We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Canberra

Save Saved
You added Quest Canberra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quest Canberra
28 West Row | Melbourne Building, Canberra 2601, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 52 hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We did a weekend getaway to see Floriade and stayed in a 1 bed executive apartment. The apartment itself is well appointed with a generous balcony, nice sized kitchenette, bathroom and lounge - very comfortable, clean and perfectly located in the CBD. Receptionist was friendly and helpful.
The only negative aspect was the noise from outside. The windows are only single glazed so all the rowdy party goers yahooing and shouting as well as the traffic led to a very disturbed sleep till around 2:30am. A dissapointment to otherwise excellent accommodation.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the street may be noisy on a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We are indeed located right in the heart of Canberra within walking distance to most of Canberra's best restaurants.
Noise can be heard on occasion from outside sources in some apartments.
We do liaise with the surrounding businesses to try to keep noise to a minimum however this is sometimes beyond ours and their control.

We do hope you return to our property in the future and we can on request try to allocate an apartment on the other side of the property.

Kind Regards

Quest Canberra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
12
15
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for three nights and were thrilled with the experience. The apartment was well appointed and extremely well located just of the main CBD. All the staff were fantastic. We have decided this will be our new base for our visits to Canberra to see our daughter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property and the team are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We enjoy interacting with our guests and if we can make your stay more enjoyable we will do our utmost to accommodate.
It is also fantastic to hear that we are your new base for your future visits to see your daughter.

The team are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest Regards
The Quest Canberra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austins Ferry, Tasmania, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a 2 bed/2 bath apartment with a lovely outlook. It was modern, clean and spacious. The staff were polite and welcoming. The only problem we had, as we stayed on a Friday and Saturday night, was the noise from the band in the hotel below. It did stop at midnight both nights. I read on other reviews that this could be a problem but our stay was only for 2 nights and we weren't charged for some extras we incurred, so I didn't complain.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are indeed located in a very central position with restaurants below the property and on occasion noise can be an issue.
We do keep in regular contact with the surrounding business and monitor noise when we can however this is sometimes beyond ours and the restaurants control.

We hope to see you on your next visit to the Canberra region.

Kind Regards

The Quest Canberra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The receptionists were so helpful and friendly at this hotel.
We loved where it was situated, right in the heart of Canberra.
The one bedroom apartment was roomy, clean and modern.
We stayed to visit my son in Duntroon and they were more than happy to provide another bed for the room so he could stay.

Room Tip: Ask for car parking as it can be difficult in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do indeed enjoy interacting with our guests, if we can make your stay more comfortable & enjoyable we will do our utmost to accommodate.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon on your next visit to the Canberra Region.

Kindest Regards

The Quest Canberra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I've stayed at Quest in Canberra on many occasions. It is centrally located close to interesting cafes and bars. The apartments are spacious and well equipped. But the thing that makes Quest a great place to stay rather than just well appointed and central is the staff. They are friendly, knowledgeable and always able to help.

Room Tip: Go that bit extra and book a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for your recent review of our property.
The team at Quest Canberra enjoyed reading your review it put a smile on all their faces.
We love interacting with our guests and if we can make your stay more enjoyable whilst you are visiting the nations capital we will.
It's all about Guest Service here at Quest Canberra.
We look forward to your next visit really soon.

Kind Regards
Quest Canberra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have spent the last few months living at the Quest in Canberra 4 nights a week. Most weeks I was in the same room which as I said, always felt like returning home. All of the staff were lovely and although I had a few problems over the months, they were always rectified quickly and with a smile. There is occasionally a few problems with noise, but I always travel with an eye mask and ear plugs just in case. The rooms are quite spacious and well set out and the beds are comfortable. One thing I would say is that I liked to set things up a little differently for example with the little bin on the bench in the bathrooms etc and the cleaners would always put it back to how they originally set it up. So my comment would be for the cleaners, if people have done something on purpose, still clean it but put it back how the guest has left it. The Quest is near some amazing restaurants - Jewel of India, Mama's, Asian cafe, Zen Yai and Lemongrasss and for breakfast and lunch Loading Zone was always a winner - try the muffins and bear hugs - OMG. All in all, if I'm back in Canberra I'll be staying at the Quest. Thanks to all the staff there and Mel, the Manager!

Room Tip: I generally stayed in room six which was my favourite. Sleep quality was only poor because I struggl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review on our property & staff members.
We enjoy interacting with our guests and clients and always try our best to make their stay as homely as possible.
Our housekeeping team understand your suggestions and will be more diligent in the future.
We all miss you dearly and hope you will return one day for a visit and a catch up drink or dinner.

Kind Regards

Mel & The Team at Quest Canberra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just got back from Canberra and had a very nice stay at the Quest. we did book a studio but were upgraded to a one bedroom.
The apartment was recently renovated and was a very good size, our apartment was at the rear of the building and was quiet.
We would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Canberra, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, it's fantastic to hear you enjoyed your time with us at our Property.
We love to upgrade our guests when we can so they can experience our larger apartments.
We really hope you come back and stay again in the future.

Kind Regards

The Quest Canberra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quest Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Canberra

Address: 28 West Row | Melbourne Building, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed within the heritage charm of the Melbourne Building, we offer apartment accommodation in Canberra with a range of stylishly furnished studio, one and two bedroom apartments. The majority of apartments feature large balconies, fully equipped kitchens and laundry facilities, as well as separate lounge and dining areas. Limited unsecured parking is $15.00 per night, subject to availability and must be booked prior to arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Quest Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Hotel Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.