We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POvernight stay at the Novete Canberra” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Canberra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Canberra to your Saves list
Novotel Canberra
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Northbourne Ave | Act, Canberra 2612, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Write a Review

2,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    1,240
    506
    111
    53
See reviews for
754
918
258
522
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
315 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had requested a room away from Northbourne Avenue to ensure a peaceful three night stay. Room 737 fitted the bill.

Staff at reception and at breakfast were friendly and helpful.

Our room was very quiet and spotlessly clean. The bed was fairly comfortable, with crisp linen, good pillows and excellent bedside lighting. Towels were large, thick and fluffy.

The location of the vanity basin in the main room, whilst unusual, was manageable. The shower recess was spacious, but the water pressure was not strong. Toiletries were adequate.

Storage space was quite limited: a cupboard containing six coat hangers, a small safe, coffee/tea facilities, mugs, glasses etc.

The work desk and chair were useful, as was the lounge chair. The air-conditioning had individual controls.

Free wifi was an unexpected and very welcome bonus.

Local street parking is very limited, so the only realistic option was to pay $18 per day for concierge parking.

Breakfast was excellent: the quality and variety of the full buffet offerings ($30) was equal to five star establishments in Sydney, which charge $45 - $50.

The lap pool looked inviting, but a full schedule precluded a swim.

The location of the Novotel is central, within easy walking to shops and restaurants in Civic and Braddon.

There is one area with scope for improvement. We were offered no luggage assistance by the concierge staff, who stood around watching us and chatting. We had to acquire a trolley from the car park, load it up, and push it to and from our room. However, in the scheme of things, this was a minor quibble.

We got a great deal at a very competitive price, and were well pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room on the seventh floor away from Northbourne Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We chose Novotel Canberra for a three night stay over the Australia Day weekend for its central location and free breakfast promotion.
The hotel is standard Novotel with a large indoor swimming pool and spa, well equipped gym and comfortable bed. We enjoyed the variety at breakfast every morning and thought the staff handled the large crowd efficiently and politely.
The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the War Memorial and the Parliament precinct. It is two blocks from a large airconditioned shopping mall.
One let down was the very late servicing of our room every day and the hallways were littered with room service trays for long period of time. The room next to ours had a tray with breakfast provisions which sat outside the door all day. This was embarassing when we had guests to our room for a pre dinner drink.
We would be happy to return to the Novotel for its central location however house keeping needs sharpening.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had an allround excellent experience staying in the Novotel Canberra. Very family oriented and accommodated any request we asked for with a smile. All staff were very courteous and extremely helpful. Will definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had a short break with our grand children, The location was great, The rooms were very cosy. Food was good,the kids wanted to stay another night, And the price was so cheap I will go back to Canberra again and stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCanberra, Front Office Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear klusenberg
Thank you for taking the time to write such positive feedback. We take pride in providing guests with excellent service and a product that exceeds expectations! We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.3 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#4 of 53 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
2.9 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 53 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 stars 819 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clifton Suites on Northbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#9 of 53 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#12 of 53 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 1,232 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#8 of 53 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Canberra

Address: 65 Northbourne Ave | Act, Canberra 2612, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#13 Business Hotel in Canberra
#13 Family Hotel in Canberra
#16 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Canberra offers premium 4.5 Star hotel accommodation in the heart of the nation's capital and close to the retail, entertainment and business district. Novotel Canberra features 286 rooms, suites and apartments, all with a comfortable, modern design. The hotel features an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa and gym, and the onsite One Restaurant and Bar. Winner of the Canberra & Capital Region Qantas Award for Excellence in Sustainable Tourism in 2012 and 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Novotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Canberra Hotel Canberra
Accor Canberra
Canberra Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.