "wowing" all ages of travellers we have.

We are also in the middle of redesigning the breakfast format with our colleagues at Ox Eatery. There are some exciting times ahead in the breakfast time slot. Watch this space!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to EAST.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights in a Luxe apartment in late September. These must be one of the best situated and set up apartments in a hotel in Australia. The facilities in the apartment down to the Nespresso machine were first class - could not be faulted. The staff were helpful and friendly. It is a 5- 10 minute walk to either of Manuka or Kingston villages, with the plethora of restaurants and shops at each. It is an easy 20 minute bus trip into the CBD. I would recommend the East to anyone planning a stay in Canberra.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hello Robert B,

Thank you for taking the time to review the stay you and your wife experienced with us.

We love that we made such an impression and ticked all the right boxes for your travel needs.

I appreciate your review and the future referrals you will provide to us.

Please do let us know the next time you plan to visit Canberra.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Address: 69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the vibrant hubs of Kingston and Manuka, EAST will be the ultimate location for your visit to the Australia’s capital. At EAST you will experience all the services you would expect from a premium hotel, whilst feeling completely at home in the well-appointed accommodation. EAST’s one and two bedroom apartments and studios provide the utmost in comfort, style and convenience. If you are on the road with your kids, we have thought of you too with our specially designed kids studio complete with bunk beds, bean bags, video games and even a kid-appropriate mini bar!Each room has a gourmet kitchen with cool appliances (including Nespresso coffee machines!), which complement the offerings of the equally cool OX Deli on the lobby level, where you can pick up your delicacies and meals or have them delivered to your room. Comfort and convenience is all good and well but we also have all the technology you need with 42-in LED televisions (the one bedroom apartments also have a 32-in TV in the bedroom!), FOXTEL, in-house movies, wireless broadband and ipod/ipad docking stations. Rooms are also fitted with double glazed windows, a work desk, dining table and chairs, a 2 burner stove top, extensive cooking utensils crockery and cutlery, microwave, oven*, dishwasher*, balconies* and washing machine/dryers*.* some exclusions for studios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.