We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pavilion on Northbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pavilion on Northbourne to your Saves list
Pavilion on Northbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 Northbourne Avenue | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Spacious, clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great staff, large, clean rooms, nice ambiance about the place, especially the garden atrium.

Bit far from the CBD for a pleasant stroll. In any case, Canberra is a place where you really to need a car.

Only complaint.....on my first night, members of a rock band who'd played a concert nearby came back to the hotel very late and kept up the noise not only in the bar area downstairs but near to the upstairs rooms until 1:00am. Surely the staff could have told them to keep the noise down?

Good stay

Room Tip: Check out "little China town" nearby for some great, inexpensive restaurants. Much closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    190
    117
    49
    20
See reviews for
76
167
53
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I am currently still staying at Pavilion on Northbourne, and thought I should let everyone know what a great hotel it is!

We bought a special deal on a hotel room on their website on the way to Canberra. Since arriving at the door we have not felt more welcome. The check in staff are so lovely, I was checked in by an American (Canadian? Not sure!) guy who was just so friendly, and offered me a room upgrade - why not, we are on holiday!! The room we went into was so nice and big, with the lounge room area apart from the bedroom, which was handy when me and my partner wanted to watch different things on TV :)

They do have the lift out of order (I think they said it was getting replaced) so this is understandable, but the other check in guy actually offered to help us up the stairs with our bags, which was a nice thought, even though we didn't accept (I'm sure my partner would have been embarrased if I'd said yes!!!)

Had room service, which was great, again the staff were very attentive, the meal was perfect and didn't take long at all.

Lovely night sleep even though we were on northbourne, which apparenbtly the main road into Canberra, so this was a real surprise!! Have noticed a few other comments from other travellers about the air conditioning - we did not have an issue, worked perfectly!!!

We decided that since we were so comfortable, and Canberra has a lot more to offer than we had expected, that we would stay another night. Not a drama at all from Reception, who easily extended our booking and even keot us in the same room.

We are looking forward to another great night tonight and will even go down to the bar tonight, which has a massive big garden around it - looks really cool!

I won't go anywhere else when I come back to Canberra - it's hard to find such lovely people all working in one place!!!

Room Tip: Room Upgrade to one of the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I booked this through Booking.com and was told hotel would not take any money until we arrived but, looking at my credit card, they processed the booking the day I booked, not just a hold either. They also put $100 on hold when we arrived when they said they would just take imprint of card, so not a good start. We arrived late afternoon tired after journey just wanted to get to our room and relax but had to take the "hard sell" from man on reception, wanting us to go for a more expensive apartment, before we were given pass for room. Room a bit drab, curtains with hooks missing, very dated look in bathroom which was tiny, not what you'd expect from 4.5 star. We ordered simple meal from room service which took an hour to arrive. On the plus side, the girl on reception when we checked out was extremely helpful in doing our airline check in for us and ordering taxi for airport, wish we'd seen her when we arrived!!

Room Tip: This hotel is a lot more than 2 ks from city, you need a car if you stay here. 10 min walk to dicks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chartre-sur-le-Loir, France
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I don't think hotels are a strong point of Canberra, but the Pavilion is not at all bad. It's very well located and reasonably priced (at least compared to others). You're within walking distance of the tourist information centre, as well as the shops (with a LOT of restaurants) of Dickson. You're about 2km from the lake.

The hotel dates from the early eighties, but has obviously been refurbished. There's a signature atrium with a lot of greenery which is nice, even if pretty dated in style. This is also where the restaurant and bar are located. We had dinner at the restaurant one night and the food was quite good, if perhaps a little on the expensive side. The service in the restaurant was OK without being great. The service in the rest of the hotel was very good otherwise, although the day we left the room cleaning staff began cleaning the room before we had left! We came back to our room after putting our bags in the car to find the room being cleaned already.

Speaking of the room, it seems they all come with a queen and a single bed, handy for some. The bathroom arrangement is a little odd, with a fridge with tea/coffee facilities (free) together with the washbasin in an area off the main room, then a door through to the bath/shower and the toilet. This is a bit quirky and might not appeal to everyone. There was a large flat-screen TV with local channels and the bed was comfortable although a bit bouncy. Air-conditioning was effective and quiet. The room sizes do vary somewhat and seem reasonable.

We did however have a significant issue with our room with clanging pipes and plumbing noises that kept us awake in the early hours of the morning. We complained about this and received apologies but no other action or compensation. It might have been a one-off problem, or it might be a general problem in the hotel.

The elevator from the lobby to the room levels was being replaced during our visit. An inconvenience for those who find stairs a problem, although presumably it should only be a temporary problem.

Breakfast is buffet style and is very complete and reasonable value at $19. Wireless Internet is available in the rooms but it's not free. There's free off-street parking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here on 26 Jan. Room on 2nd floor was ok, but it was too hot. When I asked about this at reception I was told the air conditioning fan is kept on low because of the fan noise. So it might as well be off as it was useless. Thankfully we could open the window even though there was a storm - but it was the only way to get some air in the room. It's a pity, as the room was nicely finished, but without air conditioning on a summer's day its too hot and we won't stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for several days. Good location. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms. Good services. The atrium area and bar was very pleasant area to have a drink or two at the end of the day. The food was excellent. Inter et service was not complimentary and business services a little pricey though. Id stay hear again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My friends and I went for a weekend in Canberra recently. After looking around for hotels on deal sites, we came across Pavilion on Northbourne. The price was very reasonable, especially compared to other hotels we were looking at and the reviews seemed good. We had a lovely stay, it is a very clean, modern and comfortable hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and the garden atrium was an awesome addition. Very close to the city and shops. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pavilion on Northbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion on Northbourne

Address: 242 Northbourne Avenue | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pavilion on Northbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pavilion on Northbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion On Northbourne Canberra
Pavilion On Northbourne Hotel Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavilion on Northbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.