We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Canberra” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   21 Stephen St, Canberra 2602, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
LOW RATE, GUARANTEED!
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good choice in Canberra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Location appears to be lost in the midst of suburbia yet is very close to all the sights. Close to a major restaurant precinct with easy access. Clean modern adequately furnished (with all the usual amenities and facilities) room with spacious ensuite - all newly refurbished. Efficient and courteous check-in/out. Value for money and worthwhile. Will certainly stay there again when next in Canberra

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    101
    58
    17
    12
See reviews for
70
75
12
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We booked a queen room with a cot for our 7 month old daughter. When we rang to confirm the booking we were told that there would be more room in the queen room than the family room. If this is the case then the family room must be tiny as there was very little room in the queen room. The bathroom was tiny, but at least it was warm. The TV cut out at 1am, not great when trying to relax after a day of driving. This might have been an automatic timer set up previously, but did not have the patience, or time, to look through the menu the next day.
The staff were friendly, didn't try the restaurant/room service as appeared over priced and we were travelling on a limited budget.
The room was clean and was cleaned daily to a reasonable level. Cleaning staff were happy to supply extra towels and blankets. Tea/coffee was refilled daily - basic but worth it after travelling all day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We cannot trace your reservation, but it appears that you stayed in one of our standard rooms. The family rooms are at a different price point and can accommodate up to 6 people. Because they are also fully furnished with table and chairs, there is not a lot of floor space for a crib. That is why, we assume, one of our very capable receptionists recommended a standard room. There are substantial Executive rooms available, but again at a higher rate. We can only assume that you were offered a larger room, but chose a less expensive option, since you say you were travelling on a limited budget.
We apologise for the problem with the TV. We had a technical problem, which has now been resolved. We believe that our restaurant is very well priced and that our standard of cleanliness is impeccable. We would hope that you will consider staying with us again, and assure you of our commitment to service and quality. Regards - Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations. The rate is very competitive at $155 for a family room , queen bed an two double bunks. Adequately sized room, nice and clean, tidy bathroom if a little on the small side. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room in the main building, roadside room. No problems with noise, traffic or otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

For a capital city it was economical with 3 adults in 3 beds! Clean, well presented. did not have all the extra add ons but when we were busy everyday & needed somewhere warm to recharge for the next days outing. Stayed 3 nights & was happy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is often difficult to find a motel/hotel that will accommodate your family if you have more than one or two children, that is under $200 a night, and is suitable for your familty to stay - that is not a backpackers! This had it all for us - two sets of bunk beds and a queen size bed for $150 and it was clean and peaceful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed on the long weekend - room is basic without that worn look, bathroom small but modern looking and bed was comfortable. Very quiet suburban location reasonably close to city centre (only with car - not sure it would suit anyone without their own transportation). Parking lot full, yet no late night or early morning noise which was a nice surprise.

Room Tip: Go with room on the 2nd floor to avoid overhead noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Travelling for business, was horrified to be allocated a room alongside a horde of kids on a school trip. My room - an executive room - was spacious and the bed was very good. But the noise: appalling. When I raised with reception staff that I had not been told on booking that there would be a school group right next to my room I was told I wouldn't be able to get any accommodation any where else! The higher quality rooms near reception are very noisy. Even without the school group, my room was very noisy day and night due to people checking in and doors slamming. In addition to the noise and the poor attitude of reception staff, my room was not made up on a day when I left the sign to indicate I wanted it done. I would never stay here again and will not recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Our records reveal that your partner is a government employee who paid a discount government rate for one guest. She advised us that you would be using the room during the day, and our General Manager agreed not to charge a supplement. So it is our belief, and we are happy to be corrected, if we are wrong, that this review has been posted by someone who was not a guest of the hotel, and who used the room for 6 days without paying. Accordingly, we shall be asking Trip Advisor to remove this adverse review.
We take issue with your generalisation that our executive rooms are noisy or, indeed, that the school group was unduly noisy. Yours is the only complaint that we have received concerning the extremely well behaved group that stayed with us during the period of your sojourn.
We have spoken to our General Manger about your complaint about the attitude of our reception staff. She expresses concern that you perceived that they were unfriendly. However, she would ask you to understand that our property was 100% full over the period in question and all that the staff advised you was that there was simply no other accommodation available in Canberra, Queanbeyan or Yass. She is sorry that you interpreted this as unfriendly behaviour.
You have chosen to damn our property on the world-wide web, notwithstanding (as we believe) that you did not even pay for your accommodation. That appears to be the new order to which hardworking, professional and well-intentioned hospitality industry staff and management are subject. Should you change your opinion and elect to stay with us again, please call our General Manager, Pat Young, ahead of time and she will make every effort to ensure that your stay is pleasant and memorable. With regards – Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra

Address: 21 Stephen St, Canberra 2602, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Canberra
#20 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality boutique motel in a quiet, leafy, central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ainslie
Best Western Canberra
Canberra Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.