We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at East Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added East Hotel to your Saves list
East Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct - SAVE $10
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another great stay at East Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This place just never fails to keep on pleasing! This time we were part of a group of friends down in Canberra for a friend's 40th and stayed in a one bedroom apartment. Gorgeous comfy bed we could hardly get out of we slept so well, great in room kitchen for late morning refuels, a fantastic tub with spa jets and wonderful bathroom products. All combined with great service from the front desk and guest services alike! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello tuckergirls,

Thank you for yet another review of your positive experience at East Hotel!

We are so happy you had the opportunity to return and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    191
    44
    7
    1
See reviews for
157
251
27
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our second stay at the East Hotel was even more luxurious than our first. At our check-in the young woman at reception advised that my preference for soft pillows, requested three months earlier on our previous stay, had already been supplied. Our Luxe suite was larger than before, and we felt truly pampered.

I dined alone for breakfast, my partner confinining himself to our room with fruit we had brought. A small triumph for him, perhaps. For my part, I enjoyed my own company replete with bircher muesli and luscious chunks of watermelon. Toasting myself a slice of white sourdough, buttered lavishly, I topped it with excellent creamy scrambled egg, mushrooms and a piece of crispy bacon. Lacking my preferred roast tomato accompaniment, a serve of baked beans proved an adequate side note. With the juice and pot of tea, I left well fuelled for the day ahead. In all, breakfast was reasonable value for the selection I made from the much wider offerings of the buffet.

Room Tip: Our Luxe Suite at the rear of the hotel was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello HappyItinerant,

We were delighted you had the opportunity to return to East Hotel and we are delighted the second visit surpassed your memories of the first visit.

I do hope you are like a growing number of travelers to the Nations Capital and make East Hotel your home-away-from-home. We'd love to have you return many times in the future!

And kudos to your narrative style - love it!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very comfortable weekend trip staying in a luxe studio. New, modern and spacious; with comfy bed and well appointed bathroom. So warm under the doona in the room we needed to sleep with the door open! Short stroll down Giles St to all the trendy eateries in Manuka. Would stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: luxe studio has a small balcony and was very pleasant to get a coffee and the paper and sit out ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello Droman_2035,

Thank you for your comments and for staying with us at East Hotel!

I am glad you not only enjoyed the hotel but also our great location and strolled to the local shops. We're very spoiled that way!

I would love to know how we could have achieved "perfect 5's" in your last stay as I'd love to update your profile for your future stays!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greystanes, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Did a two night stay and thought the room and service generally were very good. However I think that their add-ons are a bit much. To start with $ 10.00 a night to park our car. C'mon guys, its not as though you're next to public transport. All of your guests would have a car; to provide them with a car space is just basic. But the one that really won the prize was to charge $29.00 for a very run-of-the-mill buffet breakfast and then not include coffee! For that unusual request you must buy an expresso....
Too greedy! The next time we go down to Canberra we'll book a hotel that includes breakfast and parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello Tay_Falcon,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay with your family.

I understand your comments regarding parking and have taken those on board.

We have also taken on board your comments regarding breakfast and have worked with our colleagues over at Ox Eatery. They continue to change things up to keep things exciting and plentiful for our guests - and Nespresso coffee is now included in the $29 rate! So thank you very much for this feedback - it was a valid point.

We do also often offer all-inclusive packages so you don't perceive these costs as "add-ons". Our packages offer great value and even have some for families.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My business colleague and I stayed 2 nights at East Hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. We were not disappointed and would certainly recommend this hotel based on our experience. The Luxe Studio room was spacious - with everything a guest could need. The public areas are funky, and the restaurant, while a little pricey, served lovely food for the one dinner we had there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello Pisces4,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us while travelling on business.

We are glad you found the amenities of the hotel great and also enjoyed the offering at our colleagues at Ox Eatery - not many places to go in Canberra where the kitchen team is led by a two-hatted chef!

Thank you again and I look forward to being able to meet you on your future trips to Canberra!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at East Hotel for 2 nights in the Luxe Studio for his Birthday.

The entrance to the hotel is bold, with modern furnishings. The first impression of the hotel gives you the sense you are in a hotel with style and class. The reception staff were very friendly, welcoming us warmly on arrival.

Our room was very spacious and well appointed, with a functional kitchenette. I was happy to see that the my request for the highest floor with a good outlook was fulfilled.

The East Hotel is in a great location, close to the War Memorial and Parliament house. It is also walking to distance to shops, restaurants and cafe's.

Our stay at the East was very enjoyable and we found it ticked all the boxes. I even had my clothes, that I left in our rooms wardrobe, sent back to me free of charge by the Manager of the hotel which was most grateful but also a good show of management.

This hotel overall strives to please in everyway, Its no surprise that it is on the top of the list for hotels in Canberra.

Would definitely stay again on my next trip to Canberra!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello Knomestar,

Thank you for staying with us and for your wonderful review.

It was also a pleasure talking to you on the phone to sort out the shipping of your belongings back to you.

I do hope you come back to Canberra soon - we would love to have you with us again.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay at East. Such a hip hotel with wonderful comforts. Had a huge apartment style room with every amenity imaginable. Staff was super helpful. Breakfasts were delicious and what a broad selection. Would love to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello czbrock,

Thank you for your comments!

We are delighted you've reviewed us all the way from DC! Our colleagues over at Ox were also pleased with your comments regarding breakfasts - they too aim high in trying to provide a great foodie experience.

Hopefully if you make it back to this side of the planet we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Address: 69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the vibrant hubs of Kingston and Manuka, EAST will be the ultimate location for your visit to the Australia’s capital. At EAST you will experience all the services you would expect from a premium hotel, whilst feeling completely at home in the well-appointed accommodation. EAST’s one and two bedroom apartments and studios provide the utmost in comfort, style and convenience. If you are on the road with your kids, we have thought of you too with our specially designed kids studio complete with bunk beds, bean bags, video games and even a kid-appropriate mini bar!Each room has a gourmet kitchen with cool appliances (including Nespresso coffee machines!), which complement the offerings of the equally cool OX Deli on the lobby level, where you can pick up your delicacies and meals or have them delivered to your room. Comfort and convenience is all good and well but we also have all the technology you need with 42-in LED televisions (the one bedroom apartments also have a 32-in TV in the bedroom!), FOXTEL, in-house movies, wireless broadband and ipod/ipad docking stations. Rooms are also fitted with double glazed windows, a work desk, dining table and chairs, a 2 burner stove top, extensive cooking utensils crockery and cutlery, microwave, oven*, dishwasher*, balconies* and washing machine/dryers*.* some exclusions for studios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.