We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of QT Canberra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added QT Canberra to your Saves list
QT Canberra
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 London Circuit, Canberra 2601, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here on business for 2 nights. The location is great and close to everything I need. Checking is quick and the staff friendly. The room is modern and very comfortable.

The only negative was that the mattress cover was not a fitted sheet and was also not big enough to cover the mattress, so I constantly had to pull the sheet over the mattress. I think that they could seriously have mattress covers big enough to at least cover the mattress.

Other than that, it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    220
    84
    19
    9
See reviews for
54
141
30
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

When you arrive late you sometimes have to take what you can get. By chance, this was a great find and a great price offer as well. A very comfortable and modern room, and probably the best nights sleep in an extremely comfortable bed. The view at sunrise over a crisp Canberra is lovely from the 8th floor.

The restaurant off the lobby offers a wide menu selection and the staff were most delightful. Evening meal was worth every cent.

Lakeside is one of the better Rydges properties I have stayed with.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toolamba, victoria
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I've stayed here a few times for work trips. It's location is quite central, being close to the lake and to several decent restaurants. The most recent visit I had a room on the second floor overlooking the circuit.

The room itself was clean and quite comfortable. The noise from the road outside was minimal. The breakfast included in the price was a full buffet and was pretty good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Upon arriving at Rydges Lakeside Canberra, we were immediately impressed by the central location, proximity to the lake, and easy access to most of Canberra's attractions. However, the room and facilities at this hotel are best described as "average". Nothing special, but nothing to complain about either.

The room itself was large and featured a king size bed, balcony and the usual facilities. The bathroom was small and had been renovated recently, the result was a modern, but fairly basic offering.

Unfortunately, we found that car parking at this hotel can be an issue. There may not be enough spaces for everybody! However, if you are able to secure a space in the hotel's secure undercover parking, there are no complaints.

The staff at the hotel were courteous and helpful, but not exceptional. Overall, our stay was enjoyable and pleasant, but this hotel is nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The hotel is being renovated at the moment, eating breakfast was like being in a construction zone. The lifts are slow as one is out of action due to the renovations. Half of the front the hotel is closed off and you have to enter the car park from the back of the hotel, which no one advised me off. Found that one out when I came back to park for the evening. I have stayed here for the last five times I have been here for work. I will not stay here next time as the renovations will still be happening.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Rydges Lakeside is a five-minute stroll into Canberra City Centre. Our room for three nights was clean and comfortably furnished. We opted to enjoy a leisurely breakfast each morning before we ventured out to explore the many national sites. We found the staff very helpful, well-informed and courteous. As a couple of senior independent travellers who have just returned from three months wandering around Europe, we would rate Rydges Lakeside highly for service and accommodation.

Room Tip: Room 701 is lovely and quiet and does not get the afternoon and evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We were self driving from Sydney to Canberra, never been to Canberra, and stayed a night in this hotel that has its own car park. Also public parking is available across for free at night. Room was comfortable with no lake views, rates were reasonable. Staff were friendly. A lake a short walk away was beautiful in the late afternoon. A good place to stay if you are on a short visit.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to QT Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Canberra

Address: 1 London Circuit, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Canberra
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#10 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#14 Family Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QT Canberra sits within the iconic Lakeside hotel that has been the scene of many a handshake deal and long lunch. In the great tradition of Australian politics we do business with a wink and a nod and know that after a gruelling day of question time (from the kids or the leader of the opposition) you need a place to put your feet up an a soft bed to fall into. Our 205 guest suites are kitted out with designer decor and all the business savvy mod cons we know you need to get the job done. Expect a seamless technology offering and a team geared to assist you with any left-field requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your QT Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeside Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Lakeside Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Lakeside Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage QT Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.