We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Artisan

The Artisan
16 Iluka Street, Canberra, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 809 Restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A nice dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at Artisan last night and could not fault it. I had asked for a quiet table as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and we we put on a table in a quiet corner away from other diners. The food was excellent with lovely flavours while the service was warm, friendly and knowledgable. There is an extensive and moderately priced wine list with a good choice of wines by the glass. For a three course meal with drinks (including a glass of French Champagne) to start with we paid $220.We will go back.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    18
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Elegance and simplicity in the Canberra burbs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Have had the pleasure of Saturday lunch at this treasure in the inner south of Canberra. Exquisite flavours, great technique and right sized. Great wind list and quite a bit of local Canberra wines.

Service by Sam was great, and this place is a rising star in a very competitive Canberra eating scene.

Been here six times, and never disappoints.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We’re two middle-age couples who dine out at good Canberra restaurants every couple of months. Last week we tried The Artisan in Narrabundah which came with good wraps. Its reputation was deserved. The welcome was friendly and seating efficient – as was the service throughout. The Artisan is relatively small with a long narrow room and a bar area which extends along the other wall. The menu is limited but there should be enough choice for everyone. It has a number of nice touches – anchovy butter, the BYO cork presented for perusal, a glass of ice topped up without needing to be requested. If anything, sometimes the service of wine and water seemed a bit too frequent. The food was delicious and cooked to perfection. Prices (mains in the mid-$30s) seemed at the high end. The only real negative was that it was very noisy. Perhaps this is the current fashion but it meant we (and every other table) had to talk loudly to be heard which only made the room noisier. In the last 3 – 4 months we have also dined at The Sage and Rubicon and we would place The Artisan in the middle.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great expectations but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I expected this restaurant to be quite different from the other fine dining places around Canberra: it is not. The quality of the ingredients is excellent and the taste and presentation of the food is very good. However, having tried both fish and meat dishes, there was nothing particularly exciting or different from what I could get from other similar restaurants. The portions are very small in comparison to what you pay (so don't go there if you are really hungry!), as it is the case in the other fine dining restaurants in Canberra. Though the staff is friendly and relaxed, the atmosphere is nothing special. Overall, a quite average experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A few mistakes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Went here with a few friends for dinner
Tables could have done with white table cloths.
Maybe I read the menu wrong but rabbit entree was cold, I expected it to be warm at least.
My main was mixed up with a friends so I got medium/well done steak instead of medium rare.
Another friend found a piece of small plastic in her meal.
A few little mess ups which were a shame. Service was good.
Dessert was good

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Artisan also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to The Artisan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Artisan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.