We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Australian War Memorial

Australian War Memorial
Treloar Crescent, Canberra 2601, Australia
61 (02) 6243 4211
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$139*
and up
Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City...
Ranked #1 of 96 Attractions in Canberra
Type: Monuments/ Statues, History Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Australian War Memorial is a museum, archive, and memorial that aims to help people remember and understand the Australian experience of war.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The AWM will take time to visit fully, by the time you look at all the exhibits, visit all the rooms, see all the displays, and fully take it all in.
Unfortunately at the time of our visit the WW1 area was under renovation in preparation for next years centenary, but all the other areas to see, meant there was still lots to see.
The memorial is enlightening, and moving. To stand and look at the walls of the fallen, is to realise the enormity of war and the cost to the country.
In Canberra, the AWM is a must see.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,973
    237
    17
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drouin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

What an experience! A must for everyone to visit. It was our third visit and there were still new things to see. The staff are outstanding in their knowledge and guidance.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A fantastic war museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My husband spent three solid days wandering around in the museum and after I'd shopped till I dropped I thought I'd try this museum he was raving about... it was fantastic! The displays are moving and allow you a glimpse of the conditions that our family fought under. Really well worth it, almost better than shopping!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

This is an outstanding memorial to those who have fought to protect this country. A wonderful museum that is very interesting and can be fun. There is a great kids area. The hall of remembrance is a wonderfully somber place where we can reflect on the sacrifices of those who came before us.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

An absolute must see. Building is amazing, all areas are so well displayed & if you don't leave with a tear in your eye you have a problem. Only wished we had more time.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Australian War Memorial also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Australian War Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Australian War Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.