We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Canberra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Northbourne Canberra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra on Northbourne Canberra to your Saves list
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   84 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2612, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Canberra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent three days at the Mantra on Northbourne. Our room was clean and very comfortable. A king size bed and bigger than average motel room for a very good price. All staff were courteous and extremely helpful. It is close to the main shopping and eating area of Canberra and close to buses. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Lyn S,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us.
I am pleased to hear that the rooms and cleanliness of the facilities plus the location of the hotel were to your liking.
Furthermore thank you for the positive feedback about the Team here; I will ensure this is passed on to them all!
We hope to welcome you back to Mantra on Northbourne again soon when visiting Canberra.

Kind regards,
Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
andrew.lockie@mantra.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    153
    116
    40
    29
See reviews for
94
101
33
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
380 reviews 380 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were coming back from the snow and booked a night at Mantra on Northbourne. We visited Floriade the next morning and then went to the airport to fly home.

The hotel was easy to find, check in was quick and the 1 bed suite was absolutely enormous. The sofa bed was made up and laid out as we had requested in our booking.

To find a laundry in the bathroom was a bonus after being at the snow and not having easy access to a laundry. I couldn't find the washing powder (I discovered later it was in the cupboard under the laundry sink) so the front desk team were up at our room in a blink with more. Yay team!

The included buffet breakfast was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear mssell,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us.
I am pleased to hear that the rooms and facilities were to your liking, and furthermore that the Team here assisted in a memorable stay!
I also hope you enjoyed Floriade, which just seems to get better every year:)
We hope to welcome you back to Mantra on Northbourne again soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Thank you to the Mantra and the Front Desk Gentleman who gave us excellent service!
We loved the special which included a great bottle of red wine , late check-out and an super value price. We appreciated the help with finding our dinner restaurant circled on the hotel map....our taxi driver had never heard or Gorman Arts Centre.
And extra thanks for the room upgrade...we are still smiling days later and telling our friends.
Xx to the Mantra!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear DairyBelleCottages,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay here at Mantra on Northbourne.

I am glad to hear that the Team here provided such wonderful service and you enjoyed your time with us.

Our pleasure for the upgrade and we're glad you're still raving about it:)

We look forward to welcoming you back when next travelling to Canberra.

Kind regards,

Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed over the past weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our time. Came to Canberra for Floriade as I do every year, and stayed with the Floriade Package as it was greatest value.

The hotel itself is a little outdated, but it's location, staff, food, and facilities are great.

I have to say a big thank you to Anthony and Sam on the front desk! It's great to see young people still passionate about hospitality work (working it in my whole life I know what it's like some busy nights). Whether I called for room service, maintenance or housekeeping - one of the two showed up within minutes, no issue.

Will definitely return to mantra in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear m_wilson456,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience here at Mantra on Northbourne.

I am glad to hear that Anthongy and Sam provided such wonderful service and you enjoyed your time with us. Furthermore, it's wonderful to know that the food offerings, location and facilities all impressed you!

We look forward to welcoming you back when next travelling to Canberra and over the next Floriade Festival!

Kind regards,

Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Staff very friendly and location was very good for our needs. For somewhere to put your head on a pillow for an overnight stay, it was acceptable. Yes the bathroom was a bit dated but it was clean and all other requirements (fresh linen, towels etc) were there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Edward M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Mantra on Northbourne.

I am pleased to hear that the rooms and cleanliness of the facilities were to your liking and the location of the hotel suited your needs.

Thank you for your comments regarding the quality of our product; we will be continuing to ensure our rooms are clean and comfortable with a scheduled refurbishment in the near future.

We hope to welcome you and your Family back to Mantra on Northbourne again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
andrew.lockie@mantra.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Their resturant was excellent.Bathroom cleanliness not up to scratch+Exhaust fan not working.Locality was easy walk to shops and bus stops.Very comfortable.Staff very helpful and friendly.A bit noisy.




  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Julie B,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.
I am pleased to hear that the Team here provided such great service and the restaurant facilities and offerings were to your liking.
I apologise for the shortfalls in cleanliness and of the bathrooms and the unpleasant smell. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our hotel, and I am sorry that we have not provided this during your stay.
I have provided my direct details below, and if you could advise me of which room you were staying I will ensure this is looked into.
We hope to welcome you back to Mantra on Northbourne in the future.

Kind regards,

Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
andrew.lockie@mantra.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The good - very friendly and helpful staff.
- the location (for our purposed)

The not so good - the room (twin) - it felt like a dormitory
- the bathroom seemed very dated, and there was a strong smell of urine
- paying for internet access
- expensive breakfast and not very good quality

We were booked in for 2 nights but had an opportunity to stay with some friends, so did not bother with the second night (even though we had paid for it). A good decision.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear limetime05,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.
I am pleased to hear that the Team here provided such great service and the location of the hotel suited your needs.
I apologise for the shortfalls in cleanliness and of the bathrooms and the unpleasant smell. Furthermore I am sorry that the breafast facilities were not up to standard. I will ensure this is passed onto our Chef.
We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our hotel, and I am sorry that we have not provided this during your stay.
I have provided my direct details below, and if you could advise me of which room you were staying I will ensure this is looked into.
We hope to welcome you back to Mantra on Northbourne again soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
andrew.lockie@mantra.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on Northbourne Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Northbourne Canberra

Address: 84 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2612, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Northbourne Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Northbourne is centrally located on the north side of Canberra's CBD and a short stroll from the city's thriving shopping, dining precinct, business centre and many of the city's famous attractions. Offering guests a choice of hotel rooms, one or two bedroom apartments, all fully-equipped with air-conditioning, kitchenette, bathroom, laundry facilities, wireless internet, cable TV, in-house movies, sound system with CD player, mini bar, kitchen and laundry facilities (apartments), lounge and dining area, tea and coffee making facilities, large private balcony, ironing facilities and voicemail message service. The hotel ensures your comfort, with a wide range of hotel services including 24-hour reception, 24-hour room service, concierge, daily housekeeping, laundry service and foreign exchange desk. Guests will also enjoy the leisure facilities, including a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna and fully-equipped gymnasium. Zipp restaurant bar is a fully licensed restaurant and bar, located onsite. Offering an a la carte menu, Zipp restaurant bar is the perfect venue to enjoy a quiet meal or catch up with colleagues or friends over a casual drink. Room service is also available 24 hours for in-house guests. Mantra on Northbourne boasts conference facilities for up to 150 delegates with four conference rooms available for hire. Mantra on Northbourne also offers a dedicated Conference Executive who will assist you to plan and manage your next successful event, conference or meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mantra on Northbourne Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Northbourne Canberra Hotel Canberra
Mantra On Northbourne Hotel Canberra
Canberra Mantra On Northbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.