We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, innovative food with pleasant & efficient service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Artisan

The Artisan
16 Iluka Street, Canberra, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 778 restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delicious, innovative food with pleasant & efficient service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had a most enjoyable evening with the menu varied and innovative itch out being over the top. The food presentation was precise and beautiful to look at as well as tasting delicious with interesting combinations.
The service, by only two staff, was friendly, efficient, professional and unintrusive.
The prices reflected the quality of the experience without being too expensive. Mains were in the low to mid $30s.
Desserts all looked spectacular and the one that we shared, the pineapple tarte tatin was really good. Others that we saw being served also looked amazing.
We will definitely return whe. We next visit Canberra.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    44
    15
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“First rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

On the strength of other reviews we went to eat dinner here. My only problem with the restaurant is its so from Sydney. The eye fillet was extremely tender and was accompanied by a lovely potato souffle and baby asparagus. Complimentary bread rolls that were obviously home made were sensational. Fast and pleasant service was the icing in the cake.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food, great service. Well done!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Simple and charming, The Artisan is a great place hidden away in Narrabundah. The service was simply top notch and the food was fantastic. The desserts are a must try.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best dessert - ever?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We went for the first night of the new dessert menu - must try the Wagon Wheel. A fab twist on a old childhood favourite and it did not disappoint. Should become their signature dessert dish.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Small shop front restaurant that doesn't look much from the outside but blew our socks off at a family gathering on Saturday night. The young staff are attentive knowlageable but not overwhelming as can be the trend lately. It's is only small so tables are close and noise could be a problem but well laided out, even though the art on the wall is appalling ( as you have art students in your wait staff please help young artists).
It is really the food that is the highlight here beautifully presented innovative fresh great! No one course better than the other, really looking forward to returning and trying the degustation menu. The wine list isn't bad either with good choices by the glass.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Artisan also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to The Artisan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Artisan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.