We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in central Canberra” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Northbourne Canberra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra on Northbourne Canberra to your Saves list
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   84 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2612, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent location in central Canberra”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I booked through Expedia what I thought was a 2 room suite but got 2 standard rooms. When we booked in I explained that I had brought my 91 year old mother and I wanted adjoining rooms so that I could be nearby if she needed me. The receptionist upgraded us to a 1 room suite and an adjacent double room that were entered via a common doorway, at no extra cost. We were also allowed to check in early as we had travelled up from Melbourne in the early morning. We had a room service meal at night that was OK but not really value for money. It was very convenient though! The bed was a bit hard bit the linen and towels were excellent quality.

Room Tip: Front rooms have lovely views of the hills. Suites have cooking facilities, dish washers and washing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Julie K,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay here at Mantra on Northbourne.
I am glad to hear that the Team here provided such wonderful service and you enjoyed your time with us. It's pleasing to hear that the Team assisted in making your family comfortable and that we could provide an early check in for you!
I appreciate you feedback on the quality of the facilities and have forwarded this to the relevant staff members for review.
We hope to welcome you back when next travelling to Canberra.

Kind regards,
Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    153
    116
    40
    29
See reviews for
94
101
33
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have stayed at the Manta Hotel on Northbourne a couple of times before and I have previously rated it as a good hotel. That has changed.

I regularly stay in hotels around Australia and internationally, so feel qualified to make the assessment I am going to make.

Whilst check-in was friendly and efficient, my extreme disappointment in this hotel was to do with the room.

I had room 411. Upon entry to the room I noticed a number of stains on the carpet. I also noticed a whole in the bathroom door which had been patched up but not painted. There was mould and discolouring in the courner of the bath (shower over bath) and marks over many of the walls in the room.

The bed was absolutely dreadful. I sat on the edge of the bed and it feels like there were pieces of wood in the edge of the bed. Easily the worst mattress I have slept on for many years.

I am not sure if the hotel is updating rooms and this room is yet to be done, however if other rooms at the hotel are as bad as this one, then I suggest people reconsider and find another hotel.

There was a split system air-conditioner in the lounge area. It was quite noisy. There was also a split system air-conditioner in the bedroom. Both were really old and noisy. It was really warm (unusual) weather and split system air-conditioners are noisy and not suitable for hotel rooms.

I was staying for work, however I get to choose what hotels I stay at and won't be staying here again.

I ate in the hotel restaurant the night I arrived and ordered a chicken ceasar salad. The meal was very average with the ceasar dressing just clumped in the salad.

I have uploaded a number of photographs on the marks on the wall. I took them with my phone, so quality is not great, but you will see the marks and drips on the wall. The sliding glass door to the balcony was also filthy with fingerprints. Tried to take a photo to show, however it didn't work.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Curfew156,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Mantra on Northbourne.

I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the standard of the room that you were allocated, especially considering that you have stayed here in the past and seemingly not had such issues.
I am sorry to read that the carpet was stained; we schedule carpet cleaning for all rooms on a regular basis, so I will ensure that this is brought to the attention of our Housekeeping Team. Furthermore, the general cleanliness of the entire apartment looks to have been let down, which I sincerely apologise for.
We have recently completed a full refurbishment of the public areas and hallways and to areas of the hotel rooms and apartments. We pride ourselves one the cleanliness of our product, but it looks like we have not come close to meeting expectations on this occasion.
We will be continuing to ensure our rooms are clean and comfortable with a scheduled refurbishment in the near future.
It was pleasing to hear that the staff was friendly during your time with us, but this does not excuse the issues encountered with regards to the cleanliness.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future under more pleasant circumstances.
Please find my details below. I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and then I can further address these issues.

Kind regards,

Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
andrew.lockie@mantra.com.au
Ph: 02 6243 2508
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Friendly reception staff, comfortable room, good breakfast options and great location. When I checked out and found that a rather rude person had charged their evening meal to my room, the reception staff where quick to rectify and pleasant and helpful throughout. I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Keljw,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay here at Mantra on Northbourne.
I am glad to hear that the Team here provided such pleasant service and rectified the issues will the bill immediately.
Furthermore, it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that the location of the hotel and the breakfast was to your liking!
We look forward to welcoming you back when next travelling to Canberra.

Kind regards,
Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was so disappointes when I discovered that my room was near the lifts, but I really shouldnt have worried. My room 1 bedroom was very large, clean and quiet. Rooms looked a little dated and could do with a bit of a refresh but overall I had a very pleasant stay.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Kyiha,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.
I am pleased to hear that the room you stayed in was quiet and cleanliness of the facilities were to your liking.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to Mantra on Northbourne again soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

When booking a hotel, I encourage people to look into an apartment stay. The Mantra nailed it on the head in providing a home away from home feel.. The one bedroom apartment was more than enough room for two of us - it's just a shame that we had such an ugly view of the building next door.
Inroom dining was good, although I would suggest to your chef that he doesnt use so much salt in the burger. Not everyone is looking for a salty meal.
Reception was friendly enough, but I would suggest an express checkout for those who dont need to settle any charges as the front desk was busy on Sunday morning.
Overall a pleasant stay and would look at staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear casmurnieks,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us.
I am pleased to hear that the apartment that you stayed in was comfortable and had a 'home away from home feel'!
Thank you for your feedback regarding the quality of the food; I have passed your comments to our Kitchen Team for future reference. Furthermore you suggestions of an express check out option have been taken on board as I understand there can be a wait during a busy departure period.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to Mantra on Northbourne again soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

It's always nice to stay in an apartment , rather than a hotel room. The mantra apartment we stayed in was huge. Large kitchenette, laundry facilities, huge bedroom, with a comfy queen bed. It was clean, and the staff friendly and helpful. Only let down was the indoor heated pool was out of action , due to ? Maintenance . Shame there were added costs for the underground parking.

Room Tip: We had room 814 which was quiet and at the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear sydney_0013,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.
I am pleased to hear that the rooms and cleanliness of the facilities were to your liking, and that the Team was friendly and helpful.
Please accept my apologies for the closing of the pool facilities. We had to urgently replace the pool pump and the new one did not arrive in time for the weekend. We had alternate arrangements for pool access with another facility just up the road from us, however I am sorry for the inconvenience this caused.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to Mantra on Northbourne again soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just stayed at Mantra on Northbourne with my young family. We found the location perfect for our needs and only a short stroll from a great selection of restaurants and cafes. The kitchen is suitable to cook a meal and as we have young children it was very useful as were the laundry facilities.

Staff were very helpful and eager to please.

Would recommend this hotel to any family and we will stay again - thanks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewlockie, General Manager at Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your wedding function here at Mantra on Northbourne.
I am glad to hear that the Team here provided such wonderful service and you enjoyed your time with us. It's also great to see that the apartments suited the needs of your family.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next travelling to Canberra.

Kind regards,
Andrew Lockie
General Manager
Mantra on Northbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on Northbourne Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Northbourne Canberra

Address: 84 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2612, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Northbourne Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Northbourne is centrally located on the north side of Canberra's CBD and a short stroll from the city's thriving shopping, dining precinct, business centre and many of the city's famous attractions. Offering guests a choice of hotel rooms, one or two bedroom apartments, all fully-equipped with air-conditioning, kitchenette, bathroom, laundry facilities, wireless internet, cable TV, in-house movies, sound system with CD player, mini bar, kitchen and laundry facilities (apartments), lounge and dining area, tea and coffee making facilities, large private balcony, ironing facilities and voicemail message service. The hotel ensures your comfort, with a wide range of hotel services including 24-hour reception, 24-hour room service, concierge, daily housekeeping, laundry service and foreign exchange desk. Guests will also enjoy the leisure facilities, including a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna and fully-equipped gymnasium. Zipp restaurant bar is a fully licensed restaurant and bar, located onsite. Offering an a la carte menu, Zipp restaurant bar is the perfect venue to enjoy a quiet meal or catch up with colleagues or friends over a casual drink. Room service is also available 24 hours for in-house guests. Mantra on Northbourne boasts conference facilities for up to 150 delegates with four conference rooms available for hire. Mantra on Northbourne also offers a dedicated Conference Executive who will assist you to plan and manage your next successful event, conference or meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mantra on Northbourne Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Northbourne Canberra Hotel Canberra
Mantra On Northbourne Hotel Canberra
Canberra Mantra On Northbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Northbourne Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.