We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chong Co Thai Restaurant and Bar: Belconnen
Shop 327A Westfield Belconnen, Lathlain Street | Belconnen, Canberra 2617, Australia
2 6251 9963
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 778 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The food here was superb. Almost up to Morks standard there. Service was nice and quite efficient. The greeting at the door on a busy night without a booking was very very pleasant. Staff seemed happy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    20
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Chong Co is one of those wonderful finds. The atmosphere is real Thai, the staff are all great, the food is excellent, and when you walk out it hasn't broken-the-bank.
The Pad Thai, ordered with chicken and prawns, is awesome. As is the barbeque lamb.
As I'm a bit iffy about the hygiene standards of ethnic kitchens, so I love the fact that you can see your food being prepared, through a glass counter.
All-in-all, a great little place to visit, be it as a couple or in a group.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful warm restaurant with authentic Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I didn't go to this restaurant with much expectations but came out of the restaurant with a very happy belly and a lot of change! The restaurant has a great atmosphere. A lot of thought went into the interior decor of the place to create a warm and relaxing environment. Food was delicious and plentiful. We ordered a red duck curry and pad thai for two people and we were struggling to finish the portions. After we placed our order the food arrived in an instant. The waiters and waitresses were very attentive, but it would've been better if they had just one more person on the floor - towards the end of the night they were a bit thin on the ground and it took a while to get the waitresses' attention and pay the bill. I would highly recommend this restaurant for all types of diners.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The food here is great. Try the soft shell crab with tamarind. The serving sizes are large so lots to share. Laksa was the best we have had. Service is great, prices good. Highly recommended. BYOG is always welcome and corkage is very reasonable. Felt like we were in Thailand, just the right atmosphere. We had lots of food, and the bill was $30 a head including the tip . Try it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yummy plentiful food, great atmosphere and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I cannot believe this restaurant is in Belconnen!
The food was amazing, best Thai I haev ever had in Canberra - and I think I should add Thai is my favourite cusine!
The staff were friendly and efficient, however most certainly not in your face.
We had two entrees, four different dishes and rice between four people and every single thing was devine, the rice was cooked to perfection, the phad thai had everything you want in it, the spice was enough but not too much in both the red curry and the chilli and basil dish.
Honestly, go there!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chong Co Thai Restaurant and Bar: Belconnen also viewed

 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Chong Co Thai Restaurant and Bar: Belconnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chong Co Thai Restaurant and Bar: Belconnen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.