We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot if you're a smoker and aren't looking for a solid nights sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra to your Saves list
Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 Northbourne Ave & Cnr Girrahween St | Act, Canberra 2601, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great spot if you're a smoker and aren't looking for a solid nights sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Lodged here during a stressful exam - wasnt a cheap spot!! but my room (and half the rooms) border the main highway, so passing motorcycles and hoons shook the room. Cigarette smoke from people smoking on adjacent balconies drifted into my room (despite closing balcony door as tightly as possible with flimsy shade over door) - enough so that the smell stained my suit. And, as an added bonus, party evolved in adjacent room and management said they couldn't do anything about it!! It is not worth the money - would have had better nights sleep camping and truely irritated I spent any money on this place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    75
    86
    41
    47
See reviews for
68
66
21
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Large room. Large bed. Room had a bathtub. Excellent after doing 2000klms on a motorbike in 3 days. Lovely guest soaps and shampoo etc. small kitchenette in room. Bed was comfy. Staff (especially Gary on front counter) were great. Restaurant had nice meals. Was allowed to park my bike in view of front desk.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

extremely rude front desk staff.they treat you as if you are staying free.Not recommended at all.I dont know if staff is changed otherwise would definitely not recommend to stay.Average location,isolated from everything,average rooms and no recreation facilities.

Room Tip: avoid this like plague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ceahotel, Owner at Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Deepak_Rai,
I am having trouble understanding what your concerns might be - please be informed that none of my staff are rude to our guests. We are located 2 blocks north of the CBD, a fantastic location from which to start exploring Canberra. Our rooms are very well maintained and represent great value accommodation in Canberra. The comments you make about my staff and my hotel are not correct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My family and I stayed here for our Floriade visit October 2012. We were delighted with the bathroom toiletries they have provided, the lemon myrtle infused products were very relaxing. The 4 for the price of three breakfast buffet was also very welcome. The bedclothes were clean, the staff all friendly and helpful and even happy to chat with you if you require. We rested quite well as the room was quiet. Also, the milk and the kitkats were lovely! We also ate in the Haig Restaurant and my, was it sumptuous!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here one night in October 2012. My room had 5 beds, a little kitchen, and a nice fridge. We could have fitted the whole family (very unusual for a hotel room). Bed was very comfy, TV and kettle etc worked well. My room had a spa bath big enough for 2 adults. Blankets and sheets were crispy and comfy. I think my bed had memory foam. Ahhhhh. The hotel was quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful.

They have free Kit-kats in the fridge, and a very decent breakfast buffet for $15.00 + an on-site restaurant (I didn't try that). It was fine - nothing boutique, but perfectly adequate.

There is no porter, and no doorman, and nothing flashy that you would get a more expensive place. If you are expecting something super flash for the price, then you need to be more realistic.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms do not have as much sun as upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

we were extremely dissappointed in our room. It was nothing like the photos on the websight which i believe is false advertising. The room was in desperate need of a Revovation. we had four nights which was far too long in such drab surroundings. wont book it again. If you are looking for a clean bright room dont book this place, extremely disapointed. never again. the lighting is terrible. the breakfast was horrid.

Room Tip: Dont book this hotel if you want a quiet romatic weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ceahotel, Owner at Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Kathleen M,
I think you might be somewhat confused - the photos and the HD video on our website are correct. We have new queen beds and king single beds in all of our rooms - new split air conditioning in all our rooms - new solid ash timber furniture in all our rooms - rooms are painted regularly - new 48 oz wool carpet in all our rooms - lots of amemities in our rooms. I can only wonder what you concerns were with our $15 fully cooked buffet - all of our regular guests love it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I went down to Canberra to see a band, we got back to our room at 2am and left the next morning at 8am. The bathroom was clean, the beds comfortable. We never usd any of the hotel restaurants or facilities.
Stay here if you (like us) just need a bed close to the CBD. Dont stay here if you want more from your room or you are expecting the Ritz, its just not going to happen!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra

Address: 108 Northbourne Ave & Cnr Girrahween St | Act, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located two blocks north of the CBD, a five minute stroll, our 83 room boutique style hotel. Value That Impresses:The Capital Executive Apartment Hotel, located just a short stroll from the city centre down Canberra's most tree-lined boulevard, Northbourne Avenue, is your stylish and comfortable "home away from home". The 59 studio apartments and 24 one bedroom spa suites, combined with 24 hour under cover security parking, offer the holidaymaker or business traveller great value at realistic prices. Features That Please:Soak up the classic modern ambience that is our stunning three storey atrium as you enjoy a pre-dinner drink or a quiet meeting in any of the intimate lounge areas. Pamper yourself in our sauna room or one of our 2 x 8 person heated spa pools after that workout in the gym. As day becomes night, enjoy Canberra's languid summer evenings outdoors in our alfresco courtyard overlooking the stately pines of Haig Park; or, if it's just that special time together, simply phone for our prompt and friendly room service. The choice is yours. Rooms to Relax In All room types feature reverse cycle air conditioning and are serviced and maintained to a four star standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Capital Executive
Comfort Inn Canberra
Canberra Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.