We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissappointed with this property !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra to your Saves list
Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 Northbourne Ave & Cnr Girrahween St | Act, Canberra 2601, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very dissappointed with this property !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Not the first time i have traveled to canberra on business but first time i have stayed here at the CEA based on what i had read on Trip advisor and also the slightly keener price offered.
the room was very clostraphobic and asked if they had another room as i was staying two nights on business the only other room available had recently been painted and so not suitable.i ended up staying in the room they use fro disabled customers.
the bed was very soft / squeaked and very uncomfortable. the restaurant downstairs was terrible and very expensive. the steak i ordered was overcooked (ordered it medium as i always do) and very tough.it was supposed to be a prime cut scotch fillet ..... the price of $33 was steep and even steeper was the very small bowl of veg that consisted of a few pieces of brocolli /cauiliflower/ carrots for an additional $8 !! ... the service was terrible and the staff not attuned to the customers needs.at all.. i had indicated three times that i wished to order another glass of wine with no response and then at the end when they asked how the meal and service was they were surprised with my response ... not very good. their attitude and service here leaves at lot to be desired and will def look for other business accomadation in this city... my business friends will also look elsewhere. very very dissapointed with this property ....

Room Tip: dont go there.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ceahotel, Owner at Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Geoff2546,
1. Firstly you received the exact room that you booked.
2. Yes you ordered a sirloin steak and a side order of vegetables - eat everything on your plate and then you compained to the waitress on duty that you did not like the steak.
3. Then as you left the restaurant you gave the wrong room number for your meal to be charged.
4. I feel that your behaviour is misleading and deceptive.
5. You chucked a tantrum at Reception when you could not change rooms. Bearing in mind you received the exact room that you booked.
6. Your comments about the hotel are all untrue.
Yours sincerely,
Jim Stanwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    75
    86
    41
    47
See reviews for
68
66
21
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

I booked this on last minute.com had a great room excellent value ,bed was so comfortable room clean and facilities very good .would definitely stay there again .There was plenty of off street parking and within walking distance to shops ,checkin was quick and easy

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent two nights at this venue taking the Cuddles and Bubbles Package that we read about through a RACQ email. The value was exceptional with a bottle of bubbly and chocolates each day,breakfast either in the dining room or with a breakky box, but the bonus was the three course meal in the Haig Italian Restaurant in the complex. Superb meal choices and exceptional quality. The only downside of our stay was the construction site next door on our first afternoon with a rockbreaker clearing the site, the next day was much better. Would definitely stay there for future visits. The staff friendliness was great

Room Tip: Ask for a Bubble and Cuddle Package!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We arrived in Canberra just hoping to book in somewhere after driving up from Melbourne on the way home to Newcastle. The first couple of places we went to had no vacancies and it was getting late so a lot of receptions were closed. We drove past CEA and noticed the 24 hour check in so decided to go see what their prices were like. They were very helpful and said their basic rooms had sold out but gave us the next room up at great price. The Italian Restaurant on-site is very yummy and does room service which was great for us after driving over 6 hours with an 8 month old. Our room was spotless, air con was quiet and even though we were facing the road, it was pretty quiet. The bed was one of the comfiest beds I have ever slept on. We had the buffet breakfast which was fresh and very yummy with plenty of variety and it was served in a great area called The Atrium where you can see all the different levels of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were clean, comfortable & conveniently located. They looked exactly like I pictured.

The letdown was when I arrived at 1:30 pm hoping to check in and the guy at reception not even checking to see if my room was ready. He just said it wasn't 2 o'clock n I couldn't check in without even advising me of what was in the local area and offering to take my bags. I cooperated and found a coffee shop nearby and he looked after my bags when I asked then on my return I was greeted by a much friendlier girl. I don't understand for a minute why this hotel has such a strict policy on checking in after 2 o'clock. Ironic when the sign outside says 24 hour check in.

Overall my experience was ok. Would've scored this hotel much higher if reception had the courtesy to see if my room was ready when I arrived rather than just refusing to check me in.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I arrived at 1.58pm, and was told my room wasn't ready "check-in is 2pm". She wasn't joking - I had to wait and at about 2.10pm, I was given a room key. I was sold wifi (at $10 it was pretty reasonable) but not told that it wouldn't work in my room - whats the point in that? Then I had to make a "collect call" to get my mobile phone roaming reactivated - I didn't know how to do that from Australia (to NZ), so I rang reception and was told to dial straight through. I questioned I I would get charged with this. and told "of course", I questioned if she knew what a collect call was and she answered that she did. She couldn't have been less helpful. I will NOT stay here again, and would just like to warn travellers about the worst service I have ever received in Australia!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ceahotel, Manager at Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear peale1964,
I was the person you spoke too (Duty Manager Ms Baz Reo) and I informed you that there would be a $1.50 charge for using our phone in the room; but I offered you our public phone which would not of cost you anything. My hotel guests who were in Reception at the time you were speaking to me, heard everything you said to me.
Their comments to me were, quote; what a cranky old man, unquote.
They also heard you threaten me, saying that you were going to write a bad review about our hotel on TripAdvisor. As I say; all publicity is good publicity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for seven nights for business purposes. The rate was affordable for a longer stay and this was the reason we chose this hotel over any other in the same area.

Our room was very clean but this property needs a refurbishment before long if it is to hold its place among the local competition. The mattress was too soft for my liking but my partner had no complaints.

We did not travel to Canberra to enjoy the inside of a hotel room so our only real requirements of the room was for it to be clean and comfortable. The kitchenette was handy as it made catering for breakfasts a bit easier over the week of our trip.

The hotel serves breakfast in the Atrium costing $15.00 per head. Its a basic hotel breakfast.

The hotel's restaurant is wonderful however and serves up great meals. We ate at the restaurant on three different occasions and enjoyed our meal every time.

Parking is a problem - there is simply not enough spaces for all customers and the concrete pylons in the car park appear to be a natural enemy of cars from the look of the scrapes and marks on them.

I would stay at this property if in town for a longer stay but if our stay was shorter I may opt for one of the apartments a little closer to Civic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra

Address: 108 Northbourne Ave & Cnr Girrahween St | Act, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located two blocks north of the CBD, a five minute stroll, our 83 room boutique style hotel. Value That Impresses:The Capital Executive Apartment Hotel, located just a short stroll from the city centre down Canberra's most tree-lined boulevard, Northbourne Avenue, is your stylish and comfortable "home away from home". The 59 studio apartments and 24 one bedroom spa suites, combined with 24 hour under cover security parking, offer the holidaymaker or business traveller great value at realistic prices. Features That Please:Soak up the classic modern ambience that is our stunning three storey atrium as you enjoy a pre-dinner drink or a quiet meeting in any of the intimate lounge areas. Pamper yourself in our sauna room or one of our 2 x 8 person heated spa pools after that workout in the gym. As day becomes night, enjoy Canberra's languid summer evenings outdoors in our alfresco courtyard overlooking the stately pines of Haig Park; or, if it's just that special time together, simply phone for our prompt and friendly room service. The choice is yours. Rooms to Relax In All room types feature reverse cycle air conditioning and are serviced and maintained to a four star standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Capital Executive
Comfort Inn Canberra
Canberra Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.