We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to Fault” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added East Hotel to your Saves list
East Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct - SAVE $10
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hard to Fault”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a great small hotel. Very comfortable with everything you need including a well appointed little kitchen (We had a Luxe Suite). The bathroom was excellent with separate toilet and shower
and very spacious. The location was convenient and a short walk to the Kingston shopping centre with a huge choice of restaurants and an IGA supermarket if you want to eat in the room.
It was hard to fault this hotel but....The middle of the room light was quite dim and all the shades are a fashionable but impractical black so a brighter light would have been better. The other point is the toiletries which look beautiful and natural (nicely packaged) but are in fact just the usual shampoo full of sodium lauryl and ammonium sulfates ie not really natural products.

Room Tip: My son was disturbed by traffic on Canberra Avenue so maybe ask for a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hello Kaaren5,

Thank you for writing about your experience. It's great to hear you enjoyed the facilities and location of EAST.

I've taken note of your comments regarding the dark lamps and we'll test them in the rooms. If necessary, we will commence upgrading the bulbs to a more intense light.

I'm glad you noticed the Appelles amenities in our room and appreciate your comments. They do tick a lot of the boxes that most hotel amenities don't these days: ie contains organic ingredients, not tested on animals and also contain Australian botanicals to name a few. Appelles has a good ethical core and strives to continually improve - all their qualities are those we can support both now and as they grow. A large majority of our guests love them too as guests love to take them home and purchase larger sizes practical for home use.

Thank you again Kaaren5, I do hope we get the opportunity to meet you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    194
    45
    7
    1
See reviews for
159
260
27
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sydney australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A friend's recommendation took us to the East Hotel. It isn't easy finding accommodation for two adults and four children and this newly established hotel in Manuka is going to make it hard to find anywhere else in the country that can live up to its standard for family accommodation. The rooms are perfectly laid out for children. The bunk room with the xbox, tables and chairs, colouring equipment and own kitchenette and bathroom gave us the opportunity to close the door and have a rest knowing the kids were safe. The Hotel is located within minutes of Manuka's key restaurants and attractions which allowed us to walk everywhere (even though it was mid-winter). The restaurant in the hotel books very quickly - a trick for new players as we missed out two nights in a row. The staff were all very pleasant and more than willing to help and more than anything weren't phased by large families and multiple kids. It is a bit pricy compared to other accommodation in Canberra but at the end of a four day stay it was worth every cent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hello andthekids2,

How great are the kids cubbies!? They are so popular during the school holidays and long weekends that I wish we had about 20 of them. Perhaps the next trick is getting the Parliamentarians and business travellers to bring their families with them every week . . .

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.

I do hope we get the pleasure of hosting you and your family again soon.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I had to spend a week end with famiy in Canberra and I booked a de luxe studio at East hotel. The studio was outstanding in terms of size of the room and bathroom, equipment and view. You even have a small balcony. The staff members are friendly and really looking after your well-being. The public parking/ hotel parking underneath the hotel is very practical. The hotel is new, which is an asset I suppose. The restaurant at the hotel is outstanding, very good food indeed. The room service could be improved, for example we ordered for a meal from the restaurant for three persons, the meals were brought is the room without cutlery and table napkins, but the food was fantastic.
The price of the wine out of the mini bar is too expensive, I guess. The price of the breakfast is too expensive. By the way in front of the hotel you have a pub where you can enjoy a nice beer and some not expensive food. The hotel is close by to a lot of shops and "cafes", within a walking distance. Not close to the centre of the town, but not far with a car. I will definitly recommend the East hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello Alain55_13,

What a compliment! Thank you so much for the great review!

You've made some wonderful observations based on your experiences both at the hotel and at Ox Eatery (I'll pass my comments on to them but please feel free to comment on their TripAdvisor page!).

We do have the half and full bottles of very tasty local red & white wine ranging from $20-$35 in the minibars which I do hope you can try next time you stay with us.

Thank you again for staying with us and the lovely review.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed here with my fiancé last night and we absolutely loved it. It was very modern and comfortable, the room was a good price but much larger than I expected with a separate kitchenette (with a nespresso pod machine) and lounge room with tv, plus a tv in the bedroom. The furniture was mod, very cool. We wished we were staying for longer!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello awful_in_aqua86,

We love good suprises!

We are fortunate you had the opportunity to stay with us!

Please do look us up next time you're here - whether short or long term, it would be great to have you back!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Rooms were comfortable, good size and in good condition. Air con a bit noisy/too strong on low.
Larger than normal bathroom.
Apart from the pub across the road you also have the Kingston and Manuka shops and restaurants within 5 minutes walk.
Gym is not very big but in good condition. No pool.
Didn't have breakfast there. Didn't seem to be worth the $29.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear 997M,

Thank you for the review and for staying with us!

We appreciate the feedback on the a/c system. We'll go through and check the units to see how they are operating. We also have a preventative maintenance contract with an a/c specialist who visits regularly to ensure the smooth, efficient operation of these units, so we'll rectify it!

Looks like you got around the area and the hotel a bit which is wonderful.

In regards to the pool, in the summer we partner with the Manuka Pool which is a beautiful, well-kept historic pool with surrounds so that our guests can enjoy some pool action and take a picnic to their grassy lawns.

I'll pass your comments on to our business colleagues at Ox Eatery as they are always tweaking the formula (everyone has different expectations of breakfast). They have recently gone to offering the full hot and cold buffet for $29 or the full continental for $18. They are also looking to expand some of the range so stay tuned on that front!

Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We do hope we get the chance to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We travel to Canberra frequently with our two young children and generally like to stay around Manuka / Barton / Kingston. This was our first visit to East Hotel and we were pleasantly surprised by the fantastic design and unique features.

Arriving late I was nervous about the noise from the nearby pub but our request to have a room located on the opposite side of the hotel to that street was accommodated meaning that the children and us weren't woken. The hotel is nicely designed, very modern and in a great location between Kingston and Manuka. The rooms are nicely laid out and the beds are comfortable. Beautiful scented toiletries and all the mod cons required. I didn't make it to the gym on this visit unfortunately but it looked to be very well equipped. Shame I didn't make it there after indulging in the apples and lollies that are complimentary in the lobby area.

My only qualms would be having to pay for parking and slow check out on the Sunday morning. Other than that I would (and already have) recommend this hotel and will most likely stay again as long as reasonable rates are available.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello We_love_holidays,

I must say, we look forward to welcoming you back! We love that we have carved out a niche for family travel to Canberra and we aim to ensure our guests of all ages have a great stay.

Thank you too for your valuable feedback regarding your check-out process as we will investigate the cause and look to rectify this. Parking under the hotel is $10, reasonable compared to other hotels in the area that charge, but a tip would be to look at some of our packages that sometimes include these sorts of extras.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great location for our short stay in Canberra. Its a short walk to all the cafes in Manuka, and then we realized its also a short walk to heaps more cafes in Kingston. Its a new hotel and the rooms are very modern and very comfortable. Amazing bed! We had a studio room which had a small kitchen with Nespresso coffee machine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello DG_Sydney77,

Thank you! What a short and sweet review - love it!

We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to being able to welcome you back.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Address: 69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the vibrant hubs of Kingston and Manuka, EAST will be the ultimate location for your visit to the Australia’s capital. At EAST you will experience all the services you would expect from a premium hotel, whilst feeling completely at home in the well-appointed accommodation. EAST’s one and two bedroom apartments and studios provide the utmost in comfort, style and convenience. If you are on the road with your kids, we have thought of you too with our specially designed kids studio complete with bunk beds, bean bags, video games and even a kid-appropriate mini bar!Each room has a gourmet kitchen with cool appliances (including Nespresso coffee machines!), which complement the offerings of the equally cool OX Deli on the lobby level, where you can pick up your delicacies and meals or have them delivered to your room. Comfort and convenience is all good and well but we also have all the technology you need with 42-in LED televisions (the one bedroom apartments also have a 32-in TV in the bedroom!), FOXTEL, in-house movies, wireless broadband and ipod/ipad docking stations. Rooms are also fitted with double glazed windows, a work desk, dining table and chairs, a 2 burner stove top, extensive cooking utensils crockery and cutlery, microwave, oven*, dishwasher*, balconies* and washing machine/dryers*.* some exclusions for studios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.