We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will find better for less” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pavilion on Northbourne

Save Saved
You added Pavilion on Northbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pavilion on Northbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 Northbourne Avenue | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 52 hotels in Canberra
Campbelltown, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You will find better for less”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

A coat of paint makes the pictures look way better than the rooms actually do. Overpriced, run down and outdated furniture and fixtures, heating that doesn't work, a dirty towel left in the room, dirty old carpet, wine not available that is on the menu. No extra blankets, one size pillow fits all, 2 towels (generous) to a room, new release movies $18.95 All this at a "discounted" $169. Reviews on Agoda are a sham. Staff are o.k. our room central heating didn't work on a cold and wet Canberra day. 5 visits by various people still didn't make a difference. Last person gave us a noisy little air blower heater! When we complained to the manager she upgraded us to a spa room, Heater didn't work in there either! Spa looked like it had seen a lot of action, no shower curtain for the shower. Self contained unit with no crockery or utensils. Living room set top box didn't work so rather we borrowed the one from the bedroom. ON a positive if you like plants there are heaps of them outside the rooms and in the restaurant. I have stayed in many hotels in my travels and would advise you could find way better for the price. This Hotels rooms should be around the $99 budget price.

Room Tip: Another location would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    176
    110
    43
    20
See reviews for
70
153
53
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. Came here on a business trip and booked because they had a great deal. Terrific lobby with nice ambience, bar and restaurant. My room was quiet and bed very comfortable. Location on Northbourne Ave is convenient and the hotel did not have issues with noise. Service was smooth and professional.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while in Canberra as we where going to the Turner from the Tate exhibition
at the national gallery , this hotel is really lovely with all the green plants everywhere our room was spacious the bed very comfortable and big , the breakfast was excellent we also ate in the restaurant had the early bird special which was a lovely meal . my husband was really impressed with the amazing greenery and the service was excellent , we would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a good basic hotel. The room are quite generous (although the bathroom was small). The bed was very comfortable and the room was fairly quiet. I must say I was quite impressed with the eco friendly bath and shower products provided.

Although I didn't eat at the restaurant, work colleagues told me the food was quite good.
The service at reception was excellent and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Recently, we (two couples) visited Canberra for the weekend to attend an exhibition at the National Gallery. We booked the Pavilion on Northbourne which was very central to our needs. On arrival, we were greeted warmly and professionally. Although we could check in, our rooms were not ready (we were quite early). Our rooms were at the back of the hotel and although there was a wedding on the same floor, we did not hear any noise from it or from road traffic. Our rooms were very spacious with a desk, small table and chairs, tea making facilities etc. Beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was quite small but adequate, but no natural light in there. It was good to be able to open the bedroom window. A full breakfast was included in our "package" and consisted of a variety or cereals, fruits, breads, pastries and hot foods. Checking both in and out of the Hotel was quick with friendly staff. The interior of the Hotel was very welcoming and with many plants, trees etc.(reminded me of a Singapore hotel in that respect). A football club was less than 10 minutes walk away and we had our evening meal there. There was a secure car park at the rear of the hotel. Although it is quite some distance to the central shopping in Canberra, we would all stay at the Pavilion again when visiting Canberra by car.

Room Tip: We had Rooms 320 and 321 at the rear of the 3rd floor, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The delightful entry foyer belies the sparse rooms beyond. Horribly pokey little bathroom and very little light. Only one power point in the bedroom. However the worst of the place came at checkout when the staff had me confused with someone else. They demanded that I stay for an extra day and were generally extremely rude. Even when their error was pointed out to them they continued to be rude and refused to apologise. Their attitude totally ruined my weekend away.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The entry foyer area was very pleasant with many plants and large shrubs. The restruarant for dinner was reasonable in respect to food quality although the service was extremely slow. Breakfast was average.
The rooms were very small and dark with a miniscule bathroom. The TV did not work and there was a shocking noise in the pipes , and after several calls to the management we were" upgraded " to a suite which was very tired. The staff were all very good.
All I can say is that the hotel was very disappointing and certainly in need of a refurbishment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pavilion on Northbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion on Northbourne

Address: 242 Northbourne Avenue | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Canberra
#19 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pavilion on Northbourne 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pavilion on Northbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion On Northbourne Canberra
Pavilion On Northbourne Hotel Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavilion on Northbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.