We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnighy stay perfectly adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Capital Hill Canberra to your Saves list
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Canberra Ave. | Cnr Canberra Avenue & National Circuit, Canberra 2603, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Mona Vale, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Overnighy stay perfectly adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Impressive lobby, however the room although adequate albeit small and aged.
Comfortable bed and facilities, close the new Parliament House.
Charge extra for underground secure parking.
For the price good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Our promised bedroom refurbishment is as I write 90% complete; we expect to finish all rooms by the end of February.

This involved replacing carpets, curtains, bedside tables, coffee tables and repainting all bedrooms. The desks and beds were in quite good shape – we are really pleased with the result.

Thanks very much for your feedback, please visit us again soon.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    203
    156
    56
    43
See reviews for
148
178
39
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Staff were friendly, room was nice.
Bed was too small and we had no option to upsize on internet booking.
The room service hamburger was the best we have tasted in a very long time! Exceptional.
Decor was good
Fantastic access to local sites.

Room Tip: If you can choose between a queen and king room, please do. We did not have this option and the quee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hope you also enjoyed what was a great game, lots of runs!

I was pleased to read that staff were friendly and the burger tasty, always important to get the basics right.

Note your comment on the Queen Bed, to make sure you get a King I suggest you book a King Spa Suite which is typically only $20 more and has a much bigger marble bathroom with spa for 2.

Please visit us again soon.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Arrived and the incorrect room had been booked, staff error, not impressed. Hotel booked out so no option to move. Room was too small for our needs, however, was still a nice room. Spoke to Hotel Manager on our return regarding mistake, came to an arrangement promptly, professionally, we will be returning in the future.

Breakfast was great, pool and spa great. Parking easy.

Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Sometimes it does not go all to plan so “Service Recovery” is so important for us, indeed any business – I’m pleased to read that we sorted the issue out to your satisfaction.

We’re working to improve breakfast as a priority and the pool is certainly a great asset, great to see you enjoyed both.

See you next visit.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Be aware that you have to pay in advance and there is a surcharge for using a credit card. Apparently they want cash in advance for the room.

Everything looks worn - Carpets, furniture. The central foyer is an exception.

This used to be a really great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hopefully you give us another chance as our refurbishment is almost finished the result is a great improvement; I agree with your view that the bedrooms WERE looking worn and tired.

Regarding credit; we ask for a credit card on arrival and add 1.5% for Visa and Mastercard. There is no added charge for cash or Debit Card although we will require payment on arrival – pretty standard for the industry in my experience. Internationally it is often practise for Hotels to ask for a Passport as security, I have not seen this in Australia. Please accept my sincere apologies if we offended you in any way.

If you are contemplating a return visit please email me directly and I will do all I can to ensure your stay is up to expectation.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Clean and tidy, spacious rooms, but certainly is now getting a bit run down. Lobby still looks nice, but the rooms are "tired" as other people have said. Good: Bed was very comfortable, good location, free wi-fi (at least in lobby, I didn't try it in the rooms). Bad: Old aircon, bathroom small compared to size of room and looking old; you COULD NOT plug an iphone or ipad into the powerpoints - they are located on the wall right next to the floor so a standard apple charger won't fit - only place I could plug my phone into charge was the bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thanks for your patience; we will finish our bedroom refurbishment this month the result is very pleasing.

Currently free wifi covers all of our public areas and about 40% of guest rooms; we’re extending coverage to the entire hotel next month. If you like a bigger bathroom I’d suggest a King Spa Suite which is only $20 more – there images on this website.

For Apple users the power points in the bedrooms are I agree very annoying and today we ordered adaptors for all rooms so that they can be charged without a trip to the front desk for an adaptor.

Please visit us again soon and contact me if I can be of any personal assistance.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked a family escape to take our 6 yo grandson to Canberra to visit various kid sights in Canberra. Our family room was well equipped and our grandson loved the pool and spa. Our breakfast was included, the buffet was standard hotel fare, disappointed that the scrambled eggs were empty. If not for a huge thunderstorm we could have easily walked to Manuka to enjoy loads of international restaurants.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thanks very much for your comments; quite positive on location, room and pool.

I acknowledge your point about breakfast, we need to refocus our efforts here and will improve in 2013 it is a critical part of the experience that we need to get right.

Please visit us again soon.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Back when this hotel was built (1970s?) it must have been great- very large rooms and they face an internal garden with real and large trees. But now it is very tired and needs to be updated. The revolving front door doesn't work, there are no movies available on TV due to fault, my bathroom had large cracks in the floor tiles and water seeping from floor above. The wardrobe had marks under the handles from people's fingernails. Very good bed though and a good sleep was had. Breakfast was ordinary with juices not available on one day. A good 1km from Manuka town centre and no other close shops.

Room Tip: Dont get a room on the Parliament side of bldg on ground floor- very noisy (bar and toilet).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNS, General Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Was tired, now spruced up!

As of today February 15 we have completed refurbishment of 160 out 186 bedrooms so nearly finished. No more worn bedside or coffee tables, old curtains or carpet - gone. I was of course aware and frustrated that the revolving front door was not working for a few days (took a few to get parts) but it is now fixed.

Most important was great that the bed was comfortable and you slept well.

I note your comment regarding breakfast and am redoubling our efforts in this critical area of our operations.

Please visit us again soon and email me if I can be of any personal assistance.

Sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager
jon_ackary@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Capital Hill Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Address: 17 Canberra Ave. | Cnr Canberra Avenue & National Circuit, Canberra 2603, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Canberra
#20 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Capital Hill Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Capital Hill is the ideal Canberra hotel from which to base your stay in the Nation’s Capital. Whether you are visiting for leisure or business, you’ll find everything you need within close proximity at one of the best Canberra accommodation providers. This Canberra hotel is 500 metres from Parliament House, surrounded by the busy business districts of Barton and Parkes, walking distance to Manuka and Kingston, and close to most of Canberra's national attractions. The city is a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Capital Hill Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Capital Hill Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Capital Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.