We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   21 Stephen St, Canberra 2602, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
LOW RATE, GUARANTEED!
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The positives were: it was quiet, so there was no road/traffic noise, noise from other guests was limited too, parking was easy and was easy to find, we arrived at night. On check-in the receptionist was friendly. The towels were nice, new and large.
The negatives were: room had strong urine smell, once we removed the quilt cover it seemed to be a bit better. The toilet had scape marks in, clearly not cleaned properly and the bed had very thin sheets covered in fluff.
Overall it was just ok but for Canberra one expects a little better.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
We refer to your review. Unfortunately, we have not been able to determine which room you stayed in, so we would ask you to call our General Manager, Pat Young, on 6247 9200, to discuss your complaints.
Your feedback is valued, and we respond as follows. There is no possibility that there was any urine residue in your room. The over-enthusiastic use of bleach, by our house-keepers, may have produced the smell of which you complain. We have no idea what you mean by your reference to “scape” mark in the toilet. We are confident that our house-keepers are meticulous in their attention to their duties and that the rooms, and bathrooms, are spotlessly clean. Again, we would ask you to identify the room in which you stayed, so that we can look into the matter. In regard to the quality of the sheets, we continuously replace worn sheets and we can only think that the sheet in question may have been caught in a dryer with the new towels, which you have described, leaving some fluff on the sheets. We apologise for that. Thank you for your positive comments about the attitude of our hard-working and loyal team, who welcomed you warmly. We hope that you will consider staying with us again and, if you so decide, please call Pat ahead of time, and she will ensure that you enjoy every aspect of your stay with us. With regards – Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    101
    58
    17
    12
See reviews for
70
75
12
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

As soon as we saw it from the street, we new this motel was not worth the price we paid. We were then checked in by an unfriendly reception staff member who forgot she worked in hospitality.
Got our key and entered our "Deluxe Garden View" room which actually overlooked the car park and was far from Deluxe. The room was dark and dingy with a "Queen Bed" that must have shrunk before we got there to a double.
The extra we paid for breakfast was just a waste of money. Cheap sliced bread, warm tasteless coffee and cereal, "What a Selection!" (not).
I wouldn't be so harsh if it wasn't for the price, This motel is not worth anything over $180 per night and we were charged $240p/n. Working in the industry managing a resort offering full apartments, with kitchen, lounge, dining, double spa, water views, etc etc at $245 per night I cannot believe they charge us $240 for such accommodation.
Certainly would not recommend or stay again!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We refer to your review. You stayed with us during a week in which Parliament was sitting, and we were 100% occupied. The rate that you paid was competitive. All executive guest rooms have new pillow-top Queen beds, which certainly had not “shrunk”. We do not accept that the totally renovated executive room, in which you were accommodated , was dark and dingy. You booked a bed & breakfast package for 2 people, which meant that you were paying $10 each for their continental breakfast included in your rate. In regard to our breakfast selections, we mention that there is a selection of 7 different cereals, 3 flavours of yoghurts, breads (including raisin bread), crumpets, muffins, fresh fruit, tin fruit, 4 juices, tea/coffee & hot chocolate. Cooked dishes are available at an extra cost. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but you can be assured that our hard-working and loyal team make every effort to make every guest feel welcome and special. With regards – Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

A nice hotel. The rooms are quite spacious and comfortable (1 king size bed and 2 single beds). The welcome was friendly. The restaurant offers decent food. Wifi is included. I can't really talk about the location because I didn't visit Canberra but it seems to be near the town center.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muswellbrook, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Ok first off this motel deserves all fives. I'm not just lazy and went bang bang bang. We found the motel very easy to find and even though it was in the back streets it was still close to shops the war memorial and other key places. Because of its location we found it to be very quiet with little or no traffic noise.
When we arrived we were welcomed warmly and friendly. The reception staff were more than happy to help us. Once settled in we went to the restaurant to have one of the best meals I've eaten. The chief and waitress were both friendly and happy to take our order and even made a special meal for our one year old son. Our stay through out all staff members were very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this motel for both family's and couples.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
We owe you an apology for taking so long to thank you for your wonderful review. We truly appreciate the time that you took to post your detailed review. Thank you for your endorsement of the efforts of enthusiastic and hard-working team. We look forward to your many repeat visits! Please accept our apology again and warm wishes – Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed in Canberra and found it difficult to find a good motel. This one was better than the last but nothing special. It was clean and quite. Whilst touring we have generally been staying in motels where the owners are booking you in and running everything and the service has always been very good. This motel being part of a chain the receptionist who booked us in said very little and offered no advice about anything and found it difficult to smile! The bathroom was very small and we found it irritating that the fridge was packed with their products and left little room for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We refer to your review. The hotel is not part of a chain. It is privately owned and bears the Best Western branding, promising excellent accommodation and a high level of service. We take your complaint, about the surly attitude of the receptionist, seriously. Thank you for the feedback. We shall certainly take steps to address that issue which, we assure, you is not the norm at this charming property. In regard to the bar fridge - had you asked us to remove a few items from the fridge, we would have gladly obliged. Should you elect to stay with us again, you can be certain
that we will make every effort to ensure that you enjoy your sojourn with us. Kind regards - Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narooma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We found the Best Western Tall Trees to be very well positioned, very quiet and a great layout however we were very disappointed with the room we were given.

We had selected to stay in the Deluxe Room and were prepared to pay extra for the pillow top mattress because of our bad backs, this was the main reason for choosing BW Tall Trees. We arrived late, tired and emotionally drained after attending a funeral only to find that as we dropped into bed it was not a pillow top mattress but a standard (and very uncomfortable) mattress.

The room was much smaller than it appears online and was by no means a deluxe room. After complaining to the staff we were told that the room didn't have the new pillow top mattress put in yet - well then don't advertise this fact. Regardless of if you purchase a special or not the rooms should still offer exactly the same as normal price and exactly the same as that which is advertised.

No compensation was offered for what was purely the motels fault.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We refer to your review. You specifically asked for a quiet room and our manager made the decision to allocate a slightly smaller executive room to you in in the back wing of the property. We should have told you that the mattress was not a pillow-top, and for that we apologise. All, but a handful, of our 79 guest rooms now have new beds, and the last 6 are expected in the next few days. Please allow us to make amends. Kindly call our General Manager, Pat, ahead of your next viist to Canberra, and she will make every effort to make your stay memorable.
We apologise again. Kind regards - Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Just back from spending a night at Tall Trees. Big mistake on our part. Arrived to a room of blowflies. Spray provided in room but it should have been done before we arrived. Someone else's hair on pillow! Fresh one provided but should not have been needed. Room cramped. Bedding poor quality. Airconditioner not easy to operate and turned itself off. Night very hot. Room noisy with no outlook. No TV guide provided. Expensive price for no sleep and a sore back!!! I should have read all the reviews before booking!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
We refer to your review. Flies, on a hot Spring day in Canberra (the temperature on the day of your stay was over 30 degrees), are a fact of life. Our hardworking house-keepers do their best to control the pests, but cannot be expected to be on guard. So, we apologise for the intrusion, and for the minute hair on a pillow, which was overlooked. That should not have happened. In regard to the air-conditioner, we are not aware of any problem with the unit in room 130 (your guest room) and we also note that you did not call the front desk to complain, but chose to register your complaint on the net. Had you sought assistance with the perceived problem at the time, it would have been dealt with.
You certainly should not have had to endure a poor night’s sleep, even at the very reasonable discounted bed and breakfast package price that you paid. All but 7 of our 79 rooms have new mattresses (executive and deluxe rooms have pillow-top mattresses) and the missing 7 new mattresses are being delivered in the next handful of days. It just so happens that the mattress in your room was, coincidentally, replaced on Friday. We apologise unreservedly that the mattress was not up to scratch.
Lastly, you suggest that, had you read the reviews on Trip Advisor, you may not have booked with us. Your experience has not been that of other guests, as any reading of recent reviews will reveal.
Should you allow us to make amends on your next visit to Canberra, please call our General Manager, Pat, ahead of time, and she will make sure that you are looked after. Kind regards – Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra

Address: 21 Stephen St, Canberra 2602, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Canberra
#20 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality boutique motel in a quiet, leafy, central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ainslie
Best Western Canberra
Canberra Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.