We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent visitor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   21 Stephen St, Canberra 2602, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Frequent visitor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I've stayed there several times and have always had a downstairs room.Everything was fine.They didn't deliver breakfast on the particular day I was there once, so I had to use breakfast room which was quite reasonable.Good clean beds,bathrooms etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We note that you are a frequent visitor and are well satisfied with our service and our standard of accommodation. We do hope that you will continue to stay with us and assure you of the commitment of our enthusiastic, and professional, team to ensuring that your stay with us will always be as pleasant as that which you have described. Warm wishes - Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    78
    51
    17
    12
See reviews for
59
59
11
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked the "mystery hotel" on a well-known travel site and it came up with Tall Trees. Well, it is not a hotel - it is a motel. It is an average motel located down a quiet residential street.

While this place is not a dive - it is not excellent. The reception staff were lack lustre and unengaged - but gave us our room key without too much drama. The room itself was ok but there were signs EVERYWHERE. I recall one of them stating the steam from the bathroom sets the smoke detector off - so to shower with the door closed, and also not to leave the heating on when you go out (it was winter in Canberra). It felt naggy and unwelcoming. There was also a gross kleenex left on top of the shower door - but perhaps the cleaning lady could not see it. Other than that, the room was clean. The bed was comfortable.

I will try somewhere else next time we're in Canberra, and I will avoid the mystery room option when booking on travel sites. I am not a huge fan of surprises anyway!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We refer to your review. Tall Trees has a variety of room types. You must have stayed in one of our standard rooms. We also have over-sized executive, deluxe and family rooms, which are certainly not motel rooms. Had you expressed your disappointment at the size of your room and if there was availability, our willing reception team would have gladly tried to upgrade you. We are sorry about the "nagging" signs, but they are there in response to incidents experienced with guests from time to time. We will certainly look into that matter and try and reduce the number. There is no excuse for the tissue and, again, we apologise. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the property and that was obviously an omission on the part of the housekeeping team. Should you choose to stay with us again, please contact our General Manager, Pat Young, ahead of time, and she will make every effort to make your stay memorable. With regards - Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I rate on my experience so it gets 2 stars instead of 1. The reasons it should be 1, they allow anybody to park in the disabled spots, the place smells like a cigarette as people smoke on the walkways outside the rooms which I believe to be illegal in NSW, the downstairs front windows do not open and the air conditioning gets to you after a couple of days, the noise and smoke from the outdoor tables could get to you, no undercover parking, no luggage trollies.

My experience, we had a downstairs front room. It was quiet and we stayed for extra days. The beds are good and internet is free, but the smoke and the lack of disabled parking....

Give it a go you might enjoy it. It could be great. The following ratings are based on a front, downstairs room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We refer to your review. You stayed in one of our very competitively priced standard rooms. I assure you that we do not allow "anyone" to park in disabled bays. Had you complained to our front desk about that issue and the smoking outside your room, we would have immediately addressed both issues. There is abundant free on-site parking which is, unfortunately, not under cover. Had you requested assistance with your baggage, again we would gladly have helped. We do hope that you will consider staying with us again, and assure you that we will make every effort to accommodate your needs. With regards - Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have stayed in about five other hotels/motels within Canberra and have always had an issue finding somewhere I am happy with completely. This has now changed everything. Not only did I pay less than $100 for a four star room, but the room was spacious, had all the amenities required including a microwave, was in a quiet but very convenient location, had great parking and service. I have absolutely nothing to complain about, from the excellent air conditioning, to the free foxtel, to the additional fold out single bed, to the awesome design of the room.

Had I now known where I was, I could easily have thought this room was in a Rydges, Mantra, Novotel or other five star hotel.

Room Tip: No lift so if you can't do stairs ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write your glowing comments. We look forward to your return visit and assure you of our continued commitment to excellence. Thanks again and warm wishes - Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Staff was not very friendly, minimum help! Milk and bath-mat was missing in my room! Then the guests were noisy and drinking on outdoor tables next to our room, after making noise outside they made noise in the corridor next to our room. I was kept awake until 2 am! That was a pity because the bed was comfortable and the room was nice.

Room Tip: don't get a room on the ground floor next to outdoor tables!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We refer to your review. Your stayed with us during the Summernats festival. The property was full and it was difficult to control noise levels. However, had you complained to our front desk about the milk, the mat and the noise, I assure you that all 3 issues would have been promptly dealt with. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that your perception was that our staff were unfriendly. We are committed to excellence and take these complaints very seriously. We would ask you to consider staying with us again and give you our assurance that we will make every effort to ensure that the disappointments that you have raised will not be repeated. With regards - Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Short stay. Convenient location. Ainslie shops nearby for evening dtinks and a meal.
Clean rooms. The hotel is located in a quiet location. The staff were Friendly.
The airconditioning was reasonable quiet.
Overall it was a pleasant stay. Shame my trip was cut short.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to post your positive review. We do hope that you will stay with us again soon. Our General Manager and her team will make every effort to make your next stay as pleasant! Warm wishes - Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Cant understand other nasty reviews - we stayed for 2 nights and the staff were just great and responded to our questions the room was excellent and we would stay there again honestly I have stayed at several places in Canberra and this was the best for cleanliness and value - thank you very much - we could even drop off our bags when we arrived early in the day in Canberra so they wouldn't be left in our hot car while we did the tourist thing

Room Tip: anywhere really as it is situated in a very quiet area of Canberra but ask for a 1st floor if you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are most appreciative of your glowing review. Our General Manager, Pat Young, and her enthusiastic team make every effort to make every guest feel welcome and special. Your endorsement of their efforts is much appreciated. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Warm wishes – Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra

Address: 21 Stephen St, Canberra 2602, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality boutique motel in a quiet, leafy, central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ainslie
Best Western Canberra
Canberra Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.