We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, well appointed rooms, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The York Canberra

Save Saved
You added The York Canberra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The York Canberra
31 Giles St., Canberra 2604, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 52 hotels in Canberra
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Large, well appointed rooms, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the York for 9 days for work. The room was spacious and well appointed. Having a kitchen in the room as well as a laundry in a European Closet was a big plus. Other reviews have praised the location across the street from numerous restaurants in the Kingston shops and I echo that. The other positive in regards to the location is that it is within walking distance to Manuka, Lake Burley Griffin and also Parliament District. I will stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
17
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The room where I stayed in at The York was clean, spacious and very nicely decorated. it is across the road from the restaurant and shopping district of Kingston, 20 minutes walk from the Parliament House area. Buses are regular and a trip into the Civic Area of Canberra will take about 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not above the cafe / bar as these can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

An apartment building style hotel with secure free parking underneath, free wi-fi.
Reception staff friendly and efficient. The room we had was a one bedroom deluxe suite with bedroom, a lounge/kitchen/dining area and a bathroom (with shower over bath).
General fit-out was functional but cheap, except for the bed which was a kingsize pocket-spring latex offering excellent comfort & fitted with individual electric blankets. It was a great shame the bedroom was quite noisy from both street traffic and the renovation taking place below (in the building's cafe). AVOID Room 1110 (and I suspect 2110)!
Dining/kitchen area of the unit we were in was dark with no natural light.

Very well located and walking distance to restaurants and bars in Kingston (one minute), Manuka (7 minutes) and Barton (10 minutes).

Room Tip: Avoid Rooms 1110 (and 2110)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed there on 13 April for the Canberra marathon. Internet didn't work and the woman at reception was very uncooperative. She said that because it was complimentary, there was no ground for complaint. The reality is if a hotel advertise wi fi, I expect to find wi fi, and I expect it to work.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the street. Busy streets with cafes and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were there for one night only, in a studio suite. Would stay again!
GOOD FEATURES: - its layout and generous size. It provided a separate large bathroom and the kitchen and dining area was "out of sight" from the bedroom area.
Huge balcony.
King size bed, a small desk and a small dining table and three(?) chairs was also good.
The room would be quite OK for 2 people for a week, say.
OTHER COMMENTS:
As others have said - ceiling lighting is "not so good" directly above the bed. And that is true.
But there are bed side lamps for reading and more ceiling lighting and lamps are provided in the lounge area. May not be so good lighting, if you needed to do some work, but no problem for us.
The "kitchen area" is good, but there is no stove.
However, there is ample crockery and cutlery (for 3 or 4), a microwave, fridge and electric kettle.
Our room was on the side, first floor. Noise no problem.
Bathroom had shower over bath.
Weather was just right - so we had no need to test the ceiling fans or air-con.

Room Tip: Front rooms may be noisy (some have said) - but we were on side, at rear, where noise was no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The York for 2 nights recently. We were in Canberra for a family wedding so other family members stayed there as well. We found the location just fantastic.
The rooms were clean and the staff were really professional and helpful. Our room was quiet and the king sized bed was really comfortable. The suite was a good size. The kitchenette and bathroom were good. We will definitely choose to stay at The York when next in Canberra.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leura, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked based on the pictures presented of the units available and the location. We chose an Executive Suite as looking roomy and a bit smart. What a let-down. We needed a head lamp in the suite. The lighting was terrible - dark and improperly placed. E.G. One overhead light in the bathroom and it was behind you when at the basin and mirror. The bathroom was tired with dirty grout patches, edges of tile showing and the tub/shower was dangerous to enter and exit due to its height. The room's pictures are cleverly done to indicate more space that that which exists. The hotel room staff were very noisy at 7:30 AM making a weekend break just like a work day. There are absolutely NO accommodations made for anyone with a disability or physical limitations of any sort - no lifts or ramps. I have bad hips and had to climb a minimum of two flights of quite steep stairs from the car park to the room bearing our luggage. I will not go on even despite more issues to raise. In summary. the place is generally tired and badly needs a refurbishment. It is a pity as it located ideally near good cafes and is convenient as a base in Canberra. It is very poor value for money as it stands now.

Room Tip: Get a studio. Friends were staying in one and was light and well-sited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The York Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York Canberra

Address: 31 Giles St., Canberra 2604, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your The York Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Canberra Kingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The York Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.