We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“far from city centre but comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kurrajong Canberra

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kurrajong Canberra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 National Circuit | Barton, Canberra 2600, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 52 hotels in Canberra
Modena, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“far from city centre but comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The rooms are everything but luxury rooms, but they're clean and quite comfortable. The shower is ok. Staff is very kind and helpful. A good hotel, overall, even if not cheap, but still with a better value for money, I think, than many others hotels in Canberra, which is a very expansive city for accomodations. The position is excellent for visiting the area of Capital Hill, the most interesting part of Canberra, but not very comfortable for going to the city centre, which is at the other side of Lake Burley- Griffin. Busses to the city centre, anyway, are not far from the hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM1979_ACT, General Manager at Hotel Kurrajong Canberra, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel Kurrajong Canberra.

Your comments are appreciated, thank you for taking the time to do so.

If I can assist with any future requirements, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Robert McKenna
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    65
    45
    12
    22
See reviews for
19
43
29
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Booked and prepaid for a balcony room a month in advance. upon arrival greeted by a sleazy guy who displayed no customer service skills whatsoever. Was told the room was not available and was given a lesser room. No compensation and no other options. No food service on weekends despite advertising to the contrary - I mean what kind of hotel does not offer meals? This was all explained away due to the fact that they are going to "knock the place down soon anyway". Was told to enjoy my stay with circular hand gestures like he was waxing a car. Just an astoundingly bad experience. Stay well clear!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are good - just don't trust what you book and pay for will be available when you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Location is perfect for visiting the wonderful government buildings like National Gallery, High Court etc. Hotel was clean and staff were very friendly and helpful to a person not from Canberra. Great stay and definitely would book again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM1979_ACT, General Manager at Hotel Kurrajong Canberra, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel Kurrajong Canberra.

We do appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments and we hope to welcome you again to our hotel.


Kind Regards
Robert McKenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently went to Canberra to see the Turner Exhibition at the National Gallery. We decided on the Kurrajong because it was within easy walking distance of the Gallery and also around the corner from Ottomans - our favourite Canberra restaurant.
The rooms were clean but very dated. The airconditioning (it was really cold in Canberra that weekend) was so noisy we couldn't sleep with it on. At 6am other people started having and the noise woke us up. It was supposed to have free wi-fi but it wasn't woring and the staff were very unhelpful - bordering on rude.
I had very fond memories of the Kurrajong as I used to stay there with my family many years ago. I would not stay again.

Room Tip: stay at another hotel. There was no spa but the program would not let me 'untick' that box a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM1979_ACT, General Manager at Hotel Kurrajong Canberra, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel Kurrajong Canberra.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments. You may be aware that we have a very extensive refurbishment planned commencing late 2012. Air conditioning will be addressed at this time.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Robert McKenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I've stayed here a few times for work and always found the staff helpful, the rooms clean and quiet and the amenities good. It's centrally located, has free parking and it's own restaurant if you don't fancy going anywhere after a long day at work or exploring. Rooms have fridges and tea and coffee making facilities, ironing boards, wifi and flat screen TVs. Bathrooms are spacious and clean. Kurrajong also has great budget rooms on the premises which come without the frills (TV) but which are clean and do the job. These are exceptionally good value for money for budget travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM1979_ACT, General Manager at Hotel Kurrajong Canberra, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel Kurrajong Canberra.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments and are delighted you had a memorable experience.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Robert McKenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I loved it here ... what fabulous value for so close to everything !! I didn't realise it was a training hotel. The service I received at the front desk was efficient and friendly. The service in the dining room (Friday 2nd August) was outstanding .... I just wish I had got their names ... (I was tired !!).. They offered to see if the kitchen could open early ... and were very attentive and professional. The steak was absolutely divine .... one of the best dinners I have ever had. Not only was the steak cooked to perfection.... but the green vegetables ... were freshly cooked .... wonderful !!
Such a central location ... I will definitely be back !!! Free fast wifi throughout !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM1979_ACT, General Manager at Hotel Kurrajong Canberra, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel Kurrajong Canberra.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments and are delighted you had a memorable experience.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Robert McKenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Dead quiet at weekend - and no restaurant / bar even on Sat night! But very close to Manuka and museums. Nice old historical hotel imbued with political history (Ben Chifley lived here for 8 yrs, even when PM, eschewing The Lodge. He even died here in Room 205)

The room - a King - was spacious and clean with nice in-keeping furnishings. Good functional bathroom (thankful for the heat lights in cold Canberra winter!)

The aircon is older style and noisy - hopefully will be upgraded.

Parking is limited, but they give you a dash form to stay in the 2hr zone outside.

Although walking distance to the many restaurants of Manuka, on a night below zero, a car or at least taxi is an advantage.

I'd stay here again, for lication, quiet, and nice appointments at reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM1979_ACT, General Manager at Hotel Kurrajong Canberra, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel Kurrajong Canberra.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments and are delighted you had a memorable experience.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Robert McKenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kurrajong Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kurrajong Canberra

Address: 8 National Circuit | Barton, Canberra 2600, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kurrajong Canberra 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Kurrajong Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurrajong Hotel Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kurrajong Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.