We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent Canberra Quality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of QT Canberra

Save Saved
You added QT Canberra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
QT Canberra
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 London Circuit, Canberra 2601, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 52 hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Consistent Canberra Quality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at Rydges Lakeside on numerous occasions and am yet to be disappointed. The hotel is clean and modern, the rooms recently renovated and the facilities are excellent. The Canberra CBD is within walking distance (about 20 minutes) but more importantly the hotel is a beautiful wander around the lake to the highlights of Canberra including the Library (30 minutes), Portrait Gallery (40 minutes) and Art Gallery (45 minutes).

The hotel staff are excellent and always willing to assist (especially Sascha who mixes upthe best cocktails in Canberra - My partner is addicted to the 'Hudson'). The restaurant and bar are fantastic (make sure you join the free Rydges priority guest club and you get at least 20% off everything).

Overall, in my opinion, it's one of Canberra's best offerings!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    176
    68
    14
    9
See reviews for
38
116
25
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel location is interesting if you have a room with view on the lake, but if you want to go down town you need a car or walk a bit. The room is well equiped and comfortable, clean. The restaurant is a plus, good food and fantastic breakfast . The bar has a real good choice of beers and excellent choice of wines! The staff members are professional and friendly, always helpful. Like in most hotels in Australia, the price of internet access is ridiculous. I got the parking for free which was much appreciated. If you want to organise a seminar or any kind of workshop, it is a good venue. Weak point, I had to ask to change room, mine was close to a fan making a lot of noise during night. Well it was not a problem so far, I got a better room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Friendly helpful reception staff, nice clean room with view of lake and parliament house from our balcony. Great breakfast. Very central. Enjoyed great price and late checkout as a member of free Rydges Priority club. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here in August for one night on business. Hotel has had a recent renovation and is quite comfortable. Location is close to everything and I enjoyed the buffet breakfast.
The highlight was the ultra comfortable bed, which allowed someone who often doesn't sleep the first night in a new hotel to have 7 or 8 peaceful hours of rest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Very glad to say that it is trustworthy about the hotel's completed refurbishment. Stayed on two occasions; rooms are very nicely presented and bathrooms are very clean and pretty. I brought my own disposable slippers (collected from Asian hotels, since Australian hotels just won't provide these) and that completes my relaxation in a pretty room - being an Asian, cannot relax wearing shoes in the room, and cannot relax barefoot either; that's why Asian hotels (intelligently) provide disposable slippers, which makes all nationalities happy and grateful. Ate dinner on both occasions in the in-house restaurant; glad to have 20% discount for RydgesPriorityReward member.

Room Tip: Request room with views of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable hotel a short walk from the centre of Canberra. Looks to have been refurbished recently, very clean and the most comfortable hotel bed ever! Nice breakfast menu and good choice at dinner.. Plus some tempting desserts for those who want a little extra indulgence!
Would recommend

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My mother and I booked this hotel sight unseen. We were very happy with everything, the staff were friendly,helpful and courteous at all times. Our room was clean and well stocked, with beds to die for they were like sleeping in marshmallow ( I actually pulled sheets up to take a photo of mattress brand so I can buy one the same, mum wants one also). The breakfast was really impressive as far as buffets go. Your omelette or eggs were cooked for you the way you like them straight away by a chef at a service bar. Parking was so easy and not to expensive. I will definitely
stay here again on our next visit to Canberra. Next time I can leave my pillow at home as the pillows were also luxurious.

Room Tip: We had a basic room and it was great, couldn't fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to QT Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Canberra

Address: 1 London Circuit, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Canberra
#9 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#13 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Canberra 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QT Canberra sits within the iconic Lakeside hotel that has been the scene of many a handshake deal and long lunch. In the great tradition of Australian politics we do business with a wink and a nod and know that after a gruelling day of question time (from the kids or the leader of the opposition) you need a place to put your feet up an a soft bed to fall into. Our 205 guest suites are kitted out with designer decor and all the business savvy mod cons we know you need to get the job done. Expect a seamless technology offering and a team geared to assist you with any left-field requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your QT Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeside Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Lakeside Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Lakeside Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage QT Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.