We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AIHS budget rooms are good value for solo travellers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kurrajong Canberra

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kurrajong Canberra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 National Circuit | Barton, Canberra 2600, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 52 hotels in Canberra
Bathurst, Australia
Top Contributor
423 reviews 423 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
“AIHS budget rooms are good value for solo travellers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Booked a budget room for two nights here, not knowing quite what to expect, mainly for the hotel's proximity to the National Gallery, as the main purpose of my visit was to see the Toulouse-Lautrec exhibition. Pleasantly surprised. It is rare to find good budget accommodation in Canberra that is close to the main attractions. This is an exception. Comfortable walk to National Gallery, High Court, National Library, Parliament House, Questacon, Museum of Australian Democracy and National Portrait Gallery, and very short walk to a stop where you can catch a bus to the shops downtown. Can't comment on the restaurant, as I ate in downtown Canberra, in Manuka (closest shopping centre to hotel) or at the galleries. Bed was narrow, so the budget rooms are really an option only for solo travellers, but the room was clean if spartan and for a budget room reasonably large, with ensuite. Location is very quiet at night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    66
    48
    12
    22
See reviews for
21
43
30
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I really loved the feel of this historic old place, sure it is a bit worn and the rooms are dated but I enjoyed the meals and the general demeanour of the staff. Not often you can stay where a former P.M. lived.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Loads of history, cool and quiet, quaint, delightful reception staff and comfortable rooms where the windows still open!
Very enjoyable and so much more interesting than the chain hotels. An absolute bargain at this time of year (hooray the politicians have left for summer) and really easy to walk to the fabulous galleries. Not too far to walk to Manuka for dinner either. Good king size bed. Water pressure in the shower is fine too. Lovely breezes. Lots of charm and interesting history. We most definitely will be back. Breakfast was quite good too and reasonably priced, as was the coffee.
I could not get the wifi to work though that was a minor issue.

Room Tip: All quiet. Didnt realise other guests were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Hotel is as described - potentially a historical gem, actually tired, worn out and unwelcoming. Reception was staffed by one harassed person when we arrived. WiFi wasn't working and didn't work until late evening. Room was large, and more comfortable than it first appeared - by doubling the bedding on the king-sized bed I managed to keep warm through the night and slept well. Breakfast seems to require ordering from a menu with separate charges for each item (other reviews have referred to a continental breakfast but we saw no sign of that). After waiting 20 minutes for my order I had to abandon t, so went off to my meeting bad-tempered and on an empty stomach. Not what you want on a business trip! My colleague did get her breakfast but eggs were fried not poached as requested. Altogether, rather hopeless.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I wrote a review of this hotel over 12 months ago and this is my second stay at the Kurrajong this past weekend to attend a family wedding. It is very clean and in good repair with comfortable beds fabulous showers with lots of water pressure (not alway guaranteed!!), I really can't pass on this hotel. We stay regularly in Canberra and there are better hotels, but very much more expensive and not a lot of value for the additional cost. We love the Hyatt, but with three children and needing to pay for two rooms, it becomes very expensive.
The beds in the Kurrajong a very comfortable, our rooms were made up and tidied in the two hours we went out late morning and returned at lunch time to get ready for the wedding. I would suggest staying away from ground floor rooms around 102, 104 as these can get noise from the bar and restaurant. We also needed to put a chair against the curtains and the gap let in quite a lot of light from the adjoining courtyard. Parking was also a bit o an issue and we had to leave our hire car out on the street one night as the hotel car park was full. Aside from these minor gripes, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from ground floor near restaurant and bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charters Towers, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Comfy king sized bed. Room was clean and well-maintained. Food was superb and restaurant service was first class. Staff were generally pleasant. It was great to stay in an historical building - it has loads more character than any of the contemporary hotels. The foyer has very interesting photographs and historical information displayed on the walls. Worth a look even if you aren't a hotel guest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

It's a real shame that this hotel, so steeped in Australan political history, should be staffed by people who don't smile and aren't welcoming and where the food is either over-oily for dinner or absolutely burnt at breakfast. I'm not sure who owns the Hotel Kurrajong, but it is time for staff training in hospitality and cooking. I would love to come back again but for the price and lack of customer 'care' I can't see myself doing that soon.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kurrajong Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kurrajong Canberra

Address: 8 National Circuit | Barton, Canberra 2600, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kurrajong Canberra 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Kurrajong Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurrajong Hotel Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kurrajong Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.