We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a Canberra weekend break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Canberra

Save Saved
You added Novotel Canberra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Canberra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2612, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking Offer
Ranked #7 of 52 hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a Canberra weekend break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I chose this hotel because of my AdvantagePlus membership but not really taking note of where it was. As it turned out it was perfect. It is situated on the main road through the City from Sydney and also if you are coming in from the south of the City. Car parking is easily found at the rear. It is only 5 minutes, 2 blocks away from the Canberra Shopping Mall which is extensive and good quality for those needing some retail therapy. The staff everywhere were most helpful and friendly particularly in the bar and dining room. The only point of note was that there was a tendency to start closing up the restaurant in the evening and breakfast half an hour before their advertised times. Carpeting in the hallways on our Level 3 was stained and needed cleaning.

Room Tip: A room at the back would be quieter but having said that there is not much traffic in Canberra durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    585
    1,045
    424
    93
    41
See reviews for
652
780
229
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I made the mistake of booking two nights at another hotel on recommendation by a friend. I stayed one night and checked out immediately the following morning as I couldn't bear to spend another night there. Fortunately enough I was able to make a reservation at the Novotel. It was the best thing I did.
The hotel staff were welcoming and efficient. Great location. The room was spotless and quiet. I made good use of the gym. The room service I ordered was delicious. Bed extremely comfortable. There was valet car parking. Basically I could not find fault with this hotel if I tried.
From now on when I travel to Canberra this is the hotel of choice for me.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Excellent establishment... wasn't too crowded, excellent & friendly service combined with great restaurant. Art gallery exhibition was the last minute reason to go to Canberra... we went for a walk in the morning (around the lake) after asking for a late checkout - no problem ... and we then happened to stumble across the annual Floriade which started that day also !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCanberra, Front Office Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear manager511
Thank you for your kind review. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests enjoyed their stay with us at the Novotel Canberra and that we were able to fulfill your needs. Our location to the city as well as Floriade is definitely convenient for all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I've tried out a few hotels in Canberra, and wasn't expecting much from the Novotel, but I really liked it! Very comfy and cosy, nice bathroom - expensive of course, as everything is in Canberra - but good value. Think this will be my choice from now on.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Front desk service was average with one staff member carrying out checkins and a furtherr 2 staff having a discussion at the end of the counter. When they attended the counter the service was friendly.

Room was only a basic room and was adequate and reasonable value for cost. Following morning I wanted to use the hairdryer but unfortunately there was no hairdryer in the room. I reported this to the desk on checkout only to be told I probably did not see the hairdryer in the wardrode. I assured the young lady I checked as the defuser was there but no hairdryer. A small matter.
Location is excellent and I would utilise the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Canberra

Address: 65 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2612, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#7 Family Hotel in Canberra
#7 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#9 Business Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Canberra 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redeveloped in 2009, Novotel Canberra offers premium hotel accommodation in the heart of the Nations Capital and close to the retail, entertainment and business district.Ideal for the discerning traveller, Novotel Canberra features 286 rooms, suites and apartments, all with a comfortable yet modern design connecting the hotel with the spirit of the Canberra region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Novotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Canberra Hotel Canberra
Accor Canberra
Canberra Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.