We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, thoroughly impressive atrium and rooms plus friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pavilion on Northbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pavilion on Northbourne to your Saves list
Pavilion on Northbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 Northbourne Avenue | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, thoroughly impressive atrium and rooms plus friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our family (all adults) recently stayed at this glorious hotel and we had an excellent stay. I chose this hotel for its impressive looking atrium and wow, it did not disappoint. The foyer is like a rainforest and is absolutely lovely, such a refreshing change to the usual 'trying to be chic and modern hotel foyers' that are now the norm. The friendly genuine service and attentiveness of the cafe/bar staff on our enjoyable evening meal was second to none. Beds and rooms were spotless and extremely comfortable -they geniunely do look like they do on the pictures. The free secure parking was the icing on the cake. Plus the hotel is served very well by public transport into the city centre as well. All in all a GREAT stay. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    192
    118
    49
    20
See reviews for
76
167
54
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed at the Pavillion as a "mystery" deal on a business trip. The check-in was quick and easy, and I was given a nice quiet room on the top floor, as per my request. I was offered a discounted buffet breakfast on checking in, which I accepted.

The room itself was pleasing and spacious, with a decent sized flat screen and a comfortable queen size. The bathroom was well appointed and very clean, however, the downside for me was the shower gel dispenser; I prefer soap to shower gel. The furnishings, included a desk/chair and arm chairs, all in good condition. Unusually the windows were able to be opened, which was great for fresh air lovers like me!

The centre of the hotel is a covered courtyard, filled with trees and plants. There are a number of dining and bar areas in the jungle surroundings, and it is easy to find a nice area to sit and enjoy a beverage.

The restaurant offers attentive service, and a good selection of meals. The rib-eye was orderd medium-rare, and arrived hot, and exactly as ordered. The meals were well priced and the menu was modern.

The buffet breakfast was the usual selection of hot and cold dishes. The hot food was of good quality, and there was plenty of it to go round. There were fruit juices and hot beverages on offer. The coffee on offer at the servery was best described as appalling. I found it to be undrinkable, instead opting for a black coffee from the Barista.

Checking out was hassle free, and the staff were again, very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

communication incorrect when booking. Dates listed were wrong. Also letter indicated paid in full. Also stated that offer included breakfast and lunch hamper each day. It also siad a $40 dinner voucher for staying two nights. We received the voucher and breakfast along with lunch hamper 1st day. Second day same but when checking out were charged $35.00 for hamper Reception said this was correst according to letter. We paid but showed staff that is not what acceptance letter states. Told staff they need to ensure correct wording with receipt given on booking

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Its not easy finding a good budget hotel in Canberra, with inflated prices for aging hotels and invariably poor reviews (some horror stories) on Tripadvisor. After a a much too long search, I ended up booking a "secret" hotel deal (so the price was right!) based primarily on location and parking (the hotel also offers offstreet 'security' parking at no additional cost) and was fortunate to end up with the Pavilion. The hotel is easy to find and quite well positioned on Northbourne, not too far from the CBD. The hotel itself is by no means new, but it was neat and tidy, as was the room which was a reasonable size, clean and well appointed. I was in the room above the gate entrance and feared that I might be in for a noisy night, but was only disturbed once by some late night arrivees looking for their room. The only one small niggle was with the refrigerator, which noisily rattled away in its little box cabinet whenever the thermostat kicked in - I ended up just turning it off. Stayed just the 1 night, but would be happy to stay for longer in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel was well appointed and excellent value for money in the heart of Canberra. It has a great setting and the reception desk were excellent in their assistance in helping to get me settled. The rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Front counter service was very good, like other reviews they tried to sell an upgrade to a spa room. I was very happy with the room, it was clean and comfortable, although an armchair would have made it an excellant room. The room had a window that opened the bathroom was good and had dispensers for soap and shampoo. No mini bar so no temptations to spend money, you had to order a minibar if you required one. All the food outlets were very good. It is only a three KLM walk into Canberra City or a bus stop near the hotel. Secure car parking is available free. Will be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the Pavilion on Friday 21st October and failed to be impressed by it.
First the acess to the rooms is not easy - lift by reception but stairs everywhere else.
The decor, while green and airly males it hard to find your way around.
The internet is by hotspots and require payment - even MacDonalds have free wifi - this is a rip off.
The Digital television service was "being upgraded"so not available - on a weekend when the two major football codes were playing finals - obviously not important to the guests at this hotel.
Breakfast was smorgashboard - but short on variety of eggs and quantity of other items.
To say we were underwhelmed is being generous - we wont be staying there again and we do travel to Canberra regularly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pavilion on Northbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion on Northbourne

Address: 242 Northbourne Avenue | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pavilion on Northbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pavilion on Northbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion On Northbourne Canberra
Pavilion On Northbourne Hotel Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavilion on Northbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.