We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Eyre St., Canberra 2604, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent location and value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

On my most recent visit to Canberra I stayed at Kingston Terrace in a 2-bedroom apartment. It proved to be a great find. The apartment was spacious, clean, quiet at night and very well located within easy walking distance to the many good cafes/restaurants of Kingston and Manuka villages. Our room was full of light with the sun streaming in in the morning - just what you need on a cold Canberra morning. The apartments are spread over a number of three-storey buildings. Note there is no lift so if you can't manage stairs, ask for a ground floor apartment. There is free secure parking, and the staff were very helpful. I recommend breakfast or lunch at Silo in Kingston - very good food and coffee. Would definitely stay there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
The staff at Kingston Terrace Apartment are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking you time out to provide this postive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our apartment in the near future.

Kind regards,

Manager,

Peter Bisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    30
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
36
9
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed in a two-bedroom apartment for five nights in September 2012 on a work trip.

For starters, the service leaves a bit to be desired. The reception area closes at 7pm, so if you arrive after this time you need to call someone upstairs (who won’t come down or will huff about it if you insist) to get a code for the wall safe which contains your keys, collect them and work out your own way to your room.

There are no lifts so you have to lug your bags upstairs unless you are on a ground floor. I also found it tricky to get into the room as the keys are old and metal, not electronic, and I had some difficulty getting them into and turning the locks.

The room itself was OK, although the décor is quite outdated and looks a lot worse than the photos on the website. There is a lounge area, a kitchen and two bedrooms with bathrooms. The configuration is a little odd, with a large empty area between the lounge and the kitchen which could have been better used making the bedrooms or lounge larger.

My double bed was quite comfy although the person I stayed with was stuck with two singles in the other bedroom and did not sleep well. There is a digital TV in the room (in the cupboard, so you can’t watch it unless you slide the door over and block the other side of the cupboard) and a heater in the bathroom which is useful in the cold Canberra weather.

The servicing of the room is ad hoc, with wet towels left on the floor and not replaced, no hand towels provided, and beds hastily made by just pulling the cover over and with cushions thrown on the ground. I doubt whether any cleaning took place. For a place advertising itself as a ‘serviced apartment’ that’s not good enough in my book.

The location of the hotel is fairly good, within walking distance to the cafes and restaurants of Kingston and Manuka, as well as Parliament House.

All in all, I wouldn’t recommend staying here; the amenities and service definitely do not reflect the relatively high price. There are better – and cheaper – serviced apartment options in Canberra.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review, and I do appreciate your comments, I was disappointed to hear your experience at Kingston Terrace and can ensure you that meeting and exceeding our guest expectations in all aspects is our prority. So please accept my sincere apology.
Please keep my detail on file and contact me prior your next visit to Canberra.

Kind regards,

Manager,

Peter Bisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed in a three bedroom which was huge! Apartment was clean and had all appliances you could possibly need. Great value for money. Short walk to the Kingston strip of shops, which had excellent eateries. Close to attractions. Pool was freezing being April so can't comment on that, looked a little on the small side though. Booked the room an hour out of Canberra and no issues with booking in and room was ready. We had a balcony as well which had a bistro table, lovely place to sit with a glass of wine. Highly recommend this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: 3 bedroom apartment was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Saa 30,

Thank you for your positive feedback, all our staff are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Kingston Terrace. We are hopping you will be back soon to spend sometimes at our Pool and BBQ area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

breat roomy accomodation (2 bedroom apartment). Tonnes of living space. Awesome location to eateries and the best coffee and hot chocolates ( idyliic cafe) . Close to everything yet quiet and peaceful. glad that northbourne ave was full....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Scotto_10

Our staffs at Kingston Terrace Apartment are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay, and thank you for taking your time to provide this positive review. Should you have any request for your next stay, please feel free to contact us prior your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I was there for one night by myself -but the apartment is ideally set up for a family. Plenty of lounge space, storage, well equipped kitchen and bath etc. Everything clean but on the verge of becoming dated. Reception handed over the key and pointed in the direction of the unit, then arrived 5 minutes later to say that they have given me the wrong room. However, good location close to restaurants, shops etc at Kingston and Manuka plus bustop right outside.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Forans,

We appreciate you taking time out to provide this review, I apologise for giving you the incorrect apartment key on arrival, and we are continuingly improving the accuracy and professionalism on front office service. We hope you will stay with us again when you travel to Australia next time, and our team will try our best to make you feel like staying at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MENAI SYDNEY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Usually we stay over on Northbourne Ave when we visit Canberra but we needed a 3 bedroom appartment this time and stumbled across Kingston Terrace on Google. What a great find! A terrific big, comfortable unit with everything in it...except tissues. We survived that though. And no street noise...so peaceful! My only small complaint would be I knew when upstairs were showering, water gurgling down the drain, so keep the ensuite door closed! Close to lots of shops and restaurant but I recommend walking up the road to the Eastlakes Football club for a tasty bistro meal and cheap drinks. They welcome "Out-of-Towners"..LOL :)
This will be our choice to stay at from now on!!

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs stay on top floor to avoid noisy drains in bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear labrat2,

Thank you for your feedback

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Kingston Terrace. Don’t we all love Kingston!!! Walking distance to so many fantastic restaurants, shops and Lake Burley Griffin. All staff at Kingston Terrace is looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I recently stayed at the Kingston Apartments with my husband and two children over the Easter long weekend. The location is great - close to the Kingston shops, cafes and restaurants. The apartments themselves are comfortable but pretty basic and dated. Fine for families on holiday but not for business. (ie I noticed there was no iron or ironing board). All in all, I would stay there again for the location and price was reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear KirstenMelbourne,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.
It’s good to know that there are more and more people choosing Canberra for their Easter weekend. There are iron and ironing board in each apartment at Kingston Terrace, you may find them either in hall way cabinet or bedroom wardrobe. For your future stay, please contact reception or after hour number for any inhouse request. We are delighted to hear that you will be back, and we are looking forward to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments

Address: 16 Eyre St., Canberra 2604, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments Hotel Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingston Terrace Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.