We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They've thought of everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added East Hotel to your Saves list
East Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE $20 - BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“They've thought of everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights for our wedding anniversary. Our apartment on the third floor was very spacious and well equipped - particularly the kitchen. The service is great - friendly and helpful and the food in the Ox restaurant is very good. The owners have put a lot of thought into this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    148
    40
    5
    0
See reviews for
121
188
20
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at East Hotel whilst travelling with a large group of friends, most of whom had young children travelling with them, and we all agreed that East was one of the best hotels we had stayed in in Australia. As a new, independent hotel, East Hotel is living up to its promise of putting the traveller first with a refreshingly honest approach. With a green conscience, East offer some ingenious ways to lessen their eco footprint on the environment without intruding on the comfort of your stay. The staff are attentive and the room and hotel surrounds are impeccable as well.

We stayed in a one-bedroom apartment, which was incredibly spacious and tastefully decorated with modern art and furniture. The room also came with a laundry and kitchen, which made our stay both practical and comfortable. There is a well-equipped fitness centre on site and bikes are available for guest use as well.
The hotel is located within walking distance of the popular bars and eateries of Kensington and Manuka, and many of Canberra's sites are within close range of the hotel as well. The restaurant, OX Eatery, located within the hotel is a great spot for a couple of drinks and a lovely meal – they also offer room service for those nights when your room is more appealing than the option of venturing out.

With extra large rooms, excellent facilities and superior service, East Hotel is fantastic addition to Canberra and suitable for all types of travellers; business, family, couples, solo or friends. We will certainly be returning to East whenever we're next in Canberra.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor on the Giles Street side of the building offer great views over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the East Hotel for 3 nights on the easter wkd.
The room was super clean, spacious and very well layed out. The king bed was very comfortable. It was an easy walk to many restaurants
Reception staff were friendly and helpful
Would def stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stay in Canberra regularly and usually at the Realm. I am now a bit of a convert to this great little hotel. It has managed to actually be boutique and a grown up hotel with attentive staff which in my experience takes some doing. So to details checking in - was seamless on both occasions I stayed, second time the room was on the western side of the building as this is not my preferred option they moved me to the room I had previously and made a note on my file......and came up later to make sure I was happy. Decor- very modern but still comfy soft furnishings make it feel luxe. Great little kitchen and swish bathrooms. Quiet despite the pub across the road. Excellent room service food from restaurant downstairs. Walking distance about 3 minutes to Manuka shops with everything from designer clothes to a handy supermarket to stock the full size fridge in the hotel room if you are there a couple of days. All up it is a winner and a very welcome entry to the Canberra marketplace.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The East Hotel is a fantastic place to stay when in Canberra. We were in town for the marathon. The start and finish of this event was a 2 minute walk away. We were also able to watch an AFL game of footy; the mighty St Kilda Saints against GWS at Manuka Oval, which is adjacent to The East. Both the Kingston and Manuka shopping strips are in easy walking distance, where you can find fantastic coffee shops and eateries.
We stayed in a spacious one bedroom self contained apartment. It had everything to make you feel at home including a Nespresso coffee machine which was much appreciated and comfy chairs in which to relax.
There is a great restaurant located in the hotel which is well supported by the locals. Great meals are available at all times of the day. The hotel also offers bikes for its guests. We booked them and had a fantastic morning riding our way around the city.

Room Tip: North facing rooms would enable full use of the sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

New, clean, fresh and modern.
Surprisingly quiet.
Full kitchen including a Nespresso maker!
Close to great weekend breakfast hangout Public at Manuka.
Highly recommended for a very comfortable stay.
The staff were more than helpful and the hotel has a novel idea of free range reading of a huge selection of magazines and papers.

Room Tip: We had an East Apartment which was on the street frontage Just the best room we have ever stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Hotel and the room were very modern and stylish. Kingston is a good suburb to stay if you are visiting Canberra. The service was good and the staff during checkout was very friendly, probably one of the best I have experienced.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Address: 69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the vibrant hubs of Kingston and Manuka, EAST will be the ultimate location for your visit to the Australia’s capital. At EAST you will experience all the services you would expect from a premium hotel, whilst feeling completely at home in the well-appointed accommodation. EAST’s one and two bedroom apartments and studios provide the utmost in comfort, style and convenience. If you are on the road with your kids, we have thought of you too with our specially designed kids studio complete with bunk beds, bean bags, video games and even a kid-appropriate mini bar!Each room has a gourmet kitchen with cool appliances (including Nespresso coffee machines!), which complement the offerings of the equally cool OX Deli on the lobby level, where you can pick up your delicacies and meals or have them delivered to your room. Comfort and convenience is all good and well but we also have all the technology you need with 42-in LED televisions (the one bedroom apartments also have a 32-in TV in the bedroom!), FOXTEL, in-house movies, wireless broadband and ipod/ipad docking stations. Rooms are also fitted with double glazed windows, a work desk, dining table and chairs, a 2 burner stove top, extensive cooking utensils crockery and cutlery, microwave, oven*, dishwasher*, balconies* and washing machine/dryers*.* some exclusions for studios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.