We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clothing taken from room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Canberra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Canberra to your Saves list
Novotel Canberra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Northbourne Ave | Act, Canberra 2612, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clothing taken from room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Normally I would provide excellent reviews on the Novotel but after my stay last week I'm now very unhappy.

It appears that an item of clothing was taken from my room & it seems the staff aren't all that interested in sorting this out

I'd happily change my review if this matter was sorted but I'm extremely doubtful that will happen

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCanberra, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear TeamGTravel,

I would like to thank you for your time on the phone last Thursday in relation to feedback from your stay.

Ms TeamGTravel, as discussed our Housekeeping deparment have not recovered any item of clothing from within your room, however the case is still open should the item be found and handed in from a different location.

Please feel free to contact us again directly, should you wish to discuss this further.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    1,111
    452
    98
    43
See reviews for
685
832
238
455
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed two nights- nice big rooms with a large bed and nice en suite. The hotel has an excellent swimming pool with view of Canberra CBD and outside decking. The undercover parking is really useful in the hot months like January.

Room Tip: North facing rooms have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My partner and I came here for the Toulouse-Lautrec exhibition. The location of the hotel was very good, close to bars, cafes and restaurants, however the room we had was not great. I've stayed in other Novotels around the world and this one was not as good. Firstly, the bathroom basin is in the main room and there is no shelf in the bathroom which consisted only of a shower bath and toilet (at least there were enough hooks). This might be fine for a single occupancy business hotel, but for two guests it lacks a bit of privacy. I forgot a couple of things from my toiletry bag when i was already in shower "attire" and had to duck back in to the room in said attire. Second the bathroom basin had a big crack in it. I know things can't always be repaired or replaced immediately, but it just looked a bit crap. Thirdly, we stayed 2 nights and housekeeping did not replace the spare toilet roll when cleaning. I found this both annoying and embarrassing as I then had to ask for more. Thankfully 2 new rolls were supplied very quickly by the front desk staff, who also seemed a bit annoyed and embarrassed. We didn't eat in the hotel as the room service menu didn't look great for my partner who is wheat intolerant, however we found two great cafes for breakfast within walking distance, Blue Olive (Saturday) and Two BeforeTen (Sunday). Both were great with good coffee and cheaper than the hotel's advertised breakfast and both had wheat free options. Finally the parking was good, despite other reviews saying it was terrible. We had no issue there. Despite all this, I might stay there again, but not in a great hurry.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a friend's wedding. The hotel was right next to the city centre, and thus, very convenient. Despite the close proximity, there was no noise at night. Early in the morning, I was able to enjoy a jog on a treadmill, a swim then a spa. Breakfast was of a usual Novotel standard, i.e., quite good with cold and hot selections. I strongly recommend having breakfast here as in Canberra, you would be very lucky to find a place for a breakfast on a sunday morning. Maybe there is a secret place where only the canberra people go to? The only negative was having no bath tubes and a broken chair in the room. Over all, excellent stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our check-in Friday (22nd Feb) evening was super efficient. Our delayed flight bringing us in 2 hours behind schedule, all we wanted to do was get the luggage upstairs & grab a bite to eat at their restaurant.
The service was second to none, refreshing drinks were on our table within minutes! Our meal followed within a short while, it was delicious. The staff super friendly too.
Our room.... well this was the let down.
The hotel has had a lot of work since we stayed there just over 2 years ago, if the room we had on the 7th floor had been one of the 'revamped' then it must have been done on a super cheap budget.... it was tired looking! Not enough hangers in the wardrobe, if you're a tall person, don't try to hang your clothes in the wardrobe..... there isn't enough space! There is a 2nd wardrobe... just make sure you take your own coat-hangers to use it!
We only had one face-washer to share? Blood stains on the duvee was a little off-putting, although they had tried to cover it with a top sheet. The bed itself, super comfortable.

Breakfast on both days very enjoyable, staff run off their feet.... but nothing too much trouble for them.

The winner for the hotel is definitely its location, the restaurant and the staff there!

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear of the property, which was fairly quiet and lessened the noise from passing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Canberra

Address: 65 Northbourne Ave | Act, Canberra 2612, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Canberra
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#12 Business Hotel in Canberra
#12 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Canberra offers premium 4.5 Star hotel accommodation in the heart of the nation's capital and close to the retail, entertainment and business district. Novotel Canberra features 286 rooms, suites and apartments, all with a comfortable, modern design. The hotel features an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa and gym, and the onsite One Restaurant and Bar. Winner of the Canberra & Capital Region Qantas Award for Excellence in Sustainable Tourism in 2012 and 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Canberra Hotel Canberra
Accor Canberra
Canberra Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.