We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good pool, little tired” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra to your Saves list
BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Marcus Clarke Street, Canberra 2601, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments Capital Tower)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location, good pool, little tired”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 19th floor (city side) and had some good views of Canberra. Other side would probably be slightly better if you had the choice - may cost more!
The apartment itself is perferctly adequate for the 3 nights we were in Canberra. Had all the amenities we needed, however, items were beginning to look a little tired. This was also true of the paint work etc.
Had a fixed head shower set quite low so for us tall ones it was a bit of a back breaker to have a shower.
Great to have a washer and dryer.
Would stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    76
    35
    26
    11
See reviews for
84
21
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The location is great with most things in the CBD within walking distance. Some of the attractions (a couple of fine museums) are also within easy reach. Higher floors have sweeping city and lake views (depending which side you're on). Got a good deal from the Expedia website. Booked for a single bedroom apartment but was given a two bedroom one on arrival for the same tariff. Internet was an issue - the hotel reception offers USB modems at $15 a day but two of the modems I tried didn't work. Reception was unsure how they were to be used and there wasn't anybody to help because it was a Sunday. Rooms are tired and need refurbishment. Sliding door of the closet came off the rails and fell squarely on my big toe – wasn't too sore or it would have ruined my plans to walk around the lovely lakefront. Light fittings in the bathroom had no covers so the bulbs were exposed. tiles are cracked and grout shows making some nooks pretty unsightly. Staff were friendly and quite helpful with directions to the attractions, etc. Apartments are well designed, airy and have good airconditioning. The kitchen is well equipped too. A little bit of tender loving care will lift the place.

Room Tip: Booking over the internet on aggregator websites might be cheaper though you might not get the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have to definately agree with go some where else, although the hotel is conveniently located and offer three bedroom accommodation it does not deserve a four star rating.
1. No Service after 10pm they advertise if you make arrangement with reception for the night manager to let you in after hours all you need to do is ring the buzzer. We had arranged for a family member to do this as we were not going to be there at the time luckily for them we were as they would have been left out side the premises in the freezing cold air at night.
2. Ensuite bathroom was full of mould and mildew and broken cracked tiles, with previous guests toiletries still littering the bathroom.
3. Carpets and furnishings old, curtains did not cover all the windows gaps everywhere to let sunshine in the bedrooms so if you wanted to sleep in you couldn't.
4. Dishwasher in apartment was not working.
5. Shower in main bathroom was a laugh because of the positioning and the lack of shower recess as if you had the shower on it would run all over the bathroom floor making it a disaster area if anyone happened to slip and fall and if you were over five feet tall it would only come up to chest height anyway so you had to bend to get wet all over.
6. No Austar, No Movies on Demand,No Foxtel No Internet, No WiFi
7. Charge of $15 per hour for late check out or part there of.
There is a lack of holiday apartments in Canberra and I never book anything under four star but this certainly can't rate as 4 star and if it does they need to certainly look at the rating system. In future visits to Canberra I will be looking at several hotel rooms instead of an apartment if this is the standard. We drove past another hotel near the park and it looked like a nice establishment to stay in and that is where I will go in future.

Room Tip: Dont stay in apartment 802
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Booked the apartment as we had a family function. The 2 bedroom apartment was very clean and tidy with excellent views of Parliment house and the National Gallery. With a full kitchen we were able to entertain our family. The Gymn as great as was the pool and tennis courts for the grandchildren. Easy working distance to the city and public transport. Great to go for a morning stroll along the edge of Lake Burley Griffin. Would like recommend for a family. With security parking under the building. You just have to keep an eye on younger which the balcony. Very happy and a great find.

Room Tip: For a new dollars more I would take the Lake side. As the views are well work the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The apartment we stayed in was awesome. A three bedroom unit all with views and enough space for everyone! Beds were nice and not worn out. Kitchen was fully stocked with all the appliances and cutlery that was needed. Definitely will try and use this apartment again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My family and I stayed here recently. Although it is in a very good location our room was dissapointment !!!! The room looked NOTHING like they advertised and the furniture is old and beds small. We had no extra pillows and the pillows we had were ancient. The shower was small and mouldy with broken tiles.
What Hotel does not have Austar, Foxtel or the internet. Come on ! WE paid a lot of money and got well, NOT MUCH.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra

Address: 2 Marcus Clarke Street, Canberra 2601, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments Capital Tower)
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the foreshores of Lake Burley Griffin, BreakFree Capital Tower enjoys stunning views over the Lake, the towering Brindabella Ranges and the sparkling lights of Canberra City. Offering a range of accommodation options, guests can chose from one, two and three bedroom apartments. The spacious self-contained apartments include a fully equipped kitchen, open-plan living and dining areas with most boasting spacious balconies to enjoy the breathtaking views, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities in each unit and a full sized bath with shower (some apartments offer ensuite bathrooms) After a day out exploring the city unwind in our indoor spa, sauna or heated outside pool, or enjoy a quiet meal in our large guest BBQ area. Tennis and squash courts are available to hire and all on-site car parking is complimentary. The property is surrounded by lush landscaped parklands with cycle and jogging tracks which provide the ideal incentive for a brisk morning run or early evening stroll. The property is within close proximity to Canberras CBD, government offices and the major tourist attractions making it the ideal base for business trips, family holidays or a weekend away in the Nation's Capital. BreakFree Capital Tower has a strict No Party Policy. Maximum occupancy and noise level restrictions apply as per reservation. Anyone in breach of this will be dealt with accordingly. All our apartments are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Capital Tower Canberra Hotel Canberra
Breakfree Capital Hotel Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Capital Tower Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.