We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation but chilly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Eyre St., Canberra 2604, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Canberra
Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great accommodation but chilly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment - clean and comfortable, large rooms, well equipped kitchen, good sized main bathroom but tiny ensuite. The only problem was having just one reverse air con to heat the whole apartment which was freezing (June) so it took hours to warm up. Other than that, no issues.
A bit more expensive than Pinnacles across the road but worth the extra

Room Tip: Find out what heating is available if staying during winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time out to provide this feedback.

Our team is delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. Yes, Canberra winter can be freezing cold; therefore we have prepared a good selection of portable heaters for guest’s bedrooms. I hope we have the honour to welcome you back when you next visit Canberra, and please contact our reservation team if you have any request. Heater or extra amenities can be put into your apartment prior your arrival.

We wish to meet you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
35
9
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great serviced apartment in central location in Canberra. Clean, large, well serviced, warm and with all of the features you need for a family touring holiday.

We were a group of five so two bathrooms and toilets were a bonus.

Good value for money.

Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time out to provide this review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. We are very pleased that Kingston shop has created a very inviting shopping and dining environment in recent years, and with only 2 minutes walk to Kingston shop, it certainly provide convenience and excitement to our guests. It will be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We booked this on bookings.com 2 days before and were amazed that we could find a place with 2 bedrooms for such a reasonable price. Beds were firm, which we all appreciated and the sheets were nice and crisp. There were kids above us that were noisy, but we were so tired, it didn't bother us. The apartment was huge with a well equipped kitchen with dishwasher, fridge/freezer, washing machine and dryer and clothing airer, the bathroom had both shower and bath, the toilet is separate to the bathroom.
There is 3 and 2 seater lounge, with tv and dvd player, dining table with six chairs, a private courtyard with small table and 2 chairs and ashtray.
Parking is available underneath at no extra charge, Kingston is a minute walk from the apartments and Manuka is a 10 minute walk, would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback, I am sure there will be lots of travellers appreciate your review.

Our team is delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. Yes, we are trying our best to provide best family value at this prime location. It will be our pleasure to have you stay with us again, if travel bring your back to Canberra.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We arrived late afternoon, the room looked fine. Nothing special, but adequate.
With a predicted overnight 7 degrees, I went to turn on the air conditioning and did note that the air conditioning was turned off at the switch on the wall. This is quite unusual as mostly they operate by remote. When I turned on the air conditioning at the wall switch, it made such a noise that we could not hear the television. I quickly turned it off.
It was plainly obvious that this was a known problem (else why would it be turned off at the wall switch) and had not been rectified.
We contacted the office and spoke to the caretaker who indicated as it was Sunday he would not be able to do anything until the next day.

On the morning of Monday, I went to the office and advised them of the problem. They said it had been noted and they would contact the maintenance manager and if he could not fix it they would contact the manufacturer’s service provider in Canberra.

When we returned late on Monday afternoon, I noted the switch was still turned off at the wall and when I turned on the air conditioning the same problem occurred. I contacted the office and they said the maintenance manager had looked at it and said it was okay.
Clearly it was not and once again we had no air conditioning.
When I advised the office they said it was too late to contact the service company in Canberra and they would do it the following day.

In summary, although we paid for a room with air conditioning, there was none!
I believe very little was done to address the problem.
On checking out I requested a refund. They said they could not do anything as we had booked through your site. I contacted the travel site and after 3 weeks am still waiting for a reply!!
This is far from satisfactory and unfortunately not unusual when travelling in Australia. We have experienced showers not working, TVs not working.
My advice to all travellers, check everything before you unpack.

Room Tip: My advice to all travellers, check everything before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your response.
Our records indicate we were not aware of any problem previously with the air-conditioner.
In addition, the previous guest had checked out the day of your arrival and nothing was reported to us. We did have other vacant rooms and we would have allocated one of those if we were aware of the air-conditioning problem prior to your arrival.
Our records indicate that when you reported the problem the receptionist offered a change of room which you did not accept. This small inconvenience would have resolved the problem.
Our records also indicate that you were then offered a cancellation with no cancellation fees, which you also did not accept.
Your check-in was on a Sunday, we called the external contractor / repairer straight-away on the Monday (as it was not a simple problem Maintenance could fix) and the problem was fully resolved on Tuesday morning.
We believe we addressed the problem as efficiently as possible.
I hope this clarifies the situation.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Kingston Terrace with our 3 small children in a 3br apartment for 2 weeks and overall had a comfortable, enjoyable stay. The apartment was spacious with very comfortable beds and good amenities. Daily servicing was good &
The lovely housekeeping staff were very considerate & obliging when working around our bub's naptimes, something we really appreciated. Our apartment was on a low level ( at our request as there are no lifts) and facing onto Eyre St meant a bit of traffic noise, but not enough to cause a problem to us.Our kids loved the pool, playground & tennis court and being walking distance to gorgeous Kingston, Manuka and local parks was a bonus.
The only negative for us was that the carpets, couches & curtains could use a good clean, and kitchen cutlery was quite sparse, we never seemed to have quite enough spoons!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time out to provide this positive feedback regarding your recent stay.
I have shared your comment with our team who are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Kingston Terrace. I hope you and your family had a wonderful time. We all look forward to serving you again soon, should your travels bring you back to Canberra

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had an overnight stay at these apartments in January 2014. It is ideally located near all the main attractions and has a lovely set of shops and restaurants down the street. Basic accommodation but nice.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Kingston Terrace Apartment and I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your overall experience.

I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

The apartments are spacious, comfortable enough and well located, a couple of minutes walk from the restaurants and shops at Kingston, with a slightly longer walk to Manuka shops. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Towels are changed daily, but cleaning is very cursory, even the weekly service. The quality of cleaning needs significant improvement. Wifi is not free, indeed quite expensive and complicated to use with multiple devices. For mobile phone users, Optus coverage is poor. For a short stay some of this would not matter, but we stayed a few weeks so we were especially unimpressed with the lack of thorough servicing and the wifi. Improve those things and I would give these apartments a higher rating.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

I here taken up your comments regarding servicing of the apartment with all our housekeeping staff, to ensure there is improvement on this area.
Yes, Optus coverage is very poor in Kingston area; unfortunately there is not much we can do about it. We do have package available with free Wi-Fi included, in case all guests who don’t require wifi are receiving the lowest rate.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments

Address: 16 Eyre St., Canberra 2604, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments Hotel Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.