We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Asian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Duck

Wild Duck
Shop 77-78, 71 Giles St, Canberra, Australia
02 6232 7997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 779 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fine Asian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

A menu of tasty Asian food, very light but full of flavour. A spacious restaurant with plenty of room. And not so noisy. Attenti e service and reasonably priced for the service and menu. Disappointed in the desert menu but enjoyed cocktails, entrees, mains and accompaniments. Wine by the glass as it was a school night. We are already planning our next dining visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    48
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good ambience, food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This up market chinese restautant is modern and stylish. The five people in our group enjoyed a quiet table in a corner, with plenty of space around us, which was important. The service was very attentive service, although the restaurant was moderately busy on the night we visited. We ordered the $48 banquet, which was very nice, but the serves weren't large. This left plenty of room for desert, which was an additional cost, but very nice and not the type usually found at a restaurant. We took our own wine, so I can't comment on the wine list. The bill came to $70/head, with the banquet, desert and a couple of our guests had a beer or coffee. All together it was a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A great dining experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

I was really happy with the food and service!! The decor was good but I the staff were very helpful and they knew about the meals and what was involved with preparing the various dishes!! I also thought the wine list was rather satisfactory!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlemaine, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“How to stand out in a sea of ordinary restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Wild Duck is relatively new in the major development on the Lake at Kingston. It reminds me of the risks that the Malaya took, setting up amongst the concrete trucks and hard hats at Lime Street Wharf in Sydney. The restaurant is basically chinese, but internationally themed, for example it is knife and fork rather than chopsticks or spoon and fork. The wait staff are extraordinary, without the supercilious attitude that seems endemic in new or reinvented restaurants (La Grillade...maybe). The food is fabulous with amazing flavours and quality produce. Nothing is too difficult. This restaurant has the potential to knock the tired Canberra established restaurants for six

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Attentive staff, inventive food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Wild Duck is in the newer area of Kingston, only a block from the lake. What you get is up market Chinese food, nicely presented and with excellent service.

The restaurant's interior is comfortable and in keeping with the style of the food.

Not cheap, but this is expertly prepared food, inventive dishes that you won't find on most typical Chinese retaurant menus.

Loved the scallops with chili compoy and the signature wild duck with enoki mushrooms.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Duck also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Wild Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Duck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.