We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for that little more freedom than a hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra to your Saves list
BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Marcus Clarke Street, Canberra 2601, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments Capital Tower)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent for that little more freedom than a hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

First time at break free Capitol towers- I choose acton for being near to ANU, plus easy walk across the lake to cultural precinct , and 10mins walk to city shops.
Self contained apartments, but with the advantage of very friendly helpful reception staff, gourmet deli/cafe across road for provisions , breakfast or brunch.
Comfortable beds; and great "room service" (5 local takeaways that deliver to one's room)- can recommend Chinese orchid,
would stay here again

Room Tip: Higher up floors better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomas-captower, General Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Thomas Lamond
General Manager - Breakfree Capital Tower Canberra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    74
    34
    25
    11
See reviews for
83
20
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Well there was 4 of us staying and we got up graded to Lake view room.
The staff are really helpful and the apartment was very spacious and well furnished.
The only thing I think needs attention is the main bathroom the ceiling is very low for someone tall.
But would recommend to anyone for a stay here.
Great location.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms and we had the 16th floor great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomas-captower, Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Margaret H, thank you very much for your wonderful review on our recent stay with us. Glad to see you enjoyed your stay an dwe hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Sam Parker
Assistant Manager
Breakfree Capital Tower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Despite great views, a spacious apartment and a good position I felt strangely let down by the Capital Towers. Only one lift was working and this led to lengthy delays moving about. We started having to plan for the delays. I felt sorry for the permanent tenants as the lift 'upgrade' had already been got on for over 3 months. The gym was okay but I tried the spa bath three times and it never worked despite me mentioning it to reception. The building is old, with narrow corridors and locks still operated by old fashioned keys. I would go back again if I knew both lifts were working.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomas-captower, Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear GPField, thank you for your review following your stay with us. We apologise in the short comings of your stay and I would like to discuss this further with you, please feel free to contact me anytime.

Kind regards,
Thomas Lamond
thomas.lamond@breakfree.com.au
Breakfree Capital Tower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We are currently staying at Breakfree Capital Tower Canberra. The rooms are spacious and our lake view room has beautiful views over Canberra. A perfect location for a few days exploring the national capital. Reasonable prices and the staff are friendly and helpful. Yvette and Dylan in particular couldn't do enough for us. We have stayed here before and had positive experiences every time.

Room Tip: Go for a lake view room. There is also some road noise so go for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomas-captower, Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Jenny F, thank you for your great review on our hotel. We are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us and especially a big thank you for personally naming not one but two of our reception staff. Also gald to see you are a returning guest so we most certainly do hope to see you again in the very near future, please contact us so we can assist with your next booking.

Kind regards,
Sam Parker
Assistant Manager
Breakfree Capital Tower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

OK this is not going to be a rousing review unfortunately. From a cribbed corridor smelling of old meals we found our rooms. I've seen more furnishings in a prison cell. Some of the furniture was only upright because it was leaning at a rakish angle on the walls and all of the furniture looked like worn mismatched castoffs. But then the whole building is all pillars and strangely laid out rooms. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with friends on the 6th floor facing the lake ... if you looked carefully through the motorways and traffic you could see water. The aircon was, politely, quaint but we did eventually find the fan switch -- but you could inspect the aircon dirt-encrusted workings through a prominent and convenient full length door in the loungeroom. Kids would have been into that little space with all its machinery. Not happy obviously, too expensive even had it been free.

Room Tip: Avoid the 6th floor, face the lake and go as high as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomas-captower, Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Jenny F, thnak you for providing your feedback following your stay with us. We apologise in the short comings of your stay with us, this is not up to our standards and I will be actioning on all aspects of your comment with the respective departments. I would like to discuss this with you more, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Kind regards,
Thomas Lamond
General Manager
thomas.lamond@breakfree.com.au
Breakfree Capital Tower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The apartment was such a delight - spacious, fully equipped and clean. The location was close to restaurants, buses and shops. Added bonus there were balconys. Sounds like a wind up but I' m serious.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomas-captower, Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear dongding, Thank you very much for your amazing review on our hotel following your stay with us. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the room you were provided with. We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sam Parker
Assistant Manager
Breakfree Capital Tower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This place is good value if you are planning a staying Canberra. It is walking distance to Civic and short driving distance to all the main attractions. Five of us stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment overnight. It wasn't 5 star, but it was perfectly adequate, clean and spacious for our short stay.

The bathroom and kitchen were clean. The beds were comfortable. The TVs were modern flat screens. It had secure parking. Some rooms have a view, but our room was on the first floor so no view.

No complaints other than the air conditioning, which in the middle of winter in Canberra needs to work. It did not work well.

Overall, a very pleasant and well priced location. we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomas-captower, Manager at BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear FredSG, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. Very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again, hopefully we can give you a nicer view on your next stay, please contact us should you want to make another booking to stay again.

Kind regards,
Sam Parker
Assistant Manager
Breakfree Capital Tower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra

Address: 2 Marcus Clarke Street, Canberra 2601, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments Capital Tower)
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the foreshores of Lake Burley Griffin, BreakFree Capital Tower enjoys stunning views over the Lake, the towering Brindabella Ranges and the sparkling lights of Canberra City. Offering a range of accommodation options, guests can chose from one, two and three bedroom apartments. The spacious self-contained apartments include a fully equipped kitchen, open-plan living and dining areas with most boasting spacious balconies to enjoy the breathtaking views, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities in each unit and a full sized bath with shower (some apartments offer ensuite bathrooms) After a day out exploring the city unwind in our indoor spa, sauna or heated outside pool, or enjoy a quiet meal in our large guest BBQ area. Tennis and squash courts are available to hire and all on-site car parking is complimentary. The property is surrounded by lush landscaped parklands with cycle and jogging tracks which provide the ideal incentive for a brisk morning run or early evening stroll. The property is within close proximity to Canberras CBD, government offices and the major tourist attractions making it the ideal base for business trips, family holidays or a weekend away in the Nation's Capital. BreakFree Capital Tower has a strict No Party Policy. Maximum occupancy and noise level restrictions apply as per reservation. Anyone in breach of this will be dealt with accordingly. All our apartments are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Capital Tower Canberra Hotel Canberra
Breakfree Capital Hotel Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.