We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added East Hotel to your Saves list
East Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct - SAVE $10
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
gold coast
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“New and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The East Hotel was great for a recent 2 night stay, the room on the 5th floor was very clean and comfortable. It looked out to Canberra ave which was a bit noisy but nothing too bad. It's a 5 minute walk to the Manuka shops where there is an IGA and lots of restaurants to choose from.
The room had available a cooktop, microwave kettle and a Nespresso coffee machine. There was also a mini bar, yummy dairy free and gluten free chocolate!!!
The bed was extremely comfortable too!
I will return!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room away from the street for a quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hello GoldCoastJoey,

Thank you for your review! It's great to see you enjoyed many things about your stay and I do hope you've had the opportunity to return. We keep tweaking things and would love your experienced feedback.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    208
    47
    7
    1
See reviews for
170
279
27
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
195 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very Euro and stylish boutique hotel, close to Manuka, and Capital Hill, and literally 10 mins drive to the airport.

Friendly staff, nice restaurant and bar downstairs, good common facilities such as wide screen Macintosh computers.

Rooms are classy and spacious, almost everything we needed - though a pool on the premises would have completed the experience.

Would I return? You bet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hello TheEscapeGoat,

Thank you for your review and pointing out many of the wonderful things about staying with us at EAST. You'll be happy to know that in summer we have a relationship with the historic and popular Manuka Pool.

We do hope you get the opportunity to stay with us this coming summer!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is by far one of the most well designed, decorated , guest friendly apartments we have stayed in. Private, clean , very comfortable throughout . Well equipped with many great little extras that are a cut above the rest like the complimentary eco friendly bathroom and kitchen products and the most fabulous chocolate !
Cool design without skimping on guest comfort.
Well located with lovely leafy walk to pleasant village atmosphere. Perfect and squeaky new. Don't tell anyone else otherwise this place will be worn out before we can get back for our next stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hello meercat05,

Thank you so much for your very perceptive and positive review of your stay!

We've recently upgraded our bathroom amenity product that we'd love you to try on your next stay - Sydney based, still very eco-friendly and uses Australian botanicals. Just lovely!

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Modern, comfortable, tidy hotel. My decision to stay at East Hotel was heavily influenced by TripAdvisor reviews, and it certainly lived up to expectations.

Two night stay in a twin room (number 316). Large room, good size bathroom.

The room has all the conveniences of home, including a Nespresso machine.

Nice firm comfortable bedding, with different pillow types on offer.

The mostly young staff were helpful and friendly.

Good location, an easy twenty minutes walk to the Parliamentary Zone and thirty minutes walk to the National Art Gallery. Five minutes walk to Kingston restaurant precinct.

The mostly young staff were helpful and friendly.

Good value for money.

Recommended for singles, couples and families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hello Pablo_M,

I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your room with the comforts of the bed, the fit-out and the Nespresso machine and our proximity - and importantly that it was consistent with what you have read on TripAdvisor.

While we appreciate your positive experience and sharing these comments on TripAdvisor, I do have to ask - who are you calling "mostly young"? Ha!

Thank you again. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Looks like you're well travelled!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I cannot commend the hotel on it's cleanliness, facilities, staff, location & value for money enough. I visit Canberra on a regular basis & although the hotel was only opened in August 2012, I wish I had discovered it sooner. I rate 10/10 for everything. Although there is no pool onsite the complimentary admission to one close by is an excellent option (hence the rating). A home away home..with no shortage of stylish comforts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hello Justine D,

Thank you for staying with us at EAST and thank you for your incredible review!

We appreciate your feedback and are happy to be your home away from home!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here on basis of previous reviews and great prices whilst visiting Canberra for NGA exhibition. Had studio apartment - very stylishly furnished and clean although all shelves in cupboard taken up with cookware! Faced Canberra Ave so quite noisy - would ask for quieter room in future. Room not properly prepared in terms of only one bathrobe, no shower cap just empty box but very soon rectified. Staff very helpful and friendly. Very good location within 5-10min walk of Manuka or Kingston shopping strips which have some great restaurants and not far from other major attractions. 100mb daily free internet download either wifi or connected - finally a hotel that's up with the rest of the world!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Giles or Oxley street fro quietest options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hello StargazerMelbourne,

Thank you for the review!

We do stock our shelves full of almost anything our guests could need in the kitchen. Apologies if this left you short of shelf space during your stay. I'm glad we could rectify the case of the missing shower cap quickly and deliver another robe as well.

It's great to hear you found the benefit in our location, cleanliness, internet allowance and helpful team members. Make sure you let us know when you visit next - we'll be sure to triple check everything in your room - no allowance for the same mistake twice!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron bay
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our first stay in Canberra for a long time, for a quick visit to the National Gallery. We chose East Hotel on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews and it lives up to its high recommendation. The hotel itself is of high quality, clean and comfortable. Proximity to the parliament zone is great, hotel parking facility is great and a short walk to Kingston shops is all it takes to find a plethora of very good restaurants. We'll be staying here again.

Room Tip: rooms on the Oxley Street side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hello ironball,

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and we too look forward to your next visit.

Safe journeys and we'll see you next time.

Thank you for the positive comments,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Address: 69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the vibrant hubs of Kingston and Manuka, EAST will be the ultimate location for your visit to the Australia’s capital. At EAST you will experience all the services you would expect from a premium hotel, whilst feeling completely at home in the well-appointed accommodation. EAST’s one and two bedroom apartments and studios provide the utmost in comfort, style and convenience. If you are on the road with your kids, we have thought of you too with our specially designed kids studio complete with bunk beds, bean bags, video games and even a kid-appropriate mini bar!Each room has a gourmet kitchen with cool appliances (including Nespresso coffee machines!), which complement the offerings of the equally cool OX Deli on the lobby level, where you can pick up your delicacies and meals or have them delivered to your room. Comfort and convenience is all good and well but we also have all the technology you need with 42-in LED televisions (the one bedroom apartments also have a 32-in TV in the bedroom!), FOXTEL, in-house movies, wireless broadband and ipod/ipad docking stations. Rooms are also fitted with double glazed windows, a work desk, dining table and chairs, a 2 burner stove top, extensive cooking utensils crockery and cutlery, microwave, oven*, dishwasher*, balconies* and washing machine/dryers*.* some exclusions for studios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.