We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Between maunka and Kingston, opposite hotel, nice renovation, odd staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added East Hotel to your Saves list
East Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE $20 - BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Between maunka and Kingston, opposite hotel, nice renovation, odd staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel has a great new decor and design is terrific. It is either conventiently located between manuka and kingston, or inconvengiently located in the middle of neither, depending on your point of view. Also opposite the kingston hotel. Staff are wacky. Sorry. They really need training in hospitality and in how to make a margarita. Breakfast was nothing short of absurd. I was waiting for basil and manuel to pop up.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello Julze,

Thank you for your feedback. I do hope you enjoyed the accommodation and staff on the hotel side of things.

I will pass your comments on to the team over at Ox Eatery regarding the bar and breakfast issues you experienced.

I'm not sure what was "wacky" about the staff at Ox, but they might take that as a compliment! Both East Hotel and Ox Eatery enjoy staff with individuality. Feel free to contact me or the managers/owners of Ox to discuss more specifics as we're always looking to ensure the appropriate messages are conveyed to people who come to our businesses!

Thanks again. I look forward to hearing more feedback directly regarding the hotel if/once you've stayed with us.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    147
    39
    5
    0
See reviews for
120
186
20
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here for one night in an East Studio room on a work trip in November 2012.

The hotel is within walking distance to Kingston/Manuka shops and restaurants, opposite the Kingston Hotel (‘Kingo’).

The staff at reception were very friendly and allowed me to pay in advance so I could leave without a fuss early the next morning (although reception is open 24 hours a day, they said).

The reception area had a lovely atmosphere, with comfy couches, jars of lollies, magazines/books and modern artwork including images projected onto a large screen.

The room was decorated very nicely and felt relatively spacious. The bed was comfortable and there was a large flat screen TV mounted on the wall with cable channels. There was also wi-fi included (limited downloads). The room was quiet and I slept well.

The bathroom with vanity and separate toilet/shower was nothing special but did have a nice little range of bath and shower products. It took me a while to work out how to drain the sink (there is no button; you push the plug itself).

I was in Canberra on a flying visit so didn’t get a chance to use the kitchenette or gym, or check out the bar downstairs, but they all looked good.

The hotel is quite new but importantly they don’t seem to be having any teething problems with staff. Some new hotels have great amenities but haven’t yet got their act together in terms of service – this doesn’t seem to be the case here.

It’s good to know that Canberra finally has a decent option for the business traveller who wants quality accommodation without paying a fortune. I will be staying here again and seeing how it holds up over a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello Lorexstevex,

Thank you for your thorough description of our hotel! The team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your very quick visit of our hotel.

When you do come back for a longer stay, I recommend staying in one of our apartments. They provide considerable more space, a full kitchen and laundry facilities within the room as well as separate living and sleeping areas and a balcony.

The studios are great for stays of 1-5 or so nights with their minibar fridge, dual burner cooktop, microwave, kitchen sink and full kitchen utensil provisions.

Please let us know next time you're coming, what your requirements and preferences are, and we'll be sure to take good care of you - this is what we strive to do - let YOU customize your stay!

Until next time . . .

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great location, great decor, comfortable bedding, lovely toiletries, friendly staff, convenient parking - albeit $10 per night-, nice little extra's...so it could have been perfect; however we were greeted by an impressively awful smell in our room - Milk - 4 days past it's Use-by-Date, fermenting in a fridge that was not working for our whole three night stay. Staff offered us ice buckets to keep things cool. Also, the lift makes an awful noise, so would be best to be located as far away as possible. We were woken on Friday morning (7.00am) by loud power-tool type noise above our room, fortunately we were planning an early morning start. There were some signs that maintenance was slipping - poorly patched holes in the wall opposite the lift on Floor 5, dirty walls inside the lift, but despite these concerns, overall the positives outweighed our concerns and we would stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello Darcy45,

Thank you very much for picking out the little things that matter.

We clearly should have picked up both the dis-functional fridge and the milk past the "use by" date and the team have been followed up with this issues (and fridge repaired).

We have also had the lift service technicians out to investigate the noise with the lifts. Turns out these may have been the same noisy gremlins causing the "power-tool type noise" but all work is done in the hotel so unless it was being done in the tenant space (which shouldn't be), we'll keep looking for the issue!

And I'd love to tell you what happened two weekends ago to the wall opposite level 5 resulting in some required repairs but I'll save someone the embarrassment. This has been patched appropriately as we believe in looking after our magnificent new building (as do our local owners!).

Thank you again for pointing out these niggling little issues that should have been right for you. These are the things that help us grow stronger and provide you a better stay next time. I'll aim to have you give us 5 out of 5!!!

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A group of about 10 of us try to catch up every year and this year the location was Canberra. We booked to stay at the hotel without paying much attention to where we would have a drink before dinner, dinner itself and possibly a drink somewhere afterwards. As it turned out we had no reason to leave the hotel - the bar downstairs is brilliant, and the restaurant was fantastic. Neither have that awkward feeling that hotel bars and restaurants often do and both seemed to be attracting patrons who weren't just guests dining at the closest place.

The rooms themselves were funky and spacious, and fitted out with obvious care and attention to detail. Bathrooms were very cool too. Staff were great and the hotel itself is well thought and has a nice feel to it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello James M,

Thank you for the kind comments and review regarding both East and our colleagues over at Ox Eatery. I'll be sure to pass it on to our team and theirs.

I hope we can again be the home of your catch-up with your group of 10 in 2013!

Cheers,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very impressive. Modern, clean, good size, and comfortable. Will stay again on next trip. Price is very reasonable and staff are friendly. I did like the theme of the hotel. Should be free parking though. Charged $10 per night. Good black-out blinds. Booked through Expedia. No problems at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello Johnbernadette,

Thank you for the succinct and positive comments!

While I can't do much about our location, please let me know what we can do to increase your perception of us in the other areas - I'd love to change your statement from "Impressed" to something along the lines of "Thoroughly Impressed" or "Blown Away".

We look forward to exceeding your expectations soon . . .

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowood, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We recently had a couple of nights at the East in Canberra in a lovely One Bedroom Apartment overlooking Manuka Oval...friendly and efficient check-in.
The apartment was spacious and well equipped, it had it all, comfy King Bed and two TV's, good a/c and comfortable modern furniture...
We had only one complaint really, housekeeping could of done with a little more attention to detail, but by no means was the apartment dirty, it was clean and tidy...
This hotel is in a great location with a good friendly Pub right across the road and everything within easy reach.
We loved Canberra, so much to see and do, we shall return and hopefully stay once again the The East Hotel, thoroughly recommended...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello there allan_don,

We are thrilled to know we have left such a great impression on you!

I have chatted with the housekeeping team regarding your comments to ensure we impress you even further on your next stay.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cheers,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My partner & I spent 1 night here for the Boyz II Men concert at the Convention Centre. We drove from Melbourne & was welcomed to a pristine, modern room with a very large & comfortable bed.

The location of the hotel was perfectly placed next to the chic suburb of Manuka filled with gorgeous clothing shops & endless cafe's, bars & restaurants. It was like a little Toorak Rd in Canberra.

The room itself was quite large, complete with a kitchenette and a nespresso coffee machine with complimentary pods.

Parking was also very cheap at only $10 a night with direct access to the hotel. Getting in & out of the underground parking area was a breeze as the hotel room keycard needed only to be swiped for entry / exit.

The hotel itself was perfect for our weekend getaway & we'll definitely have no hesitation in returning.

The only thing missing was a concierge who assisted with luggage which wasn't an issue as we were only staying 1 night & had minimal bags.

The staff at reception were very polite & helpful in providing local area assistance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello there Jezabella84,

Your comments were an excellent boost for the hard-working team we have! Thank you for passing these on in a public forum.

Please note that our team are willing to assist in making anything reasonable, safe and legal happen for our guests. Just ask! But you've raised a good point - maybe I need a sign that informs our lovely travellers that my Guest Experience Team is here to make the whole experience what you want it to be.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Address: 69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the vibrant hubs of Kingston and Manuka, EAST will be the ultimate location for your visit to the Australia’s capital. At EAST you will experience all the services you would expect from a premium hotel, whilst feeling completely at home in the well-appointed accommodation. EAST’s one and two bedroom apartments and studios provide the utmost in comfort, style and convenience. If you are on the road with your kids, we have thought of you too with our specially designed kids studio complete with bunk beds, bean bags, video games and even a kid-appropriate mini bar!Each room has a gourmet kitchen with cool appliances (including Nespresso coffee machines!), which complement the offerings of the equally cool OX Deli on the lobby level, where you can pick up your delicacies and meals or have them delivered to your room. Comfort and convenience is all good and well but we also have all the technology you need with 42-in LED televisions (the one bedroom apartments also have a 32-in TV in the bedroom!), FOXTEL, in-house movies, wireless broadband and ipod/ipad docking stations. Rooms are also fitted with double glazed windows, a work desk, dining table and chairs, a 2 burner stove top, extensive cooking utensils crockery and cutlery, microwave, oven*, dishwasher*, balconies* and washing machine/dryers*.* some exclusions for studios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.