We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient apartment for business stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Eyre St., Canberra 2604, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Convenient apartment for business stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I regularly stay here when visiting Canberra on business. The location is good - close to government buildings and the good restaurants of Kingston or Manuka. The 10 minute walk to the park or the lake makes a pleasant start to the day. It has a nice smallish swimming pool and a small tennis court. The staff are friendly. I've stayed in many different types of rooms there - on most occasions they have been quiet, apart from the one on the corner (traffic noise). All are spacious. The decor of some apartments is becoming a little worn, but I've stayed in worse around Canberra.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Kiwi-Leigh,

Thank you for taking time out to provide this feedback.
Our Kingston Terrace staff are delighted to hear that your enjoyed your regular stay, and we are looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Canberra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    30
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
36
9
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Family of 4, rooms were quite large & roomy, great to have a laundry room as we had been travelling over a week and great to get some washing done. Kitchen great, utensils for what we needed, made do if something missing. Lounge area huge & TV easy to operate, everyone had space for there own...........brilliant relaxing on the balcony.
The kitchen blind didn't go up and one of the lamp shades was quite wobbly, little things really that weren't worth complaining about. Keys took abit of wobbling in locks and would have been nice if the keys were colour coded so didn't have to keep figuring out which was what.
It was quite hot when we were there and apartment had air conditioning but would have been nice to have had ceiling fans in the bedrooms.
There was secure car parking, but was abit of manoeuvring as we had a big car (ford falcon) but it was quite secure.
If u r not into stairs would recommend getting a ground apartment, though u still hav to walk up stairs as the car parking is the ground floor.
Pool was abit of a hike from our particular apartment but we had no probs with that.
Would definitely stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for your positive feedback.
Items require attention will be looked at immediately. We thank you for bringing them to our attention.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Canberra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We went back to the Kingston Terrace Apartments after having a good stay there ? 3 years ago. This time around we found the first room we were in disappointing. Sadly it appeared dated and a bit grotty. The light shades were broken and some kitchen cupboards falling off hinges. Our room also faced the internal courtyard so was not very private. We had a very bright pool light outside of our bedroom which kept us awake.
We mentioned this to the manager the following morning and he said he would change it for us but this didn't happen. The next day we dealt with another staff member who was incredibly helpful and allowed us to move room.
The room we were moved to was on the second floor overlooking the trees onto the external courtyard. This was a lovely room and we enjoyed the rest of our stay very much.
This place is great in terms of location to restaurants, shops and all Canberra has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Amfasnacht,

Thank you for taking the time out to provide the feedback.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit to Kingston Terrace on your next trip to Canberra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Good location with Kingston shops/restaurants right on your doorstep. Rooms were large but furnishings were a little on the uncomfortable side. Certainly everything was functional but just not as comfortable as it could have been.

The room was quite noisy, unfortunately we had a room near the stair well and front door so everyone who came in disturbed us. Also on the negative side, no allocated parking spots in the car park. On one occasion we could not find a spot in the "secure" parking so had to park in the visitor parking. I get the feeling this location does not have issues with theft from cars but it would still be nice to have a parking spot that was allocated to our room.

I would have no issues with staying here again, but the apartments lack anything that would make me pick these ones over the multitude of others in the area.

Room Tip: Avoid a room near the stairs/front door due to the noise of people coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide this review. Your comments are noted regarding the stair noise and also for the parking space.

We did experience a very busy season during last school holiday, as we have 74 car spaces at the premises, we never had car space issue until recently, and some family has more than one car, taking up extra space. There were also a few family groups, who stayed close to each other, therefore children might be running up and down to the stairs created some noise.
We do love to have you stay with us again; we have another property Kingston Court Apartment just near Kingston shop, which is a smaller property at a very quiet location. or experience our newest property East Hotel on Canberra Avenue, each room contain double glazed window and doors. Please contact me directly when you visit Canberra next time.
Again, thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed here for a fair while with work. For work it wasn't a problem staying here however if I was coming on a holiday then I would probably stay closer to town then where the location here is.
It is close to the markets in the old bus shed and also the fresh food markets that happen on the weekend. (If you go on the Sunday most food is half price late afternoon)

The rooms are cleaned to a fairly high standard, there where a few issues with cleaning products left in the room a few times but everyones human and it wasn't a big deal at all.
The rooms are quite spacious and there is plenty of space to spread out around the room.
The pool and BBQ area where quite good, however the tennis court was miniature and wasn't worth taking the tennis raquets for.

There are good restaurants near by with quite a variety.
If I was staying here on business again it wouldn't be a problem however if I was taking my wife I'd be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay for the duration of your stay.

If you decide to come back to Canberra for leisure, I would like to suggest you stay at our newest establishment, East Hotel, Kingston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Apartments for a weekend. We weren't expecting too much and that's exactly what we got. While everything was there and worked it was just average, except the bed which was uncomfortable. What these apartments have going for them is space and being close to the shops and restaurants of Kingston but that's about it. The decor looked tired and the carpet and seats were a bit worn.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a high floor. There are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at Kingston Terrace. We appreciate the time taking to provide with your comments and we will continue to address your concerns, so that we can improve our guest experience. We do have to have the opportunity to host you again,and please inform our staff to allocate you on a lower level.

Manager,

Peter Bisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We recently spent four nights in a 2 bedroom apartment, and really appreciated accommodation offered.
Roomy, very clean, well appointed, comfortable, quiet, close to amenities and attractions, friendly helpful staff. Fully air-conditioned.
Easy walking to heaps of eating places, The Glassworks, and The Old Bus Depot Markets-which we rated the best markets we have been to.
Bus at door, but taxis quick and good value.
We had a ground floor unit which had about 8 steps; higher levels had many more with no lift, so be aware.

Overall, would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: If steps are a problem, opt for a ground level unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
The staff at Kingston Terrace Apartment are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay, and thank you for taking the time out to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the near future.

Kind regards,

Manager

Peter Bisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments

Address: 16 Eyre St., Canberra 2604, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments Hotel Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.