We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuesday in Canberra” 4 of 5 stars
Review of QT Canberra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added QT Canberra to your Saves list
QT Canberra
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 London Circuit, Canberra 2601, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Tuesday in Canberra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Business trip with my wife to Canberra. Booked the Queen room with breakfast. As a Rydges member I get a free drink. After dinner we went to the bar for a drink - Cahoots - the barman, Ryan (I think) was excellent. Made my wife a great cocktail with Bourbon - and showed us some of the top shelve bourbons. Took the time to explain the drinks - so next time we may try some of them. Breakfast the next morning was an absolute treat - I stay at this hotel for the great breakfast. Rooms a bit dated - so some update of corridors and rooms not a bad idea.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    223
    85
    19
    9
See reviews for
54
142
31
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in December. Rooms are a bit small but well decorated and comfortable. If you plan to eat in the hotel for dinner you need to make a reservation. We were advised the restaurant was fully booked and that they couldn't seat us for 2 hours, I found this strange as there were loads of empty tables.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

I had accidentally booked for the weekend one wrrk after my arrival in Canberra.
Even though I booked the cheapest and completely inflexible/non-changeable room rate, the lovely Olivia at reception not only got me a room, but also upgraded my room.
All without any additional charge over the great rate I had paid.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Good stay at Rydges Lakeside. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, especially at reception. Room was very spacious but had no spy hole in the door which may concern some travellers. Room service was served quickly but was cold, which was a shame as my flight to Canberra had not loaded sufficient catering, so I was starving when I arrived. It was tasty, but cold. Good location for a morning walk although options for breakfast on a Sunday are limited in the immediate vicinity, but a 10 minute walk into town provides plenty if you don't want to dine in. There is a coffee shop outside the back entrance of the hotel for a proper coffee fix if required but it was super busy on Sunday so no chance of a table.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay. Everything you would expect from a high class hotel. Conveniently located right beside Lake Burley Griffin. We enjoyed lovely morning walks by the lake before getting around to the business of the day, and even took the time to hire a little paddle boat when we had a gap in our itinerary. Right behind it there is an excellent little shop that sells everything you need to make your stay comfortable. The bar at this hotel has a wall dedicated to photographs of former Prime Ministers which is interesting for history buffs. Take a tip and join the free Priority guest programme. We dined in the bar downstairs one night and shared some wine and a magnificent seafood platter. Got a 20% discount because of the Priority programme. Would definitely stay there and eat there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here for the night on our way to Sydney... We were really impressed by the layout of the room. It has a nice place for work, as well as a place for reading.... Nice...

The view is nice, our room is facing the city hill, so you can just imagine the nice landscape... I enjoyed my stay here thoroughly. It is fitted with basic toilet amenities, spacious toilet too.

There is no swimming pool on site though, however, they have coin-operated washing machine, if you need to do your laundry.

The hotel is going through some form of upgrading but it is not noisy, neither does it inconvenient me, so I am fine.

Will definitely choose this hotel again when I visit Canberra in future!

Room Tip: If you do not want the morning sun, do ask for the room facing away from the city hill..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The most comfortable beds you will find, room service was very good, well appointed room with mice shower.great location in central city. Had twin room, reasonably spacious with balcony. Happy to stay here again

Room Tip: No pool, had no kids with us so can not rate,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to QT Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Canberra

Address: 1 London Circuit, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Canberra
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#10 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#15 Family Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QT Canberra sits within the iconic Lakeside hotel that has been the scene of many a handshake deal and long lunch. In the great tradition of Australian politics we do business with a wink and a nod and know that after a gruelling day of question time (from the kids or the leader of the opposition) you need a place to put your feet up an a soft bed to fall into. Our 205 guest suites are kitted out with designer decor and all the business savvy mod cons we know you need to get the job done. Expect a seamless technology offering and a team geared to assist you with any left-field requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your QT Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeside Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Lakeside Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Lakeside Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage QT Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.