We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, Unfortunate noise issues.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canberra City YHA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Canberra City YHA to your Saves list
Canberra City YHA
7 Akuna Street, Canberra 2601, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location, Unfortunate noise issues.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed midweek for 2 nights in a private twin-share room without ensuite. Very, very basic consisting of one single and one double bed, bedding, pillows, coffee & tea making stuff - that's it. Nonetheless it was appropriate for our needs this time.The room was clean, comfortable, the hostel is in a great city central location, is well laid out, friendly staff and has all the usual facilities. No complaints EXCEPT the noise from the patrons hanging out in the square/carpark directly behind the hostel until 3am in the morning on the wednesday night. Thursday night was fine, quiet - I don't know how it is on the weekend but judging from some comments it can probably get pretty annoying. Seriously, I've stayed in hostels all over the world and the noise from what is obviously mostly a local crowd is probably one of the worst I've experienced - and I know how to have a good time with the best of em'.
The noise may not bother some people - good for you - but I would strongly suggest asking for a bed on the street facing (front entrance) side of hostel.
Also I didn't see the cafe on premises open for two days, but I didn't have the breakfast option and maybe I wasn't observant enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Canberra City YHA, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi Merry R
Thanks for your review of Canberra City YHA. Unfortunately, the area behind the hostel is a public square and people come out of the bar beside us and stand there and smoke. The bar is run independently of YHA but the hostel manager will take this review to the management and ask them to ensure they try and deter patrons from gathering in the square. This is more of an issue on warmer summer evenings, but we apologise for your disturbed night.

We hope to see you again at this hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    63
    31
    13
    4
See reviews for
10
28
51
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roma, Italia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Clean, plenty of room in dorms and in the kitchen, quiet. A suggestion: power points should be better placed in the room, i.e. one next to each bed, not just 4 (in a 8 bed dorm) next to the window. The staff was very helpful, and there were a lot of activities for the guests, like bbq, movie nights and bike rental. Even if bathrooms were quite small, they weren't crowded or busy and most important they were always very clean. A good place for families too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

This seemed to be the only budget hostel option for my overnight stop in Canberra. I stayed in a 10 bed mixed dorm as this was the only option available at the time of booking. I prefer rooms with as few people as possible, but this wasn't bad at all.

The hostel is an easy 5-10min walk from the bus station (I walked it on my own at 11pm and felt very safe), a shorter walk to Target and a local shopping mall and a fairly lengthy walk to anywhere else, including the main tourist sights. Canberra isn't a particularly pedestrian friendly city, so take a map if you wander off or even better try to figure out the local bus system. I didn't do the latter, but my feet wished I would have done by the evening!

The hostel itself was clean and tidy. The room had an attached balcony/terrace, but I didn't see anyone use it apart from drying clothes. Reception advised the nicest bathrooms were on a different floor to mine, can't remember which though! so I used those and were nice. I liked the little communal area with sofas on each floor too, they were good for hanging out if you wanted to get out of your room.

Overall, not the best hostel you will stay in, but adequate for a short stay in the city.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Backpacker, Front Office Manager at Canberra City YHA, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hi Jackie
Thanks for your review of Canberra YHA . Yes, the city can be a little daunting for pedestrians to get around, and to try and work out the public transport system. We do hire bikes though at the hostel (half or full day) and they are a great way to get to all the main city attractions which are within cycling distance. Canberra has lovely bike tracks around the lake which makes this a good alternative to walking.
We hope to see you again at another YHA in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a large but simple double room that did the job. You cannot get ensuites but have to use the shared bathrooms, which were quite new and good enough. The swimming pool in the cellar is a bit of a joke because it is so small that you can't really swim at all. The common kitchen is quite well equipped but there are always puddles on the floor because the water leaks down from the surfaces.
Handy hint: There is a public library with free internet access two streets down from the hostel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Canberra City YHA, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hi Donegal
Thanks for your review of Canberra YHA. The manager sees all reviews and will look into that water leakage in the kitchen - thanks.
Just to let you know - the hostel does have a few ensuite rooms, but they are very popular so they book out fast. We also have the non-ensuite double/twins where you stayed as an alternative.
We hope to see you again at another YHA in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leixlip, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I booked a bed in a 8 bed dorm the same day I checked in.
Great place and friendly staff that seems to be backpackers as well.
Room was a bit messy, as there was a few in there that looked like they stayed there for a while.
This is one of the better hostels I’ve been in and I would definitely go there again. If I find a YHA in a another city, I`ll go there. I give 4/5 cause the price was a bit stiff. $35 a night unless you are a YHA member.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've never done the hostel thing before, so I was wary to begin with.

The Canberra YHA was clean, convenient and was great for the group I was travelling with. It was more cost efficient to stay in the YHA than in a local hotel, so we braved it for one night.

Bathrooms were adequate, although the hot water had a mind of its own... but then again we shouldn't be having long showers anyway! There were power points in the bathroom so I could use my hair dryer without waking my roomies.

I stayed in a share room of 4 people who I knew, which made the experience nicer. The bed wasn't too bad; you just had to make it yourself.

I'd only recommend this for short stays. I did also notice a few families who were staying there also, along with an older couple - so it appeals to all age groups by the looks of it.

There is a bar downstairs under the YHA, and you could hear the music from above (along with the people talking on the street) but noting a pair of ear plugs couldn't fix.

We had breakfast included the next day. Just cereal, toast and (crap) coffee. But you know what; it was included in the price so I can't complain too much.

Would I stay there again? Only if I was travelling with a large group of people and we wanted to save money. If I went to Canberra with my partner, I'd pay the extra to stay in a hotel. What can I say, I like a little luxury!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the bathrooms were more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this place when it was being built by the waldof in 2001 - then it was really flash. Now it's dirty dirty dirty - but that's what you get when you have backpackers doing cleaning for their accommodation. But at $40 a night for a dorm bed you'd expect a lot more but this is pretty typical of Australian YHAs - poor standards and high prices. I best to avoid this one

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Canberra City YHA, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
HI

Thanks for your review of Canberra City YHA. We take all reviews very seriously and are sorry that you did not have a good stay at the hostel. The Manager has seen your review and it will help us with our continual process of reviewing and improving how the property is managed.
We did just want to clarify though that YHA does not use backpackers to clean our hostels - we either use professional cleaning services or have staff housekeeping on site. YHA prides itself on having the highest quality network of hostels in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Canberra City YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canberra City YHA

Address: 7 Akuna Street, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canberra City YHA is right in the heart of the nation's capital, 5 mins from the interstate bus terminal. Hostel facilities include cafe, indoor pool/spa/sauna, internet, fully-equipped kitchen, rooftop BBQ area, TV/games area, and underground bar. Hostel hosts weekly activities and BBQs in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Canberra City YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canberra City Yha Hotel Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canberra City YHA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.